We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!!!!!”
Review of Al Mulino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Mulino
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing service!!!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Al Mulino with a family of four and had an incredible experience. We were treated like family. The owner and her daughter were so wonderful. The hotel is a gem. It was clean and well kept. We will definitely stay there again upon our return to the beautiful island of Capri!!!!! Amazing Limoncello!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
103
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We write this review hesitantly, knowing that making this hidden gem more popular may cause problems booking our next trip; but the Al Mulino was really one of the most amazing vacation experiences ever on behalf of experienced globetrotters.

Hotel Al Mulino is an amazing experience and respite. While working in Rome, we decided to get away for a romantic and relaxing weekend in Capri. We booked a hotel on the “quiet” side of the island in Anacapri at random, but when we return to Capri will certainly return to the Al Mulino. This family-run hotel sits on about an acre of land that was once the family’s farm until they built an intimate, 8-room hotel in 2008. Still family-owned and run by two (soon to be three) generations, it is a beautiful, clean, and comfortable home in the country. If you are looking for a quiet escape or to feel like a local, this hillside home is everything we’d hoped for and more.

On the Northwest corner of Anacapri , the hotel is about a 15-minute downhill walk from the town square; and a 10-minute downhill walk to an amazing hidden and local restaurant, or a scenic hour hike to Capri’s famed “Blue Grotto.” There are homemade cakes, crepes, and marmalade (which they will sell if asked and made from the from the hotel’s own lemons) for breakfast served daily on the front terrace. If you call before departing from Naples, the hotel will pick you up at Grand Marina and transport you on a breathtakingly-scenic (albeit white-knuckled) ride to the hotel. The hospitality of the family is unparalleled, and they really went to great lengths to not only make our stay enjoyable, but to feel like home.
The only complaints about this hotel are relatively thin walls (normal speech in the next room can be heard) and thin pillows. These complaints are minor in comparison to the accolades we would (and are) giving this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel really is an absolute gem! Set in a small garden hidden away from the crowds, Al Mulino is a small but well appointed hotel. The hotel is spotless, and the hospitality is second to none. We were picked up from the ferry, quite a decent trip, as well as dropped off, and also given a lift up to Anacapri as my mother could not walk long distances. Restaurant recommendations were excellent and booked for us by our wonderful hosts. Whilst the hotel is not really close to the centre of Anacapri, the bus is regular, and the walk would take 20-25 minutes. The breakfast was superb, and our children 7 & 5 years, were welcome. This truly is a special small hotel experience on the amazing but busy Isle of Capri, we wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Il Mulino is a superb, solid 3-star small hotel which offers great personal service. It is located a bit more than a kilometer from Anacapri center; on the whole, this is a plus; you're "away from it all," with a real sense of "owning" this part of the island, and you'll burn off the wonderful calories you'll get from the local restaurants. The owners will provide transport to and from the ferry, and will also provide great local advice.

When next we return, we will accept no substitute.

Bill

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjbmd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Italy for our first anniversary/honeymoon and ended our Italy excursion with two nights at Al Mulino. The hotel is clean, quiet, beautiful, and overall a great escape. The hotel is a family run operation and all the people are very friendly and welcoming. We were provided shuttle service to and from the ferry as well as several lifts into city center. The night we arrived was raining and they ladies of the hotel offered to order and pick up dinner for us. Once they brought it back they called our room and asked if we'd like to eat in the dining area where they took our food out and served it on nice flatware. We purchased a bottle of wine and enjoyed the rainy evening relaxing. We also got several suggestions as far as sightseeing, shopping and restaurants which were all lovely. The only cons there are to mention is that it is a bit far from the city but there is a bus stop near by which is an inexpensive method to commute. Additionally, there is no pool but we personally didn't care for it. Overall we had a great stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PnJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurlock, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We just stayed one night and would have stayed longer if we didn't have reservations in Amalfi. Not only is this a beautiful, affordable and perfectly relaxing hotel the customer service is top notch. Upon arrival we were met at the harbor by the owner and taken to the hotel. I have been to Italy many times and stayed at various establishments and I would say the Al Mulino has become one of my favorite places to stay. The family that runs the hotel are so genuine and inviting that you feel like you have known them for years.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlee720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

What a beautiful family run establishment. Antonietta and her daughters are great and the hotel is lovely. Quiet, secluded, but only a 15 minute walk to downtown Anacapri and a short bus trip to the Blue Grotto. The atmosphere is so relaxing and the service impeccable. The room was spotless and very affordable for Capri. Make sure you try the homemade lemon marmalade they serve at breakfast ! We well be back !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.8 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.6 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Albergo Senaria
Albergo Senaria
#8 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Mulino

Property: Al Mulino
Address: Via la Fabbrica 9, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Mulino 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Mulino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Mulino Anacapri
Al Mulino Hotel Anacapri
Al Mulino Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing