We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Il Girasole
Nearby Hotels
$465
$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$334
$317
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$610
$589
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
$176
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bougainville(Anacapri)
$251
$235
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Eva(Anacapri)(Great Value!)
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Senaria(Anacapri)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bussola(Anacapri)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
147
129
52
15
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
129
52
15
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bushotel makeslovely swimming poolsea viewsun settinghighly recommend this hotelstandard roomenjoyed our stayperfect locationlovely hotelspectacular viewsvery special placemarina piccolafamily runaway from the hustle and bustlemount solaroamalfi coast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 365 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Pros: The staff was very friendly and picked us up and dropped us off from/to Marina Grande. The pool and lounge deck area has wifi and the views are beautiful. It's nice to relax here after a day of trekking or exploring

Cons: The "double" bed is really just two twin beds tied together and it's VERY uncomfortable. I'm only 5'10 and my feet dangled off of the bed. The sheets and towels are very worn and hard. The shower is tiny, even for European/Italian standards. The tv in the room is about 12 inches and does not work. The wifi does not go all the way to the room, so you must go to the lobby or pool area to access it. Sometimes the staff didn't give us proper directions and times - for example, we thought a walk to the Faro would be nice one morning and the woman at the front desk said it would only be about 20 min. It's not 20 min, it's a bit more than an hour - but this could be a cultural thing as we found many places/directions in Italy were a 5-10 min walk (when in reality it was more like 30 min-hour).
If you want to cancel your reservation, you must do so one week before your arrival, which seems to me to be a lot.
The breakfast wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay because Capri is such a beautiful island, but we wouldn't stay at the Il Girasole again nor would we really recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Errol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We (two adults one teenager) stayed for two nights at the Girasole in June 2014. I am pleased to confirm the positive reviews on the basis of which I myself chose this hotel. We had no negative experience whatsoever.
I would like to point out especially the help by Domenico Lenardo who went out of his way to help us with all needs.
To the owners: you are doing a great job, please maintain this high standard!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikhailAlexandrovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, fantastic location, quiet and peaceful, set up in the hills of Anacapri. Although we only stayed on the island for two nights it was such a great place to be located. The addition of a pool made coming back to the hotel a welcome relief from the heat of the day, especially after visiting the Grotto Azzure and swimming in the cooler waters of the nearby rocky beach. Snacks and drinks available by the pool also made for a comfortable stay, but please sort out the beds!! Two single metal framed items held together by tape!! Not exactly 3 stars!! Still the views from the terrace more than made up for the shortcomings of the furniture variety. Would I stay here again? Yes on the island of Capri, hotel Il Girasole maybe....

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BasiaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A quiet hotel, with modest rooms, beautiful view from the terraces, easy walking to town and bus and trails. Small room and not luxurious but comfortable. When you arrive in Capri, call the hotel and they will come down to the port to pick you up. Then on the drive up, the hotel employee pointed out helpful information about the town of Anacapri and the bus stops and how the bus works. It is lovely to stay in Anacapri because you can walk along lovely paths to beautiful spots on the inland or go up the mountain. It is easy to take the bus down to Capri for the sights there. Staff was very helpful and made phone calls for us when we had a problem with our hotel reservation in Sorrento. Breakfast again is modest but fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel located high in the hills right in the village of Anacapri. We loved the experience of this small hotel - the flowers everywhere, the terraces and special spaces scattered along the length of the patio and gardens fronting all of the rooms giving guests lots of little nooks and seating spots to read, draw, ponder, or picnic. The vistas were grand. One could see over the green of the island, onto the sea. Rooms are kind of small, but well furnished with very lean bathroom with shower, desk, refrigerator, wardrobe closet and safe. Breakfast was served in dining rm and was very nice buffet that included coffee or tea of choice, fresh fruit, juice, cereal, meat & cheeses, tomatoes & cucumbers, yogurt, pastries and bread. Plenty!!!
The location was just a bit beyond the central Pz of Anacapri . When we arrived at the Grande Marine we were not quite what sure what to do, so we got in line for the Anacapri bus, but the line was long and it was hot, so 4 of us took one of the ute little 5 person open air cover table taxis and we had a fun ride up to Anacapri where the hotel staff picked us up to take us the rest of the way to the hotel. That taxi ride cost 30 euros with 4 people and bags , but very worth it. Once we got checked in and settled, we walked for hours in the tiny streets of the village among real residents and tourist, but mostly enjoyed being amongst local people- children playing, people sitting around the church visiting, young women pushing their baby carts, people visiting with each other as they passed along the winding stairs and walkways shouldered in narrow spaces by two story coffered whitewashed houses clustered closely one upon the other as they cascaded downward in descending levels from the town to the sea.
Amazing place. Il Girosole is nestled in these neighborhoods with a long passageway for walking, motoring, and the narrowest of Italian vehicles. Over 3 days visit, we enjoyed the Villa of San Michelle, the town piazza, walking to Grotta Azzurra , to the Faro lighthouse and beach, walking upward to the very fine restaurant, Gemsonila, we just had really nice time away from the bus lads of tourists in Capri town. But if you want that- it is within minutes by car or island bus.
On raving, we took the local bus and within 30 minutes were down at the Marine to get our ticket and loading for Napoli. There are buses that go from and to all parts of island right near the hotel bus stop. The marina has boats to hire or rent. Lots to do on the island.
The staff are very friendly at the hotel. Just highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews