We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
261
92
33
20
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
261
92
33
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus clean hotel narrow streets blue grotto triple room short walk every morning anacapri town beautiful hotel nice breakfast stayed longer chair lift rita island terrace hosts lock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 428 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I together with our 6 year old daughter recently returned from a wonderful 5 day break on the beautiful island of Capri. Being our first time and not knowing the island, we opted to stay in the quaint, quiet and residential part of the island - Anacapri.

The choice of hotel equally proved to be superb as the Hotel La Bussola sits peacefully in the quiet hillside of the island amongst some lovely villas and homes enjoying magnificent country and sea views.

The hotel is a splendidly renovated villa with magnificent tiles, charmingly painted white walls and lovely ceilings. It enjoys a lovely and ample terrace garden with wonderful views of the Port of Naples. It is only a few minutes walk from the picturesque centre of Anacapri, from where you can easily visit the famous Grotta Azzurra, the beautiful lighthouse and the chair lift up Mount Solaro with breathtaking views of the whole island.

The family run hotel was clean and the staff, especially Signora Rita, her brother and Signor Ciro were all amazingly helpful in everything we needed, preparing detailed itineraries for our daily outings and accompanying us in their little van to the town centre as taxis can not pass through the lovely narrow streets.

The hotel was superb value for money and we would thoroughly recommend it as a choice to stay when visiting the island. Visiting the Capri town centre and piazza only takes 15 minutes in a panoramic minibus ride from Anacapri to Capri with views of Marina Grande beneath.

We definitely suggest Anacapri as a base on the island and by choosing Signora Rita’s family hospitality you certainly can’t go wrong.

Natalia, Ian and Sophia Crockford
Malta

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DrCrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is the definition of disgusting and was grosser than some hostels that I have stayed. To start, when we checked into the “hotel” there was no one at the front desk to greet us. We were walking around aimlessly trying to find someone for 25 minutes before someone showed up. Secondly, we were told this hotel had a pool and was one of the reasons we booked it. Obviously when we showed up there was no pool. We would not have stayed here for that reason. Next, I was traveling with friends and their room was infested with ants. Finally, the most suspicious thing of all is that this “hotel” only accepts cash. How do they expect you to pay for your hotel with cash? Extremely shady and suspicious. Overall please do not stay here it’s a waste of time (very inconvenient to the city we had to take busses and taxis everywhere) and money. Plus online the “hotel” claims online that they provide shuttling to and from the marina. This was obviously also a lie and forced us to pay for taxis/city busses.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Cadie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilary66, Direttore at Hotel Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review… i am so sorry if you are so disappointed but just to explain once again :
Is not advertise any swimming pool on our web page….. second thing …. you booked a room for 2 person and at the check in where 3 person…and you tryed to let the extra person enter in the hotel for the second entrance!!!! this was not correct at all and as you remember i changed the room in a triple room ...so next time i suggest to be more correct and book for the right number of person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

Such a beautiful hotel! Stayed here by myself on my solo adventure for one day. Was allowed to check into my room earlier and store my bags upon departure. Walking through the streets were simply beautiful. Great location to Everything!
Rita and her staff were so helpful and recommended one of the best restaurants to eat at! If I am ever in Capri again, I will be calling Ritab

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

Hi stayed 2 weeks in this charming typical caprese hotel. 7’ by foot from thé center of anacapri piazzetta, it is in the local area of anacapri with few tourists.
Rooms are super clean, refreshed every days. Thé service is perfect: Rita explains you everything in détails, what to do in the map and can plan your entire travel. You feel welcome AT home right away. Thé balcony on top of roof is so charming and typique from capri where you can have a Nice relax Time. Thére is everything you need in rooms, airconditioning, extra soap, nice bathroom, Nice clothet, and Nice italian design. Breakfast every morning
I really recommend this hôtel because réal my Nice and genuine owners and Warm welcoming ! And very professional team!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Anne-Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Rita and her staff went above and beyond to make our stay very enjoyable. As soon as we got there, she gave us directions to Lido del Faro, which is a beautiful place to swim with the locals. She also dumped out everything in her bag and gave it to us so we had something smaller to use to carry a bottle of wine and our personal belongings. Looking forward to our next trip back to Hotel Bussola!

Room tip: Great Staff
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradk832018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews