We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendly side of Capri”
Review of Hotel Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bussola
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Worcs
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The friendly side of Capri”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had a one nighter as we were meeting family for lunch so happily trusted tripadvisor: Rita was endlessly helpful with restaurant suggestions and we visited the local Mamma Giovanna restaurant twice as we enjoyed the tranquility (and free transfers) so much. Lovely hotel, nicely done in terms of features and a lovely quiet location down several small (and at night dark lanes); simple breakfast, all as advertised. Would and will stay here again, Thanks Rita and Christian very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAscea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    84
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
58
157
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Rita & Cristian were amazing in all their assistance and willingness to make our family stay terrific! They booked a private boat tour of the island for 180 Euro (2 and half hours for our family of 6) that included private swimming in a cove and swimming at the green grotto. We had the option to visit the Blue Grotto, but chose to return in the late afternoon and swim in for free. Hotel is a short walk to local grocery store (2 minutes) and the main tourist area (5 minutes) of Anacapri. Wifi worked well for our teenagers. Clean, safe, and very responsive staff. My recommendation is to contact them by Email with your travel schedule and they will recommend an itinerary as well as make all the coordination you would like - A fantastic visit!! Make sure you know how to get to the hotel because part of its charm is that it is tucked away on a side street and not along the main tourist section.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Confused by the amazing reviews!
Compared to other places we stayed for the same price it was disappointing. The room was clean but it got so hot it was hard to sleep. They charge 10 euro for the air con even though on the website we booked from said it was one of the 'facilities' - I have never known to be charged for air con before in a hotel.
It is also not clear about the breakfast charge and it was not mentioned to us in the 'welcome chat' it should really be made clearer. Good breakfast though, but if we had known it wasn't included we would have gone for a coffee elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 653rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel ! Friendly sister and handsome brother, provide us with nice breakfast and helpful suggestions =) We reached Hotel Bussola at about 11pm after a scary bus ride from Capri to Anacapri, and apparently not many people can show us the correct direction to the hotel at night. So i will advise you to reach early, preferably before dark! Upon our arrival, the handsome brother welcomed us with heart-warming smile and went through all the check in routine with us patiently. My friends and I stayed in a suite with 3 single beds and 1 double bed for 1 night. Room is spacious and clean! The corridor is well-decorated with sculptures and paintings, feel like we are in a museum. Free luggage storage available which really helps us a lot in planning our itinerary. Thank you very much for your host.

Room Tip: check in before dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiuYingXi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I recommend this Hotel a 100%. The staff is incredibly nice and their service is great.
It is in a very local zone of Anacapri, just 5 minutes away from the center, and also quite close to the Grote Azzurra.
Overall we had a fantastic stay, hopefully we'll come back one day!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel we got here in the rain and the staff did so much to brighten our day! (they actually brought hot coffee and croissants to our rooms while we were waiting for our other room to be ready).Cristian and Rita helped us were the sweetest ever, and suggested some great places to see after the rain cleared up. Rooms were wonderful and clean, and was great. Many thanks for your all .
Mary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spend 2 nights at the Bussola Hermes Hotel in Anacapri.
Passionates hosts have received us with a smile and warm welcome and spent time for an extensive tip to visit the island.
rooms are clean and comfy , ours with a terrace with a sea view , bfast is very simple but the went extra mile to ensure me the tea i had requested.

short walk to the main square of Anacapri , to a lovely souermarket to by delicious fruits and greens or simple italian sandwich.

Room Tip: ask for the upper floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giancarlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#11 of 18 in Anacapri
338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biancamaria
Hotel Biancamaria
#16 of 18 in Anacapri
108 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 41 in Capri
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bussola

Property: Hotel Bussola
Address: Via Traversa la Vigna, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anacapri
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
#8 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful welcoming hotel, in neo classic style, rooms are furnished with all comfort, some with private terrace overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bussola Di Hermes Hotel
Bussola Di Hermes Anacapri
Hotel Bussola Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing