We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable, would spend all season if I could.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable, would spend all season if I could.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

There is something exquisitely unforgettable about this hotel that overlooks the beautiful Marina Grande and the town of Capri below. It's as though the walls speak of both history, and permanence at the same time. It's like a place out of time, that beacons you back, like the island itself does, like the people, the food, the open, loving energy of Capri. This hotel does not dazzle you with glass and lights, but instead with antique furniture, marble floors, and a structure that stands out not only because of its amazing location but because of its personality. The arched windows of it's restaurant, every one a stunning view, the cuisine un-matched in my opinion on the island, the garden and fountain, serene and private, allowing for a moment with spirits found, or those long forgotten. The surrounding reality that is AnaCapri, and Capri below, make Hotel San Michele the most memorable, and most missed vacation spot I've experienced. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    120
    78
    41
    50
See reviews for
65
184
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Oh my, superlatives don't work. The hotel is high up on the hill/mountain overlooking the harbor. It is a large villa with spacious rooms and baths. The staff is friendly and helpful.
One evening our group of eight had a cocktail hour on the large patio overlooking the bay toward Sorrento.
Easy walking distance to downtown Anacapri and shops.
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June 2012 and had a marvelous time. While our particular room didn’t have a view we were a just a skip down the hall from a wide terrace that afforded a breathtaking view of the Bay of Naples. Sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine, watching the lights of Naples and Sorrento come up as the sun goes down is an experience that is little short of magical. The town of Anacapri is a short walk down the road and is indeed much quieter and I think, nicer than the bustle of Capri itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenionJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've been to Capri six times and have always stayed at Hotel San Michele, frankly I would never stay anywhere else. If your going to Capri, stay in Anacapri. It is quieter, calmer, is closer to some of the best restaurants on the island and has spectacular views. There is so much to do in Anacapri whereas the options down below in Capri are more limiting. The rooms are very comfortable, the hotel staff is friendly and we have grown to become friends. For my birthday last year I had a catered dinner, poolside, with my family and friends. It was one of the best meals of my life, fresh fish, delicious pasta and Caprese specialties which you can certainly only find at Hotel San Michele. The hotel is also incredibly affordable for Anacapri and the staff is incredibly warm and hospitable. In addition to catering the fabulous birthday meal, they were able to set me up with a private boat tour of the island at a fraction of the going price. The hotel has a storied history, it used to be the summer palace for Queen Cristina of Sweden. Behind the property lies the famous Villa of Axel Munthe her well known "admirer". The property was bought by the family generations ago and has remained so. You don't get the feeling that you are rushed, or hassled like you can be at other hotels. It's such a surprise, every year when I go back to see what has changed, as they are constantly improving the accommodations. It's a hotel that is perfect for families, weddings and even events. It's sumptuousness, quality and it's privacy can be attested for as Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger stayed there a few years before being elected to the Papacy as Pope Benedict XVI. If it's good enough for the Pope, it's good enough for you too!

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHDewberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations because of its great elevated location, the large size of the suite (we were upgraded because we stayed for a week), and the friendly staff. Only a short walk to Anacapri, its restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: Stay on the highest floor and always ask for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel San Michele is gorgeous! My sister and I stayed here for 1 night in October, and it was beautiful! We had a room on the 4th floor (which was the only room on the floor), and it was a loft-type room with two balconies looking at the sea. The rooms were clean and very nicely furnished. The pool was lovely (although really cold) and very relaxing.

The location is a bit our of the way of the town of Capri and Anacapri. Be sure that you are ready to take a bus, or a cab to get places!

My only complaint was that we did not have wifi in our room as advertised. When the front desk was informed, we were told that the router was at the front desk for that floor, so the wireless wouldn't reach our room. This was unfortunate, as we had to sit in the lobby if we wanted to access wifi.

I would recommend this hotel to others, however, if you require wifi in your room, I suggest that you ask to ensure you receive it!

Room Tip: Ask if the room receives wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baad_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Spent three nights here for a friend's wedding. First the pros: 1) Fantastic location, easy walk into Anacapri (far nicer and more relaxed than Capri town) 2) Useful shuttle from the port directly to/from the hotel. Now the cons: 1) We booked a sea view room, but the room we were initially given had mostly a view of other people's terraces 2) Room itself was shabby with scuffs all over the walls, torn bedspread, decrepit furniture 3) Bed occupied 95% of the room; I know hotels rooms can be small but this was ridiculous 4) After some negotiation we were given another room, which while better decorated, was equally uncomfortable (bed was rock hard; lights didn't work, etc.) 5) Pool charged 6 Euros for a sunbed, very cheeky. 6) At 7:30am the housekeeping staff were yelling at each other down the hallways, which were echo chambers at the best of times. It was all very amateur.

Overall very disappointing for the cost of the stay. You are clearly paying for the location here as the quality of the hotel merits far less. Some may find antiquated amenities charming but at these prices, I think we deserved better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hovetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anacapri hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.0 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.1 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Property: Hotel San Michele
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 1/3/5, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Anacapri
San Michele Hotel
Hotel San Michele Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing