We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb and luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caesar Augustus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb and luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I spent three days here with my wife on our honeymoon and we loved it. The hotel is perched on the cliffs of Capri, with an incredible view across the bay of Naples. Our room was beautifully furnished and clean, again with a great view. The on-site restaurant is of superb quality. The hotel's location in Anacapri isn't very accessible to the main town of Capri, being about an hour's walk, but there are regular buses and taxis are also available. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel pool is also a great place to relax. Overall, a fantastic place to stay. Expensive, but if you want to stay in a luxury hotel in Capri I can't imagine it gets better than this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EjpD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    100
    56
    32
    27
See reviews for
91
561
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was here for a wedding in September. A spectacular hotel! 100% recommended. The best views in Capri by far. A first class experience all the way!
Tips: Expensive cab fares to move from Anacapri to the rest of the island. You can use the bus. The hotel has complimetary port pickup (including someone to carry your bags :) and escort you from the boat), remember to book it. This is important, as arrival can be a mess because of the crowds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely long weekend here in late July 2012. From the moment the concierge collected us from Capri harbour everything was magical.
The Hotel is in Ana Capri - basically up the hill from the main town. This means that you need to take a taxi to get into Capri itself - but with convertible taxis the norm, it almost adds to the fun of Capri riding around in one.
The views from the hotel are outstanding, cocktails on the terrace are magical and the pool is serene, with views stretching out over the ocean below. Their little restaurant by the pool is also fab with sweeping views. We had lunch there, and breakfast in their other restaurant was well stocked in the mornings. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, preferring to go into Capri town in the evenings. We had a sea view room and the views were as spectacular as that of the rest of the hotel.
This hotel is old style Italian, so if you are looking for all the mod cons and modern interiors it won't be for you. It is like staying in someone's amazing villa.
They have comfortable beds, nice showers and flat screen TV we were more than happy.
To sum it up, it would be hard to leave not feeling loved up and totally relaxed....

Room Tip: If you can, go for the sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxeLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

from first to last this was a holiday to remember! Our first encounter with Caesar Augustus was stepping off the hydrofoil on boiling hot summer day to be greeted by hotel staff, shepherded to an air conditioned car and given cold water and cool wipes to refresh ourselves with. We hadn't let the hotel know our time of arrival and this unexpected treat set the tone for the luxurious holiday. The infinity pool overlooking the bay of Napes is, anything, better than the pictures. There lots of local restaurants to explore in nearby Anacapri. We didnt have a bad meal in our week there. The staff were superb and attentive. Special mention should go to the breakfast, with local specialities, and to the piano bar where a cocktail overlooking the bay is the perfect way to round off a day in the sun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDP1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived in the port area of Capri on the large hydrofoil boat, which shuttled us from the Amalfi Coast City of Positano. The hydrofoil was not expensive and actually quite acceptable for a ‘cattle car’ experience… and about an hour cruise from the dockside at Positano.

Once we arrived at Capri, we were met at the boat dock by our Caesar Augustus Hotel driver. Of the three marvelous Hotels we stayed in on our two week Amalfi Coast holiday – we also stayed at the Caruso in Ravello, and the Il San Pietro in Positano - this was our favorite hotel experience of the trip. I had explored the Caesar Augustus on a number of different websites, and had fortunately found one that identified and reviewed the Hotel’s special Suites. I am beyond thrilled with the suite choice I came upon. We stayed in the ‘Tiberius Suite’. (If you’re going to spend yer buckos anywhere, this is the suite to select… and oddly enough, it was not as expensive as the Caruso’s suite!) The Tiberius Suite looks out at Naples and Mt Vesuvius to the north, and easterly to the city of Capri and the very blue Sea below (about 300-400 feet below the private patio.) This corner room suite was absolutely beautiful, appointed with a wonderfully comfortable four poster bed, Greco-roman white walls, and tasteful antique furniture. The views from the bed, as well as the private patio, (which winds around the North and East of the room) are second to none! I actually inquired of the concierge if we would be able to get an upgraded room, (a privilege of Virtuoso Travel clients and Hotels when available) and she looked at me inquisitively and replied, “Sir, there are no better suites. You have the most upgraded view room we have in the Hotel.” The room clearly looked wonderful on line… and it indeed was!

The Hotel itself sits in upper Anacapri – about six kilometers above the lower city of Capri – and is about a 200 yard hike to the small village of Anacapri. Here you will find small fine shops and one of the coolest tourist attractions we enjoyed… the single chair lift that takes you to the summit of Anacapri. This experience offers you the most expansive panorama view of the Amalfi Coast and all around the Isle of Capri. The ‘lift’ is not expensive and totally worth the experience! And No, it is NOT scary! There is a crowded touristy consession once you get off the lift, where you can order beer and lite foods. While we weren't impressed with the level of cleanliness, it was great to sip a brew amidst such amazing vistas!

The City of Capri below is also great fun to explore, and yes, while it IS quite touristy, (more so than Anacapri,) it is also very high end in shops and great restaurants. There are also a number of fine Italian jewelry stores that are proprietor owned and artist designed… and yes, my wife DID enjoy one shop especially well!

For meals, we dined at the Caesar Augustus for two evenings, (truly excellent cuisine and preparation, outstanding service... and a stunning reasonably priced bottle of 2005 Barolo.) We also took in a fun – and very reasonable – wine tasting and hors d'oeuvres presentation at the Hotel one evening. The three other nights at the Augustus we trekked around and ate in Capri. ‘Aurora’ is a great night spot restaurant, and unfortunately, I can’t recall the other two spots we ate at… but I remember they were terrific little bistro’s we just ‘happened upon’ and enjoyed. Such small eateries are all over Capri. In my world, a nice bottle of wine makes any food taste better!

The hotel provided marvelous breakfasts each morning at the pool side dining area. The Breakfast Buffet was not only expansive, but filled with ridiculously delicious homemade cakes and pastries, fresh fruit, fresh omelettes and egg preps, cheeses, meats, waffles, wonderful dark roast coffee and more.

Capri is truly a special place for Love. Seriously, it just doesn’t get much better than Capri, and I can't imagine ANY place more wonderful to stay than the Caesar Augustus! We Will be Back!!

Room Tip: Splurge for the Tiberius Suite... the views are breathtakingly beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrThought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Loved this hotel. As many have written, the views are absolutely stunning. The breakfast was great and being on the edge of Anacapri is a nice change. There is a nice 2 level swimming pool with views to die for.

Couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidjHonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have stayed at the hotel as my second station in my honeymoon, i called them as they asked me when i get on the hydrofoil, i found them at the port of capri and the took good care of the luggage,
actually the staff is very friendly, the hotel itself is not that big as i expected and doesnt have that lobby and facilities actually i was disappointed at the beginning specially with the elevator, i believe they may kept it cause it seems classic but its really annoying you have to open a couple of doors and you have to close them manually every time you get in and out! and if somebody did not the elevator sticks and doesnt work.
We took a junior suite which i expected it to be more luxurious but it a slightly above average with some exceptions as the bathroom really need to some updates the shower specially, the bed is very basic not what do u expect from a 5 star hotel the lamp stands and the phone looks realllyyyy cheap!
the minibar was not bad as it was included but it just had soft drinks and water.
the views are amazing, i dont think you would find an hotel with a better view in capri.
the breakfast is very poor we tried the room service at the beginning wich was good but the buffet breakfast was below our expectations
overall the hotel is good although doesnt really worth what i paid for i think its expensive as it is kind of old and lacking some of 5 star hotels basics! yeah i forgot to mention the split ac system!
if i go to capri again i would think twice before going to caesar augustus

Room Tip: Do not take the junior suite its not much different from the standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binyousef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.2 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesar Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Augustus Hotel

Property: Caesar Augustus Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caesar Augustus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of a villa suspended between the sea and sky surrounding Capri. The luxury of a 5 star hotel designed to look and feel just like your own beautiful island home. The privacy guaranteed by the secluded location, on the cliff edge, 300 meters above the sea. The only 5 star hotel on the island of Capri with: A breathtaking view encompassing the whole of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast Six utterly unique imperial suites A restaurant serving zero miles cuisine made with ingredients grown in the kitchen garden that you can visit every day A double level infinity pool facing the sea An outdoor wellness area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Caesar Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caesar Augustus
Caesar Augustus Anacapri
Caesar Augustus Hotel Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing