We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but would try somewhere else next time”
Review of Hotel Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bussola
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, but would try somewhere else next time”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend trip to Capri. Although we enjoyed our stay, there were some aspects that could have been improved, and so would cause me to try somewhere different next time.

The room was basic but clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The hotel has a beautifully decorated hallway and also a nice cosy reading area, with a book-swap system. The price wasn't great, but seems pretty standard for Capri, which is expensive in general.

My complaints are small, but I will note them anyway. First is that the lock on our sliding door (leading out to a small balcony area) did not work. The second relates to a small incident that occurred one morning at breakfast time (a usual simple Italian help-yourself affair with cornetti, cake, cereal etc). My friend (who I was staying at the hotel with) got up to get a second cornetto (Italian croissant), after she had finished her first one. When the staff member saw her, she told my friend that there was only one croissant per person. I understand that the hotel is perfectly free to have such a policy but it was a bit embarrassing for my friend to be told she couldn't help herself to another cornetto (bearing in mind that it was a buffet table, after all) in front of other hotel guests in the dining room. A better solution, if indeed the hotel has such a policy (as I am sure I saw people the next day having more than one with no response from the staff), would be to have a small sign by the cornetti indicating that there is only one per person. This experience really wasn't too big a deal, it just detracted from the overall 'welcome' we had at the hotel - something I think is really important in the hospitality industry, particularly if you are paying a fair amount per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheri6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    80
    26
    18
    20
See reviews for
52
145
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Anacapri is beautiful and feels so much more authentic than tourist trap Capri.
This hotel is cute and in the center of the mountain top town. The staff was very helpful with providing maps and giving detailed directions to various places in the town (ie: delicious affordable local restaurants, local ceramic shops, as well as the typical touristy places like the mountain view)
Warning: this town is not handicap accessible

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

5 minutes of the crowds in Anacapri. Good starting point for Grotta Azurra and the cable line to the mountain. Breakfast easy but ok, very friendly stuff, nice interior. Room on first floor was bright and had a small balcony. Only cash accepted, just take a bus to Anacapri and take a walk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widerstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The stay in Hotel Bussola is absolutely pleasant. The rooms are clean and comfortable. If you have a minimum of artistic taste, you won't stop looking around to all the unique pieces of art exposed with taste throughout the facility, it's definitely a plus.
The staff is one of the most friendly I've ever encountered. The owners will immediately help you plan your stay in Capri with passionate support and useful advises. After coming back there for the second year, I can surely say that it won't be the last!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Really friendly staff they helped us plan our stay here by telling us where to go what to do and when to do it. Cheap breakfast which was definitely worth it. The actual hotel was amazing so classy and elegant and the rooms were so clean and nice. Awesome rooftop terrace to watch the sunset, would defs stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had a one nighter as we were meeting family for lunch so happily trusted tripadvisor: Rita was endlessly helpful with restaurant suggestions and we visited the local Mamma Giovanna restaurant twice as we enjoyed the tranquility (and free transfers) so much. Lovely hotel, nicely done in terms of features and a lovely quiet location down several small (and at night dark lanes); simple breakfast, all as advertised. Would and will stay here again, Thanks Rita and Christian very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAscea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Rita & Cristian were amazing in all their assistance and willingness to make our family stay terrific! They booked a private boat tour of the island for 180 Euro (2 and half hours for our family of 6) that included private swimming in a cove and swimming at the green grotto. We had the option to visit the Blue Grotto, but chose to return in the late afternoon and swim in for free. Hotel is a short walk to local grocery store (2 minutes) and the main tourist area (5 minutes) of Anacapri. Wifi worked well for our teenagers. Clean, safe, and very responsive staff. My recommendation is to contact them by Email with your travel schedule and they will recommend an itinerary as well as make all the coordination you would like - A fantastic visit!! Make sure you know how to get to the hotel because part of its charm is that it is tucked away on a side street and not along the main tourist section.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#13 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Mulino
Al Mulino
#5 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bussola

Property: Hotel Bussola
Address: Via Traversa la Vigna, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anacapri
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
#8 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful welcoming hotel, in neo classic style, rooms are furnished with all comfort, some with private terrace overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bussola Di Hermes Hotel
Bussola Di Hermes Anacapri
Hotel Bussola Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing