We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, Great Service, Classic Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Sea View room at the end of June. The hotel is located on a cliff and there was a beautiful view of the sea throughout the property. The view from the pool is just breathtaking and was the highlight of our stay. Service was very good as the front desk helped us with dinner reservations and arranging a private boat tour. The room was spacious and clean, but the classic Italian decor was not our taste (we prefer more modern). The bathroom was nice, but layout of the shower was a bit tricky. The breakfast should have been better - we tried the dining room buffet once and found the service slow so decided that room service was a better option and ate on our balcony for the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC102005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 991 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Caesar Augustus is consistently recognized as one of the best hotel/resorts in the world...a few years back; recognized as the #1 Resort in the world. There is good reason for this...CA is set in the middle of a sprawling property that overlooks the Med. Sea with views -- really -- unmatched anywhere in Anacapri -- perhaps anywhere in the world. The resort has most everything one could want in the way of facilities -- a large 'infinity pool,' that overlooks the Sea; a Spa with full services; a wonderful steam room; a bar and a restaurant (will come back to that in a moment)....and a beautiful garden with a rich variety of herbs, vegetables and fruits..... It is true, that as a hotel/resort; it is hard to beat out what it has to offer....but....when you are on top a long time; the little things begin to be neglected; and the focus on the customer/guest can be lost a bit in the grandeur -- I believe that is what is happening at the CA.

Specific things of which to be aware ---

Number one -- the cost at the bar; the restaurant and room service. My wife and I were sent to CA as a gift from good friends (really good friends!); so I suppose if you have the cash to pay for a room; then concern about ridiculously high prices should not bother you. However -- the prices are ridiculously high. When we arrived, our room was not ready for several hours...so we sat on the beautiful terrace...and during our long wait, we ordered two gin and tonics and two glasses of Pinot Grigio - the bar bill was roughly $75 (pause for effect). We asked for a dinner menu...salads started at 28 Euros ($38 in today's trading). They offer a "pre-selected" course menu which was 110 Euros per person (excluding any drinks). For two -- that's $300 -- without drinks. The breakfast room service menu was laughable... (we brought one home to show friends)... one glass of orange juice ($11); one cup of soft fruit ($22) + a room service charge of $14. However, the breakfast package is worth including as the buffet breakfast is very, very good -- but throughout our five night stay -- was the only meal we enjoyed at CA. We simply could not see paying $300 for a meal, which, in town, would be about $100. We thought it might be just us; until we heard two other guests saying the same thing. Like my review of the Casa Angelina; the high prices are likely in large part the reason for the scarce crowd, in the restaurant. Head in town to Barbarrosa's and you'll pay less than 100 Euros for bottle of wine; appetizers, full meals and good service. If CA would cut their bar and restaurant prices in half -- they would see their patronage in their restaurants increase by an equal percentage. (Keeping in mind that CA caters primarily to those who can likely pay a great deal for meals.... but we saw a few young honeymoon couples -- so I would caution them against spending their first year's savings on a few nights at the CA!).

Second -- beds. The beds are NOT king; they are double and they are NOT firm (sink in the middle). For a 5-Star hotel; they need to replace the bedding to keep up with their competition.

Third -- language barrier. The staff is VERY friendly and does try very hard to respond to your needs with a smile and energy -- however, language is a problem. In asking for information about trips to the Blue Grotto -- we received four different versions (literally) from various staff members. The most proficient in English (Laura), was quick to greet us in the evening with a hearty "Good Morning!" CA could stand to hire one US or UK staff member who can speak Italian; as most of the guests we observed were US, UK or Canadian.

Fourth -- bathroom. Unless you buck up for a full suite -- you are going to get a regular sized bath with a very small tub or a very small shower. Our shower was clogged when we arrived and after the first shower, we were literally standing in an inch and a half of water (5 star service? Don't think so). They fixed it, and it drained for a few more says, and then it started again. Don't be fooled by the photo of a bathroom/shower/tub that overlooks the Med. Sea -- those are ONLY in the suite rooms. The regular rooms and Deluxe SeaView rooms have no windows in the bath, (however, the bathrooms are nice and come with the regulars -- supplies, robes, slippers, plush towels, etc.)

Fifth -- the "beach!" Do not (repeat.... DO NOT!) waste your time going to the "beach" with which CA has some arrangement. Once again, getting specific and clear English directions to the "beach" was difficult, but we finally got clarity -- free shuttle to the port; free boat ride to the beach -- but ugh...really. The "beach" consists of a line of chairs either on the edge of the water or on a built up deck. When we arrived, we were taken to the "private area" of the deck -- which consisted of the five or six sets of chairs at the end of the others. No one came to offer drinks or snacks....there is a bistro and bar -- but the menu is limited and you compete quickly with tours that stop there for lunch as part of their 'round the Island tour. A good bit of the time we were there; staff were out in the water with nets pulling out trash (some of which appeared to be toilet paper). I went to the nearby inlet with the hope of doing a bit of snorkeling -- but it was trashy; and most of the underwater life -- had moved onto nicer shores! When we left, a staff member tried to 'charge us' for our time! He handed us a bill for $30! I told him we were with CA and we were told we had free use of the beach...and he quickly ran off to "check" with someone else. Evidently, he knew he was not going to win that battle and let it go. We had come planning to spend the day -- we spent about two hours and returned to the beautiful pool.

So...what to expect? Well, the CA is a beautiful hotel/resort in a beautiful location with wonderful staff -- but for the price one pays for the room and to be listed as a 5-Star world class resort; a gust should get a great deal more for the money. If you have money to burn; you will probably love your stay (though you'll leave with memories of a saggy bed!). Overall, CA is a Feast for the Senses but a Famine for the Wallet. With just a bit more attention to the guest, CA could rightly claim its well-worn reputation; and my overall rating would move from 3 stars to 5....but not for now!

Room Tip: You definitely want a 'sea view,' though we ran into one couple that requested a corner sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rusty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights with our 5 and 7yo kids. We got an adjoining room for the kids so our overall daily rate was over $2000US.. So we had very high expectations.
We felt the service was inconsistent. We presumed our stay would have a few shuttle trips, which it didn't (although they have two vans and one Merc on hand). Except for a few moments over a week, we rarely saw a five star service.
I went to have oysters and champagne, and wanted to know the prices and types on offer, and a bar staff member threw the champagne list at me and said I will get your order in ten minutes.
The breakfast crew are hilarious to watch muck up your order, and you will wait up to 30 minutes for the wrong coffee. We didn't eat at the dinner resteraunt as we really didn't feel the kids were catered for. We paid €20+ for a cheese ham toasty and chips.
When we return we will stay at JK Place.
I had a sleepless night thinking the staff were getting hostile. Now I just realise they didn't care.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwaves2u22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I visited this hotel for the 4th time in 15 years - the view of Naples bay from 1000 feet above sea level from this centuries' old former mansion is too stunning for words. the pool, grounds, garden, homey but opulent hotel interior, all speak for themselves in pictures, and don't disappoint in ANY way when you are there. I finally met on this occasion the owner, whom after retaining control in the mid 90"s of the hotel from a previous "bad tenant" has tirelessly restored this hotel to the Glory it deserves. I can go on but the pictures readily available on Conde Nast Traveler (where is has secured numerous awards for top hotel and resort in the EU) are many. See for yourself.

Our room was cleaned promptly each morning and was very well appointed. The food, under direction of the Restaurant Manager Memo was a delight morning, noon and night. We rarely ate anywhere off hotel due to the fact that the true 5 star experience seemed lost at other places. The island a very tourist dominated place.. thousands come and go daily from Capri and local restos and eateries seemed bored with the daily turnover that supports their livelihoods , but at this hotel/resort.. you are removed from that in everyway.

Special thanks to Memo, and his staff for making every meal a delight. See you next year for sure.

The room rate has basically doubled in the past 8 years, but with the marked improvements that the Hotelier has made, I had no issue paying for what we received.

Room Tip: all rooms face the Ocean one way or another. I prefer rooms on the 2nd floor. all have baloneys or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tristano68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband found Caesar Augustus Hotel traveling after college 24 years ago…. much different then but fell in love with the hotel and the Island of Capri and Anacapri.

He took me in 1998 and I too was hooked. We returned in 2000 (got engaged), 2011 (celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary) and most recently in June 2014 (for some well needed R&R).

When arriving in the marina your greeted by their chauffeur then driven up to the hotel. Check in by the friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff behind the front desk and brought to your room. The views are truly spectacular both from the terraces to the individual seaside suites: (#306 and #107). Every morning a full breakfast offered; eggs, bacon, fresh greens from their garden, many selections of nuts, fresh fruits, fresh jams, pastries, cereals, yogurts, salmon, prosciutto, breads, fresh squeezed orange juice and much more. The Infinity pool – wow!!!

This place is magical. The gracious hospitality offered to us from the Signorini family, general manager Lucia, and ALL the staff is top-notch. They treat you like part of their family.

Go now. Book that room. You will not be disappointed.

We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: sea side rooms definitely, waking up or going to sleep with that view is truly something you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdurey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaesarAugustusHotel, Proprietario at Caesar Augustus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dearest,
the Signorini family, Lucia and all the staff of Caesar Augustus thank you immensely for your beautiful words that are the one we hoped to reward every person who puts all the enthusiasm in this fantastic job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a truly fabulous hotel for a romantic break on one of the most pretty islands in the Mediteranean. The rooms are very pleasant, food excellent and views to die for. If we had one complaint it is that it was difficult to find a room with privacy on the balcony, however, this seems the norm in Italy where people like to be seen !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

After a number of seedy hotels, which were not charging seedy prices, we were saved. Upon docking on the island a Mercedes van picks you up and takes you to the top of Capri, AnaCapri. I thought I had died and gone to heaven. It was exquisite--from the balcony views on every room to the marble columns to the infinity pool. Wonderful quaint bar with complimentary service every midafternoon and a great breakfast. We loved it so much we cancelled the rest of our trip and stayed the remainder in Capri. While Capri is a fantastic little island, it was Caesar Augustus that finally made us feel like we were in Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.2 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
1.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
1.0 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesar Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Augustus Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range: $567 - $1,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caesar Augustus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of a villa suspended between the sea and sky surrounding Capri. The luxury of a 5 star hotel designed to look and feel just like your own beautiful island home. The privacy guaranteed by the secluded location, on the cliff edge, 300 meters above the sea. The only 5 star hotel on the island of Capri with: A breathtaking view encompassing the whole of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast Six utterly unique imperial suites A restaurant serving zero miles cuisine made with ingredients grown in the kitchen garden that you can visit every day A double level infinity pool facing the sea An outdoor wellness area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caesar Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caesar Augustus
Caesar Augustus Anacapri
Caesar Augustus Hotel Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing