We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but a few drawbacks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Dorking
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good but a few drawbacks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

On the plus side the hotel is in an elevated position and has fantastic views over the bay of Naples. Common areas are classic with supurb marble floors and antique furniture. I could sit in the dinningroom/ sun terrace all day and take in the view. Extremelly helpful staff and management, very convenient for Anacapri which is only a short walk. thereis also a large outside swimming pool. Only had B&B so cant comment on the food other than breakfast which was average.On the downside traffic noise may be a problem particularly at the front. The back rooms should be quieter. Rooms are small inside decor average.Rooms seem to come with either a balcony or a terrace. The terrace is large but the balcony rooms,the balconys are too small to sit outside.Would go back to this hotel but next time I would opt for the rear room with a terrace. Capri is very popular and therefore not cheap but this hotel would seem to offer value for money

Room Tip: Front rooms suffer from traffic noise,choose a terrace room if you want to sit outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    120
    78
    41
    50
See reviews for
65
184
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ROCKFORD
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful days at the Hotel San Michele. Built in 1880, it exudes the history of this fantastic island, but with all the comforts of a four-star hotel. Furnishings in the lobby areas are period pieces. Meticulously maintained, easy stroll to Anacapri centre, overlooking Capri and the Bay of Naples, a great choice on the Isle of Capri.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

There is something exquisitely unforgettable about this hotel that overlooks the beautiful Marina Grande and the town of Capri below. It's as though the walls speak of both history, and permanence at the same time. It's like a place out of time, that beacons you back, like the island itself does, like the people, the food, the open, loving energy of Capri. This hotel does not dazzle you with glass and lights, but instead with antique furniture, marble floors, and a structure that stands out not only because of its amazing location but because of its personality. The arched windows of it's restaurant, every one a stunning view, the cuisine un-matched in my opinion on the island, the garden and fountain, serene and private, allowing for a moment with spirits found, or those long forgotten. The surrounding reality that is AnaCapri, and Capri below, make Hotel San Michele the most memorable, and most missed vacation spot I've experienced. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Oh my, superlatives don't work. The hotel is high up on the hill/mountain overlooking the harbor. It is a large villa with spacious rooms and baths. The staff is friendly and helpful.
One evening our group of eight had a cocktail hour on the large patio overlooking the bay toward Sorrento.
Easy walking distance to downtown Anacapri and shops.
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June 2012 and had a marvelous time. While our particular room didn’t have a view we were a just a skip down the hall from a wide terrace that afforded a breathtaking view of the Bay of Naples. Sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine, watching the lights of Naples and Sorrento come up as the sun goes down is an experience that is little short of magical. The town of Anacapri is a short walk down the road and is indeed much quieter and I think, nicer than the bustle of Capri itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenionJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've been to Capri six times and have always stayed at Hotel San Michele, frankly I would never stay anywhere else. If your going to Capri, stay in Anacapri. It is quieter, calmer, is closer to some of the best restaurants on the island and has spectacular views. There is so much to do in Anacapri whereas the options down below in Capri are more limiting. The rooms are very comfortable, the hotel staff is friendly and we have grown to become friends. For my birthday last year I had a catered dinner, poolside, with my family and friends. It was one of the best meals of my life, fresh fish, delicious pasta and Caprese specialties which you can certainly only find at Hotel San Michele. The hotel is also incredibly affordable for Anacapri and the staff is incredibly warm and hospitable. In addition to catering the fabulous birthday meal, they were able to set me up with a private boat tour of the island at a fraction of the going price. The hotel has a storied history, it used to be the summer palace for Queen Cristina of Sweden. Behind the property lies the famous Villa of Axel Munthe her well known "admirer". The property was bought by the family generations ago and has remained so. You don't get the feeling that you are rushed, or hassled like you can be at other hotels. It's such a surprise, every year when I go back to see what has changed, as they are constantly improving the accommodations. It's a hotel that is perfect for families, weddings and even events. It's sumptuousness, quality and it's privacy can be attested for as Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger stayed there a few years before being elected to the Papacy as Pope Benedict XVI. If it's good enough for the Pope, it's good enough for you too!

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHDewberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations because of its great elevated location, the large size of the suite (we were upgraded because we stayed for a week), and the friendly staff. Only a short walk to Anacapri, its restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: Stay on the highest floor and always ask for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.0 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.1 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Property: Hotel San Michele
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 1/3/5, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Anacapri
San Michele Hotel
Hotel San Michele Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing