We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I chose this hotel as the first destination for our honeymoon. I had read ALL of the reviews on trip advisor, and was slightly concerned that this may have not been the best choice of hotels based on a few negative reviews. I was wrong, this hotel is FANTASTIC all around! Here are the quick notes I made.
Staff - most spoke good English. Very accomidating in arranging reservations for dinner, rides to anywhere on the island, or directing guests to entertainment/activities. Extremely friendly.
Food - Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we did not have dinner at the hotel, so no comment there. We did have room service multiple times as well as the included breakfast a few times. The food was always excellent, as well as the service.
Room - Deluxe Sea View (number 314 I think). The view was fantastic from the bedroom and the bathroom. The deck was a good size, bigger and more private than those to the west of us. The room size was slightly smaller than I expected, but arranged well and we never felt cramped.
Grounds - Very well maintained, and very expansive given the cliff side location.
Bar - Great for late afternoon and after dinner drinks. A fun place for a cigar or just to watch the lights of Sorrento and Naples.
Overall Feel - very relaxed. The staff is not in your face, but always close by and willing to help with ANYTHING if asked. The guests were friendly but everyone kept to themselves most of the time, which I liked. Guest ages ranged from late 20s to 80s, mostly in the 30-40s range.

Final Comment - I have concluded, like a few others, that the negative comments regarding this hotel are from demanding and snooty travelers. My suggestion to readers, if you want the 4 seasons treatment, go to the 4 seasons (or somewhere in Capri, not Anacapri), and not here, you will only disturb this wonderful place...

Thank you Caesar Augustus Hotel!

Room Tip: Seaview on the 3rd floor or below main is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJShirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    103
    57
    33
    27
See reviews for
97
628
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anacapri, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

To start off- we were advised someone would meet us at the ferry for our 3 day stay- no one arrived and it was pouring rain so we cabbed it up to the hotel.
Room wasn’t ready- the only ferry to Positano leaves at 10.20am in the morning , you arrive at 11 am but you cant get into the rooms until 3pm so we were sent out with a single umbrella for the two of us which was broken to explore Anacapri and subsequently got completely drenched
Arrived back at the hotel having booked a junior suite with a sea view to be shown what could only be described as a standard room with a two seater as you walked in. We complained and were shown to what wouldn’t really pass as a small junior suite in size but with a public walkway in front so curtains had to be closed at all times- so no real view
We said we wanted to leave and were told we couldn’t unless we wanted to forfeit our $1000/night and they didn’t have a better room. We said ok don’t bill us $1000/night for a sea view when we effectively don’t have one. (better to be disappointed at $500/night than at $1000/night!)They immediately found another room that barely passed for deluxe room with a 2 seater and a nice view so we grudgingly accepted (we preferred to go back to the 4 star rated Bucca de Bacco in Positano-a bigger room, huge terrace overlooking beach, nice view, more private, better room service menu/food and restaurant and numbers of English speaking channels and excellent 5 star performance staff for less than ½ what we were paying at this place)
Unfortunately re didn’t read the reviews on trip advisor about all the other people who felt duped in regards to the junior suites and star rating otherwise we wouldn’t have come here-its saving grace is the views.
We arrived back from town one day at 3.30 pm – room still not made up. Rang them before we left for dinner and came home 10pm still not done! And we are paying $1000/night for this!
Room service menu very limited and restaurant menu mostly uninspiring vegetarian/fish/pasta and one visit is more than enough. They don’t have a 2nd restaurant so one is committed to having to eat out every lunch/dinner and pay the cab fares of 20 euros each way to Capri.(after an average breakfast and fake fresh squeezed orange juice) ( BTW don’t expect to see anything but Italian food and expect to see the same dishes on EVERY restaurant menu and no meat! Amazingly , they don’t appear to have embraced any other cuisines so food can become monotonous after a while and impossible to have a low carb diet.)(there is only so much pasta al vongale,fish, pizza and lasagne you can eat!)
Limited number of English speaking channels, no in house entertainment
Commendable bar in that they have several good quality French champagnes by the glass and nice sitting and outdoor areas. Though only 1 loo to service the bar area and it was 5 deep at one stage of ladies waiting to use it. The room terraces have no privacy and all look onto each other. Bathrooms have plastic modular baths – just out of place in an old world building and cheapens the whole bathroom. . Paper thin walls between rooms- can hear the ablutions next door! They don’t offer toothpaste/brush/ shaver /cream amenities as Bucca de Bacco did as a 4 star.
Factoring in cab fares of 20 euros each way to Capri- it can add substantially to your costs of stay- expect no help from the hotel with the shuttle bus . The local buses have no air con, are packed like sardines, nose to armpit , so not a pleasant experience mid summer!
Restaurants we did try that were nice were Capri Palace(some much needed meat on the menu), and Rendez vous(krug by the glass). Aurora was overpriced for what it was but food was nice
Frankly one day here is enough- and look for a better value hotel-and spend more time in Positano.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mam43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

this is worth a splurge. the location is just spectacular and the amenities are all that you would expect from this kind of hotel. even better, the staff, especially Rosa on our visit, are superlative -- funny, kind, patient and of course very well informed and helpful to a fault. One small disappointment for foodies would be the hotel restaurant which was expensive and not very good -- pastas not evenly cooked, sauces without subtlety, overcooked fish.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlrzhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend and straightway on arrival were made to feel like special guests with reception genuinely pleased to see us. We had booked a delux room with sea view and were delighted to be upgraded to a beautiful junior suite.
Location is just stunning with unbeatably views and very lovely hotel facilties, fabulaous infinity pool, with obvious attention to detail throughout every inch of the hotel and gardens.
We met the owner who clearly, and rightly, has great pride in the hotel as seemed to be the case with everyone we met, friendly, lots of smiles and a genuine willingness to help with any requests. Great breakfast with local produce and a first class evening meal in their restuarant. I can't praise this hotel enough, (and I've stayed all over the world), and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPolothe2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We (my husband and I along with another couple) spent 3 nights at this hotel at the end of our 2 week vacation in Italy. This was the perfect end to our Italy vacation. The hotel shuttle collected us at the ferry dock in Capri and took us to the hotel. Upon check-in we were upgraded to ocean view rooms (I assume because the hotel wasn't full at that time), and given a tour of the property. The rooms were lovely and spacious and perfectly clean, with awesome views! The pool is stunning, not as big as it appears on the website, but its great, good temperature, and during our stay we were pretty much the only ones using the pool which was great. The breakfast buffet was very good as well, lots of fruit, yogurt, breads, pastries, eggs, bacon, juices. The only complaint that I would have is the price of food and beverages at the hotel are very high. The cost of a beer is 10euro (small beer), yet there is a little shop 100m up the street that sells beer for 1euro, so we bought beer at the store and drank it on our balcony. If beer (or cocktails) had been even 5 or 6 euro we probably would have stayed by the pool all afternoon and bought drinks from the hotel, so instead of selling a few beer/cocktails to each of us everyday at a more reasonable price, they hardly sold any because it was so overpriced. As well, the restaurant food is very expensive, it is really good food, but very pricey for the small portions that you get. I would suggest walking the 100m into Anacapri and eating at some of the nice, and cheaper, restaurants in the town (or take the 10 min bus ride into Capri). One other thing about the hotel is that you cannot iron your own clothes. There was no iron in our room (which isn't strange), so we called reception to ask if there was an ironing room, or an iron we could borrow. They did not have anywhere we could iron our clothes so we had to pay the hotel to have them ironed (about 5euro per item), I just found this to be a little strange.
Overall, our experience with this hotel was fantastic and we would certainly return. Capri is not a big island and you can see most of it in a day, so if you are staying for more then 1 night it is essential to stay at a nice hotel where you can relax by the pool and hopefully enjoy the amazing views.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islanders09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This was our second time back. Our room this time around did not have as spectacular a view as before, but we were still pleased. The hotel staff was warm and friendly, the food outstanding (but pricey dinner), the pool amazing, perfect weather. Only hiccup - the internet did not work ! Please please please fix this ! It did not work last year either !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TFTravelWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Spent a four-day weekend here in September and the property absolutely blew me away. There is nothing more beautiful than their infinity pool that seems to drop right off into the azure sea. Feels like your own spacious mansion with a cheery and smiling staff. For my full review of this property with personal photos, please visit my blog post on this hotel at:

http://www.destinationsperfected.com/2011/02/capri-italy-hotel-caesar-augustus.html

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandradf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.2 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
1.1 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caesar Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Augustus Hotel

Property: Caesar Augustus Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#1 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
#3 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caesar Augustus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of a villa suspended between the sea and sky surrounding Capri. The luxury of a 5 star hotel designed to look and feel just like your own beautiful island home. The privacy guaranteed by the secluded location, on the cliff edge, 300 meters above the sea. The only 5 star hotel on the island of Capri with: A breathtaking view encompassing the whole of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast Six utterly unique imperial suites A restaurant serving zero miles cuisine made with ingredients grown in the kitchen garden that you can visit every day A double level infinity pool facing the sea An outdoor wellness area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caesar Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caesar Augustus
Caesar Augustus Anacapri
Caesar Augustus Hotel Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing