We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Hotel with Friendly Atmosphere!”
Review of Hotel Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Girasole
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Thank you to the Hotel Il Girasole! I should have written this review a while ago, but I will take the time to do it now, because I have the best memories of my time here.

The memories aren't from the hotel itself (though that was lovely as well) but from the feeling we got from just being here. The staff was wonderful, warm, and embracing. At the time we traveled, Nardino and Sylvana were still running the hotel with their children, Angela and Francesco. We were blown away by how hospitable they were, welcoming us into their "home" and making us a part of the family! They even cooked us a wonderful pasta and barbecue meal the first night, talking and laughing with us for hours. At the time, my best friend and I were backpacking through Europe together, so it was nice to feel warm and protected and so very welcomed!

We enjoyed it so much that what should have been only a two or three night visit ended up being two weeks!! One of my fondest memories was waking up and being served breakfast out on the terrace overlooking the ocean. It was spectacular. I literally cried when I had to leave.

Hotel Il Girasole is now being run by Angela and Francesco and to this day, we still keep in touch! If you're ever in Capri, stop by the Hotel Il Girasole. You'll love the way they make you feel. And make sure to say "Hello" to the Orlandos for me!

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea facing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dgainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

On arrival to the island of Capri, we were met by a gentlemen by the name of Dominique. He was well mannered, hospitable and courteous. As we drove from the marine to Anacapri, he stopped along the way for us to get pictures of the beautiful island, from spectacular angles. When we arrived at the hotel, he carried all of our luggage, signed us in and then explained the island to us in great detail - he even used a easy to learn from map and circled the areas explained.

The hotel rooms were stunning, we initially had a normal suite but moved to a sea facing view room - the move was easy and the staff were very helpful. I have to say that I would of liked to have an extra bottle of water and glasses in our room as well as having the fresh towels replaced a little sooner.

But over all an amazing hotel, we'll be back as my boyfriend proposed outside room 24!

Room Tip: rooms under the pool deck could be a bit noisier. sea facing rooms are the ones to go for - 100%.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cas_Da_Silva2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We are a 50 year old couple (first hols without children).

We wanted a more rural/rustic/quiet/relaxing hotel. And it was. Confirmed by the occasional cock crowing! It was a 15 min walk into the local town down pathways, largely level. Room was tiny (12'x10') although there are larger ones. Very clean. Bit tired (cracked hand-wash basin and tiles etc). Decent sized pool, very spacious sunchair area. Big common decking out front of bedrooms to look over the sea. A/C effective. WiFi only in reception. Rooms cleaned everyday.

Staff very friendly and go out of their way to help. Will collect/return you to the port on arrival/departure dates. Loads of ferries on/off the island (remember to buy ticket for any luggage).

Local town has over 25 restaurants + 100 shops? Very quaint, pretty, clean (except for their odd acceptance of letting their dogs crap every/anywhere but these are swept up overnight). Being an island, it's fairly expensive (we came over from a week in Sorrento and was +33%).

We generally avoid going back to same places (so much to see in the world), but we'd probably make an exception here - hotel + local town hit the spot. As there's not much to see, maybe a 4-7 day stay (not 2 weeks unless you are happy to 100% sunbathe!)

Room Tip: Definitely select a room with sea view as it's spectacular (those without are down a corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillipm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from Anacapri, which guarantees a peaceful and beautiful location. The rooms are a little outdated but comfortable and functional. The pool and terrace are clean and well maintained and are a great place to spend a lazy afternoon. Breakfast is a fair spread.
What really makes this place is the staff, they were very friendly and couldn't do enough to please. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranAtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The first 2 suites we were given were disgusting! The furniture looked like it came from the trash, the room smelled like a basement and the bedding extremely dated. We were moved to 2 different rooms that were "Better". To say the least one of our rooms stunk of sewage and had cockroaches.

When we were leaving to go to town we were asked to leave our room keys at the front desk. Weird and rather inappropriate. Having to leave our keys made us feel very uncomfortable and it seemed rather unprofessional to not have an extra key. Breakfast spread is mediocre at best!

To get to the bus system it is about a 10 minute walk. The pool was freezing and the chairs just basic aluminum. Oh and if you are allergic to bees do not go to this hotel! There are swarms of bees everywhere outside!!! I actually saw a worker with a can of raid go to a guests room to spray for some bug of a sort that I am not sure of.

The only saving grace to this hotel is the view and the nice man that drove the shuttle. He was beyond accommodating and sweet. We stayed one night and left immediately the next day when we were able to arrange accommodations elsewhere. We didn't even bother asking for our money back!!! In my opinion, spend a little more money and stay some place worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCAPRI, Direttore at Hotel Il Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hello,
I'm sorry that our hotel was not that you like, I want to point out that, the rooms booked was not suites but double economy and we don't have any room located in the basement. In addition, we've offered you two sea view rooms at the same price, where you've been on the first night. I am disappointed, I can never see these roaches ... and yet the reception is open 24 hours with a worker always present. I know that these roaches are very smart. When the receptionist come thats roaches are hiding, but I will not surrender easily. I wonder if you before book any Hotel visit the official website. I can't read on our site "Heated Pool" or "city-center hotel". There is a nice map, a long description about the rooms, pool, services and a phone number available 24 hours to ask anything you like, even what kind of material is the sun lounger.

Francesco Orlando
Hotel il Girasole Capri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were fetched from the port by Domenico in the hotel shuttle after communicating that we had arrived on the ferry from Sorrento. He gave us an improptu guided tour on the way and even stopped on the edge of the cliff to allow us to get some pictures. We were a party of four staying in two separate rooms which Angela at reception kindly swapped for us because we had decided we wanted a sea view. Domenico proceded to give us a map and marked it with salient points of interest: bus stops, viewing points, shopping areas and great restaurants. He explained the transport options in great detail which was very helpful.
Breakfast is an "eat all you want" buffet which was, again, cheerfully hosted by Domenico. Cakes, bread, croissants, cheeses, ham, eggs, cereals, juice, coffee, tea.... very nice.
The only small let-down was that our room needed a bit of care and attention but not enough to detract from the overall favourable impression.
The staff were all extremely courteous and Domenico especially went out of his way to help wherever possible.
We were sad to leave and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in is under the pool deck so during the day there is noise of deckchairs being mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Il Girasole is not in the middle of the town, but a 8 minute walk away from the closest restaurant near the old town. It is a friendly family run hotel with about 25 rooms, free (but unstable) wi-fi, a swimming pool and a magnificent view of the Mediterranian from the terrace. Some of the rooms also have a partly sea view if you open the windows, but not sure if it is worth it. Il Girasole offer a free pickup service from the harbour. Can't say that I'm too impressed by the breakfast - at least not if you, as we, arrive for the last 30 minutes, when there's not much left, and do ask the barrista to make you a real cup of coffe instead of the brown hot water on the table. The rooms are quite small and basic, and your neighbours will hear everything you do. You can walk to all the places in the east half of the island, including the lighthouse, the Blue Grotto, Anacapri and the mountain lift. If you want to go to Capri Town, the bus runs every 10-15 minutes from just below the hotel - 15 minutes and 2€. But overall a very nice, quiet and friendly place. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ceselle
Hotel Villa Ceselle
#8 of 18 in Anacapri
160 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Senaria
Albergo Senaria
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bougainville
Bougainville
#11 of 18 in Anacapri
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Girasole

Address: Via Rio Linciano 47, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Price Range: $107 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, charming and on Capri: your dream hotel just came true! The relaxing atmosphere of a small hotel Il Girasole is a 23 room, 3 star hotel on the island of Capri, Italy run by the youngest generation of the Capri born-and-bred Orlando family. Within steps of the center of Anacapri Hotel Il Girasole is located in the quietest part of Capri, amidst the island's vineyards and olive trees. The historic center of Anacapri lies within easy strolling distance of the hotel. There's a bus stop from where to catch buses to downtown Capri and Marina Grande, just 300m away. Facing the sea and with a panoramic pool The sea can be seen from every corner of the hotel: from the terraces outside the bedrooms, from the breakfast room, and from the panoramic swimming pool. Every evening, as you relax in one of our outdoor seating areas, you'll be treated to the spectacle of the sun setting over the sea. ...all this, at an unbelievably low price! If you're thinking... "A hotel with pool and sea view on the island of Capri, I can't imagine how much that's going to cost..." take a look at our price list and special offers. We're certain you won't find better value for money anywhere else on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Girasole Hotel
Il Girasole Anacapri
Hotel Il Girasole Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing