We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has it's pros and Cons” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Eva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Eva
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Has it's pros and Cons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Villa Evan for 3 nights about a week ago ( Oct. 2012) with 3 girl friends of mine. Upon finally arriving to the Villa Eva we were dropped off by a very very expensive taxi ride at the bottom of a drive way and told to walk. Bags in hand we walked, and walk, the signage to the Villa Eva was not well marked and it was hard to know where to go to check in. We found what we thought was the office however there was no one around. Eventually someone did come and checked us in and showed us to our room. As nice as it was to be checked in any questions we asked she responded with "you can ask my brother or his wife". SO we were left a little clue less.

Our room was nice, nothing too special but nice and clean. We had four twin size beds, 2 down stairs and 2 upstairs. Our own bathroom and a small living room area with couch and TV. I can't say that the bed very comfortable but i have slept on worse. There was room service everyday which provided clean towels. There was also breakfast served each morning by the pool which again was nothing special but did the job. A small variety of breads, yogurt, and the like.

during our stay we seemed to be the only guest our first night while 2 other couples came the second night. Over all the resort was pretty quiet. There is no doubt that the Villa Eva is not a great location. If you're looking to be close to everything this is not the place. we took the bus anytime we wanted to get anywhere and ended up planning our days so that we wouldnt have to come back and forth between the Villa, the bus isn't too expensive (1.80 eruo a trip) but it does add up when you have to take 3 buses just to get to Capri and another 3 to get back.

Pros:
- it was fairly quiet while we were there
- free breakfast
- room service and clean towels
- we got beach towels & didn't have to pay the 5 euro like it says on the sign
-free wifi at the pool
-the price for the 4 of us for 3 nights was very reasonable

cons:
-it is far away from everything
-it was hard to find staff/family members when we needed something or had a question
-you have to pay in cash or you get charged 6% of the cost if you try and use a card
-if you want to use AC you pay for it (we didn't use it)
-there are not a lot of restaurants close by
-the key to our door was really hard to use & often resulted in taking 10+ min for us to open the door or having to go find someone to help us (which was never an easy task)

Over all we did have a nice time visiting Capri and our stay at the Villa Eva was nice. However i don't think i would stay there again just because of the distance from everything and the fact that it is often hard to find staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crs00602958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlo168, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Eva, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Let's try to put some order to what was said in this review, the first thing we must say that if you are unable to open a simple door with a simple key ...... then the cost of the taxi from the port because they are average to Villa eva are about 30/35 Euros divided by 4/5 people are about 5-7 euro per person, then take a taxi to reach the parking of Villa Eva, (maybe they have found some dishonest taxi that left them on the main road), then to get to Capri takes 2 bus is not 3, the first bus to the center of Anacapri in 5/6 minutes, the second bus to the center of Capri in 10 / 15 minutes, maybe these people do not realize that having a bus stop very near the hotel is definitely very convenient because whether you are in the middle, and out of the center of the island as it is made to be able to visit, you should always use the bus, if you like to walk then this is definitely not a problem, regardless of their arrival is true that we are not always in the reception but we are always present because we live in the Villa and then the reception is present and visible at an extension phone to call us or at the pool bar or at home and arrive in 15 seconds, all the other things mentioned in this review are clearly specified on our website and on the descriptions of the rooms before being charged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    52
    19
    9
    18
See reviews for
30
72
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Villa Eva is a very unique hotel about ten minutes' walk from downtown Anacapri. So, its distance from "civilization" is both a plus and a minus. It's great to stay somewhere so secluded and quiet but to get there from the port takes either a very expensive taxi ride or a very uncomfortable and crowded bus ride. But once you get to Anacapri you can call for a ride and they will pick you up in a van. The room had a very nice bathroom and bed with plenty of room. We liked the pool area (which had free wifi) and the garden as well. It is close enough to the Blue Grotto that you can either walk or take a quick bus ride so you can swim in the grotto before or after the boats start. This way you can avoid the exorbitant fees they charge and swim at your leisure. Signs say it is "stricktly forbidden" to swim, but everyone does it and I don't think there is even one police officer on Capri. Anyway, I would stay at Villa Eva again but this time for more than one night. However, one minus was two roosters who woke us up with their crowing at 4:30 and didn't stop until 8:00. Also, if you get the 6-person room for 250 Euros a night, you have the most amazing views of the Mediterranean and Vesuvius with plenty of terrace seating. Bring your bug spray though. And eat at Il Cucciolo down the street (maybe the only restaurant nearby if you're walking). They have a special 3-course meal deal with Villa Eva for 25 Euros that was well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent five days staying here at Villa Eva. We had two double rooms and a shared bathroom in the family "quarter". The rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated. Clean towels were put in the room each day.

Mosquito nets covered the doors and windows and we were rarely bitten. Other reviews mention being bitten by mosquitoes. Use commonsense and spray mosquito repellent on yourselves if you are going out in the evening.

Cannot fault this hotel- you get what you pay for.

Breakfast was basic but substantial- toast, cereal, yoghurts and fruit ( including fresh figs that were plucked off the tree in front of our eyes each morning).

The surroundings were beautiful and we soon worked out bus routes and the walk into town.

The pool was lovely and clean and the lunch served by the pool was adequate.

Overall we had a lovely, pleasant and relaxing experience here and would recommend Villa Eva to anyone who doesnt want a fancy, frilly and expensive place to stay and who is looking for a clean and simple hotel.

We must really extend our thanks to the owner Carlo who did go out of his way for us.This included driving us to the Marina one morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The good:
The owners were nice to us.
The rooms were clean and the towels are replaced daily.
There is a pool, which is nice to relax in after swimming in the ocean.
Breakfast is served daily (for free).
The hotel is near the blue grotto, which is only a short bus ride away.

The bad:
There are mosquitos EVERYWHERE. You can't escape it.
The hotel is removed from the city area, so you need to take a bus to get anywhere.
The bus stop is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, so this might be an issue if you are traveling with any elderly people or children.
Although breakfast is served daily, there is no restaurant at this hotel.
The walls are paper thin, so you hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room and outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiantFatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlo168, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Eva, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
The center is only 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes by bus, the bus stop is a 3 minute walk, close to us there is an excellent restaurant, the rooms are well insulated but it surely can happen that some customer does not respect the rules of good behavior and bother other guests, all rooms are equipped with mosquito nets, in the warmer months mosquitoes are everywhere on the island, a simple spray and the problem is solved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

i was so pleased with our room! actually it was a duplex with 4 twin beds, a little living room with tv/cable, a very clean bathroom. the upstairs bedroom even had a little balcony. this is not your standard marriott, or hilton. the entire place was built stone by stone by the owner 30 years ago! we stayed in the castle part. it's a quiet and peaceful place with a swimming pool surrounded by cactus and fruit trees! the most amazing thing was the price! capri is sooo expensive, but this place is very affordable, with buses within walking distance. i can't wait to go back and stay for a week next time!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

You only need browse the reviews here to see how Villa Eva divides opinion. For my part, I think Villa Eva has drawn unfair criticism. If you visit Anacapri expecting 5 star luxury and a central location for E140 per night, then you are deluding yourself. There are lots of parts of the world where that is available, but sadly, not this beautiful island. I would place Villa Eva as a very good quality hotel for the price they charge as compared with what else is in the area.

I was impressed with how clean it was and with how nicely kept the grounds were. Breakfast was pretty good too, though us Brits will never understand a 'continental' breakfast! It is lovely and peaceful and the owners are helpful whilst unobtrusive. We had no issues with the short walk to town, as we were happy to wander over the island. However, on occasion we used the bus which was simple and very close to the hotel, as is a pretty decent restaurant (with incredible views) that the owner recommends.

If you are looking to visit Anacapri, this place is well worth a look, but be mindful of what you want from a hotel. Don't confuse Anacapri with the more gawdy neighbour Capri and expect peace and quiet rather than a raucous nightlife. Ourselves, we loved the peace and quiet and the opportunity to really visit the island. We had great days walking to different sights and taking in things that the buses and taxis don't show.

Finally, wherever you visit in the area, take bug spray and use it. You really don't know where and when you may get bitten. We got bitten everywhere! At Villa Eva, at restaurants and at a 5 star hotel in Amalfi!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank andybarc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Carlos the owner is incredibly friendly and will go the extra mile to make sure you're taken care of. The place is beautiful, clean, and feels like paradise. The breakfast is absolutely divine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anacapri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#11 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#13 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orsa Maggiore
Orsa Maggiore
#8 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Eva

Property: Villa Eva
Address: Via la Fabbrica 8-16, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Eva 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Villa Eva Capri Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Eva Hotel Anacapri
Eva Hotel Anacapri
Villa Eva Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing