We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Stay In” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Cala del Rio Isola di Capri

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anacapri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Cala del Rio Isola di Capri
Ranked #7 of 38 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Romantic Stay In”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed two nights here with my wife on our honeymoon and we could not have been happier! The room and the views are absolutely stunning and Carla and her family provided incredible service around the clock. They were always available to pick us up and drop us off where we wanted to go and they made us an incredible breakfast delivered to our room. My wife and I would recommend staying here to any couple looking for a romantic and quiet place with great service.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room Glicine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moogie822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staying at this little gem in Anacapri is the best travel decision I've ever made. At first I was wary because it is a hike to get there. You have to take the bus to the last stop (and they charge you per suitcase) and then call Carla to pick you up because some taxi services don't drive to the location, so I thought maybe I made a mistake. But once we arrived I realized how worth it was!!! It's an absolute stunner! The views are out of this world. The grounds are so well maintained and the rooms are pristine. Pictures do not do this place justice. Our room was perfectly clean and spacious. Carla and the family were warm and accommodating. The distance didn't end up being an issue at all because they drive you to the bus stop whenever you want and they make it completely convenient for you. And at NO additional cost! Our cell phones weren't working while we were there so Carla gave us a phone to use to call her when we needed to be picked up. Talk about excellent customer service! Also at no extra expense, Carla brought our breakfast to the room to enjoy in the privacy of our to-die-for terrace overlooking the island. This was a highlight of my vacation. The breakfast was delicious and filling. Add the view to that and it's absolute paradise. Carla even arranged for us to rent a scooter to take around the island at a great price! I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone. Staying at Cala del Rio made my vacation. I am still daydreaming about this experience.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms which is great because it's not crowded and they can pay extra attent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nelbelstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing experience on the Island of Capri at Cala Del Rio because Carla and her family made it feel like our home too! Their home is a bit out of the way but they will pick you up and deliver you just about anywhere and its worth the extra few minutes. When you arrive at their home, the rooms, the pool, the views and the tranquility are unbelievable! Our room was fully equipped with soap, hair dyer and even a fridge stocked with drinks at a small cost. We were greeted with drinks, baking and directions and suggestions of things to do while on the island. Breakfast was a wonderful experience with the opportunity to connect with the other guests and the family too. We found ourselves lingering daily because we enjoyed the company and surroundings so much! We had just a few nights and wish we could have stayed longer. They all looked after us like we were family and we can't wait to return to our friends once again! Thank you for a wonderful few days!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ottomowbeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week at the end of July. It was our first time in Italy and capri but we were made to feel totally at home and were given fantastic information about the entire island. With the info and tips given to us by Carla at the Cala del rio we filled our entire week with the islands adventures and stunning sites to see. We were so impressed by the island, Carla and her family. They gave us lifts to local transport spots which made the island accessible and we used local transport which is great. Weather, location and BnB where all perfect, we couldn't have dreamt of anything better. Carla and her beautiful family topped it of for us. Defiantly recommend to all. We will be back. Thank you Carla

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_robinson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

An absolutely fantastic B&B located on the Anacapri side of Capri.

Our room was nicely decorated and a good size. The bathroom was modern and large. We had a private terrace overlooking the pool.

Carla and her family could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. She was a fantastic hostess -- shuttling us to the nearest bus stop, providing big and delicious daily breakfasts, as well as daily room cleaning.

The location of the B&B is simply stunning, you have an absolutely unspoiled view of the coast with amazing sunsets. It is about a 12 minute walk from the local bus stop, it is very peaceful and beautiful. Carla has loads of tips for new visitors to the island (restaurants, sights, reliable taxi drivers etc.) and really does go out of her way to make your visit as stress free and enjoyable as possible.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone looking to visit Capri. It's a beautiful island and this is a beautiful B&B. I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpobrien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We’ve been traveling to Italy for more than 30 years, staying in lots of wonderful places, including four and five star hotels. They all fall short of Cala Del Rio. The family who runs Cala Del Rio are more like friends than staff. Before going there we were a little uncomfortable about the transportation issue; having to ask the owners to transport you back and forth several times a day sounded a bit unpleasant. However, their whole establishment is based upon this, since they are in a secluded place, so you feel no discomfort in asking them for transportation, as they seem genuinely happy to do so. Also, you get the added perk of having a native to yourself, and one who is only too happy to share knowledge of sights, restaurants, things to do and see. The seclusion is one of the beauties of the place, you get an absolutely gorgeous view of the sea (and Ischia on a clear day) from your veranda, while being few minutes from Anacapri center.

The property is exceptionally well kept, and has no need for maintenance or repair anywhere that we could see. We said to Carla on the second day of our stay that it’s evident they had had a very talented architect, since everything about the property is so extremely well planned and beautifully designed. The house, the garden, the pool. «No, my father-in-law did that» she answered. It turns out the father-in-law and owner Giuseppe, who drives you when Carla doesn’t, and who is a most sympathetic man (as is the whole family), designed not only the garden (he is a gardener by trade) but also the house and pool area. Most impressive!

We stayed only three nights, but should have stayed longer. Capri is such a wonderful and unique place, and Cala Del Rio will make your stay there even more wonderful. Had they served lunch and dinner too I doubt we would have left at all…

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aekhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in June at Cala Del Rio for our honeymoon. We couldn't have picked a more wonderful place - Carla and her family were thoughtful and generous hosts from the moment we arrived to when we left early on Sunday morning. The room was bright, well equipped and serviced everyday. Breakfasts were extensive and delicious (the fresh eggs were fab!) and the pool and surrounding gardens were idyllic. We were lucky enough to have a lot of the week to ourselves and it felt like such a personal and romantic venue. Carla has that wonderful manner of being there just at the right time but never being intrusive in any way. Her hospitality really added to our experience - keen to share her local knowledge and drive us up into the town of Anacapri every morning and evening. We would certainly recommend taking up the offer of a lift as the walk to the town is quite short but very steep! There is a nice walk down through the side streets and past the allotments to get back the B&B which avoids the main road and is great for spotting lizards and enjoying the view that opens up across the sea to Ischia.

The cost of the B&B is brilliant, given that the island is so pricey. The accommodation, views, facilities and wonderful hospitality were fantastic value.

We were definitely glad we chose this side of the island - quieter, more natural and with stunning sunsets. It seemed a bit sunnier too! (It sometimes seemed like the highest point at Monte Solaro was creating clouds that blew over the other side of the island...). Capri town and the attractions to the east are all really easy to get to on the local buses, but there are plenty of walks and sights on the west and Anacapri has some great restaurants.

Our honeymoon was unforgettable. We hope to come back to Cala Del Rio for an anniversary trip some time. We will definitely stay here again and can't recommend the place enough. Thank you so much to Carla and her family x

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HMH_and_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.6 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ceselle
Hotel Villa Ceselle
#7 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#14 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Cala del Rio Isola di Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Cala del Rio Isola di Capri

Property: B&B Cala del Rio Isola di Capri
Address: Via Cannula 24, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
B&B Cala Del Rio Isola Di Capri Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing