We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Anacapri”
Review of Melos - CLOSED

Melos
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Anacapri”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The owners are so nice and the food is sooooooooooooooo good. It is not pretentious, it is great home made italian food!!!! And the location is perfect! Dont miss it!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doudou611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    2
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
191 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Speak to the owner to find out his family background to appreciate this restaurant.!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice food.
Very relaxing.
Great music
Friendly service
We chilled out after a full day of rain on our first on The island up here in Anacapri.
Will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighburyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small but perfect, great dining experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant and so had no prior expectations. We loved it! The owner was fantastic and was a great, entertaining host. He made great recommendations and we loved the food, music and ambiance. A small but perfect restaurant!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dianainspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chittagong
1 review
“nothing special”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Everybody saying that this is very good restaurant but I have got negative experience while visiting this restaurant. The quality of food was low and there was nothing special for good comment. There have lots of batter restaurant than that on this island.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farjana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“decent food but overpriced (tourist trap)”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Melo is located under the only church in anacapri in the main piazza, which marks the beginning of the main commercial stretch.

The reason why this is listed as #1 is only because it has high foot traffic. The food was slightly above tourist average (from our experience in Italy) but it was overpriced. The owner was nice and gave us (as well as every costumer) a free plate of toast and bruschetta. It was nice to sit in the main piazza and watch the people walk by.

A few issues: the owner told us about a special, for Ricotta and porcini mushoom fusilli pasta. When we asked the price he said it was 12 euro, just 2 euro more than an ordinary pasta "because it was a special" but it came back on the bill as 15 euro. I realize porcini mushrooms are a bit of rarity, but 15 euro for a simple pasta is a bit expensive, especially when we were quoted a lower price in a bait & switch.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melos also viewed

Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing