We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please don't be put off - this hotel was brilliant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Please don't be put off - this hotel was brilliant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days as part of an Archers Direct tour. I had read the reviews before hand and had been worrying about the accommodation but it was all needless. We found this to be an excellent hotel and had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel decor was lovely and the views from the balcony and restaurant were gorgeous. It is on a busy road, all roads in Capri are very narrow and extremely busy but this did not affect our stay. Our room was beautifully decorated, the bathroom was great too, no faults there. Meals were a set menu, being part of a tour group, but the food was well cooked and filling. Drinks are a little expensive but then everything on Capri is! Breakfast was typically continental - enough to start the day well. It's a short walk to Anacapri, left out of the second hotel gate - take the alleyway to Villa San Michele and you avoid the disappearing footpath. The best thing about this hotel was the pool, excellent views from the poolside - deckchairs were free, loungers 6 euros - but we didn't need a chair as the water was lovely!
Capri itself, on the other hand, was extremely busy and very expensive. All the same things you can buy in Sorrento but twice the price. If you are going to be part of the 'jet' set and enjoy paying inflated prices for designer items just to display the label then you'll love it here. I would be quite happy in the hotel pool all day!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelsmum56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    120
    79
    42
    51
See reviews for
65
187
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this wonderful hotel! I was amazed at our room. It was clean and the view was worth a million dollars! The director of the hotel, Maurizo was very helpful and attentive to our needs. He also greeted us before we left and asked us if everything was to our liking. The hotel and staff were very helpful and kind. I will be back again next year.

Daniela and Adriano

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmasland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Room was small but adequate. The view though from the main hotel terrace was amazing though. Quick walk to Anacapri shops and only a ten minutes by public bus or taxi ride to Capri itself. Internet was free though wifi was bad. Most hotels we stayed at in the area made you pay for it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianePN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Let me start with the best thing about this hotel: the view. Pay extra for a sea-view room, as it's the best feature of the hotel. There is a panoramic sea view, which you also get from the dining room. Having breakfast looking out at this view is a truly magnificent experience.

The hotel sends a shuttle bus to pick you up from the port. After a bit of back and forth we found them and got to the hotel with ease. The room itself was tiny - not much wider than the bed. But there was the view, and a large terrace.

The dining room has decent food. For Italy, not a show-stopper, but certainly decent. But add a drop of wine and some water to two courses, and you easily get up to 20-30 Euros per person. Not outrageous, but compared to what you can get for this price in Italy, definitely not a great value, although convenient. There is a decent bar, with a good bartender. But avoid the times when there is live music playing: it is painfully bad.

The pool is nice, and there's a decent cafe out there as well.

The wifi internet connection at the hotel is incredibly bad: you get reception at just one spot in the lobby, and if 100 engineers check and want to check their e-mail (as seems to happen often -- the hotel hosts conferences), the internet grinds to a halt. To make matters worse the hotel seemed to think we were being difficult or demanding to complain about this -- I understand for some people queuing for the single computer sitting in the lobby might be fine, but if you need the internet for work or want to keep in regular touch with people, don't count on it.

Having said that Anacapri is a charming city. You can take scenic walks in every direction. There are two beaches, about 40 minutes on food or 15 minutes by the local bus. These are rocky beaches, but the views are great, and you can either pay for an umbrella or just use the public part of the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombaybeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Don't know where some of the people complaining about this hotel stayed, but it doesn't sound like the Hotel St. Michele we stayed at. We were part of a Cosmos tour, stayed here two nights and found it to be very nice - clean, No complaints. Breakfast selection was ample and good. Maybe some of these people have never traveled to Europe - things are different in other countries. Breakfast doesn't include eggs, bacon, hash browns, pancakes. The location is very nice with a beautiful view of the bay and is only a short walking distance from the center of town. Would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irma33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

This hotel is nothing like the website's presentation. Looking forward to this supposedly 4 star accommodation for our last night in Italy and we were completely let down. Our pictures paint a completely different picture from how the website depicts the place.

Initial impressions were: dirty exterior, run down, dilapidated, is it even open? Reception cold and dark upon entry. The two staff members there were rude and appeared annoyed at our presence.

Room was small with uncomfortable beds. "Terrace" was comprised of a plastic lawn chair, a dead plant, and a view of unkept landscape. Breakfast consisted of stale cereal, dried pastries, yogurt in cracked containers, and eggs that you had to hardboil yourself.

Our concerns with the place where met with blank stares and a reponse of "we just opened for the season." The work that needs to be done both in the exterior and interior would take months. There was no active work being done around the place.

It appears that the place used to be very nice and maybe worthy of the 4 star rating complete with a restaurant, bar, dance club, large pool, but it should probably be demoted to a 1 or 2 star hotel. It is a very unfortunate situation.

This is probably the worst hotel we have every stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpackertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anacapri hotels

bournemouth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Stayed in a basic room albeit with a sea view from a very small balcony. Water pressure in bathroom was very low at all times making it difficult when washing hair.Beds were comfortable.Reception staff very businesslike. Dining room very pleasant with lovely views.Meals varied in quality from day to day although the pasta dishes were very good.The same potato dish was served three days in a row which was unacceptable in a 4 star hotel.Breakfast was adequate but the watered down orange juice and croissants had disappeared before we arrived in the dining room on four mornings.Disappointingly,the Hotel chose to ignore my birthday,but that summed up the attitude of the family owners who were more interested in putting up signs telling guests how much they would have to pay for the hire of sunbeds around the pool. Capri is beautiful.We would love to return in the future but will choose another Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.0 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.0 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Property: Hotel San Michele
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 1/3/5, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Anacapri
San Michele Hotel
Hotel San Michele Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing