We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in!”
Review of Hotel Casa Caprile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Caprile
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The first thing I noticed about this hotel was the mountain of steps to get to the hotel.
The taxi dropped us off in a little square, and we had to carry suitcases and luggage down hundreds of steps, which can't be helped, but this is still an inconvenience.
We booked a double room for the adults and a twin room for the kids. However, we were disappointed to hear that instead of a double and a twin room, we had been given two double rooms for the satisfaction of other customers.
And the rooms, were TERRIBLE. They definitely need new wallpaper and floors, new colour schemes, new furniture. The shower was tiny and dirty, the walls were mouldy. the ledge/table above the sink was made out of glass, which had broken and been stuck together with SELLO TAPE. The plug in the sink didnt open properly, and I think it might have been clogged up with a suspicious, orangey-browny, sticky substance. Several of the lights were broken or missing.
The 'mini bar' (if you could call it that) contained nothing and was barely cold.
The window didn't open.
Outside wasn't exactly clean. There is a solarium, which is on bright green astro turf, and contains a few plastic chairs.
There was internet connection; but it had to be used in a special room and wasn't able to connect in the rooms.
I am baffled as to how it is a 3 star hotel; I would barely award it one star.
It would be a nice hotel if it was redecorated and cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank18224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    81
    80
    20
    38
See reviews for
27
159
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Located 5-10 minutes very pleasent walk from the main square of Anacapri through streets of beautiful whitewashed houses, cafes, restaurants and chruches, this hotel is an excellent base to explore Capri Island. Our room was pleasently decorated although in need of some modernisation, for example it had no airconditioning, however it was very clean and had an outside seating area with (almost) sea views. There's also a solarium consisting of sunbeds and deckchairs, although we spent most of the daylight hours out and about on the island. Several of the island's main attractions are reachable on foot (don't miss the Mount Solaro Chairlift), and the rest can be reached using the bus network from Anacapri.

Buffet style breakfast consisted of cornflakes, pastries, juice, bread, ham, cheese and coffee made to order. A couple of local shops in the local square sell good value fruit, bread and picnic provisions.

As others have noted, the hotel is located on a steep stairway, which is a little inconvienent when moving luggage but it wasn't a major problem for us.

We stayed in room 16 and paid 77 Euro a night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SobieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2008

This hotel was presented to me as a 3 star hotel. This hotel should be listed as a 1 star hotel. The biggest problem is that the hotel is 82 steps and a quarter of a mle hike from the street where the taxi drops you off to the front door of the hotel. In the hotels review it mentions that wheelchairs are discouraged for there are stairs....but never does it state that you have such a hike to get from the street to the hotel. Other problems with the hotel is that you cannot get hot water before 7:30am, the shower was full of mold, the room were shabby and beds were broken down.. This is definitely a 1 star hotel.

  • Liked — Good buffe breakfas.
  • Disliked — The climb to get from the street to the front door of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingjane95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anacapri hotels

Crosby, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Hotel is in Anacapri which is a bus ride away from Capri. The water is viewable from the breakfast patio. Make sure that you request a room with A/C if that bothers you. We didn't, and the manager was very accomodating and brought us a fan. The next night he moved us into a nicer room with A/C. Long walk down steps to the hotel and the manager did help with the luggage. He also assisted us in making free phone calls through his computer back to the US since our phone in our room was not working. Breakfast is typical European style breakfast. Anacapri is very quiet and more residential. While walking down the steps to the hotel, you walk by many homes. You can catch the bus right down the street and it runs very often to different locations on the island. To get to Naples or Sorrento, just catch the Hydrofoil/Ferry from the Marina in Capri. Overall, we were satisfied. Capri is beautiful and it really didn't matter if we stayed in an extravagent hotel because we were outdoors most of the time. Again, the manager was very helpful and he was very fun to talk to. He had a very interesting background and had an answer for every question you could think of!

  • Liked — Front Desk Manager
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I stayed in Capri for 2 nights, and chose this hotel because it looked like a charming place with a history.
I arrived from Milan via Naples, and by the time i got there i was exhausted. I had accumulated way too much luggage for me to handle on my own, and therefore had difficulty getting to the hotel. The taxi will drop you off at a small square and you have to make your way down series of steps until you get there. There will be a few signs along the way, so you know you haven't missed it...
The staff were extremely helpful on arrival, and carried my bags to the room. When i checked in the girl gave me a map and a thorough explanation of Capri and it's attractions.
So a big tick for customer service.
My room was small but tasteful. The airconditioning functioned perfectly, there was a lovely view from the window, the shower was small - but i was SO thankful to finally get an ACTUAL shower in Europe! As opposed to a bathtub...
The breakfast was fine, there is a buffet table, not a lot on offer, but it's a lovely environment and the staff do really try to satisfy your needs.
You will have to take a bus into the main town of Capri, i think the ticket is EU1 each way.. and it doesn't take long, plus you get a fantastic view as the bus winds down the road.. Be warned there will be a lot of beeping... The blue grotto is close by, as is Mt Solaro (you can get there by a cable car), and if you like to swim, Faro is close too.
Around Anacapri most of the houses are whitewashed, with lots of flowers.. I thoroughly enjoyed by stay at Casa Caprile.
It's a great place to unwind and just enjoy the magic that is Capri.
On the way out, the hotel has a shuttle car that will drop you off in the centre of Anacapri from where you can catch a taxi to the port. (the usually charge around EU20)

  • Liked — Relax atmosphere, location, lovely room and great staff
  • Disliked — For what it was, i loved it. Apart from the initial walk with lugagge down the stairs to find it.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BabyGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2007

My Wife and I recently stayed at Casa Caprile after much research into hotels in Anacapri. The room was great: clean, good size, comfortable bed, and had a great view from the second level. The staff were very helpful (our baggage went missing from the airline and the manager was a great help in tracking down our bags). The hotel is down some stairs as mentioned in a previous review but if your able enough it's not a huge drama. The location is a great base to explore the island with cafes in easy walking distance and the buses close by. Would recommend doing the chair lift, the views going up and once on top are awesome. Would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We didn't have many options since we traveled in August to AnaCapri, however the hotel was great. We had no problems with ants or the heat as other reviews mention. The rooms have a/c and the hotel staff is very friendly. The hotel is located in AnaCapri, away from Capri. This worked great for us considering all the toursits in Capri and the excelent bus system. Vest value for your money for sure!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luxard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#9 of 18 in Anacapri
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#12 of 18 in Anacapri
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biancamaria
Hotel Biancamaria
#16 of 18 in Anacapri
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Caprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Caprile

Property: Hotel Casa Caprile
Address: Via Follicara 9/11, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Caprile 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa Caprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Caprile Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing