We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the island”
Review of Mount Solaro

Mount Solaro
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.52*
and up
Capri and Blue Grotto Private Tour from Naples or Sorrento
More Info
$93.35*
and up
Capri and Anacapri Guided Tour from Sorrento
More Info
$47.87*
and up
Semi-Guided Capri Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From Piazza della Vittoria you can take a breathtaking chairlift to the top of Mount Solaro, the highest point on Capri at 1,932 feet.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
379 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Great view of the island”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Even though it was a rainy day when I went up the chair lift, there was still lots to be seen and a great way of getting persepctive on this fascinating rocky island.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,511
    306
    43
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place I have ever seen”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This place is a must for anyone travelling to the island of Capri. From Anacapri, you can take a chair lift (about a 15 minute ride) up the side of the hill to the top of the island. This chair lift looks scary, and is similar to what a ski chair lift might be, leaving you feeling all alone on the side of the mountain... however the views on the way up, and the stunning views at the top make this ride completely worthwhile. The views from the top offer stunning views of the ocean, the fragolini rocks, and even so far as the city of Naples and on a clear day, Mt. Vesuvius. There is also a snack bar at the top where you can buy drinks/snacks and enjoy the view for awhile before heading back down to the busy island below. This is one of my favorite things we did on our almost 2 week long trip to Italy, and I would recommend this over anything else on the island of Capri.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ollipop87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hiking Mount Solaro”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The path is very steep and there is a sign that could be easily misread that would lead you to the church instead of up. We guessed right and it was shortly after confirmed by a local. The Chair lift was closed this day because of the strong winds. So our only option was to hike. We always planned to hike down. With it being off-season, nothing was open at the top. But with the chair lift closed we expected this. The view was great. I would like to see an accessible toilette even in the off season or when the snack shop is closed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tinag6813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
388 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 776 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a view! The ride up is just breathtaking. The cost of the chairlift was included in our private Capri Tour and it was so much fun. Arriving at the top you have the most magnificent view of the sea. There is a nice little restaurant up top with restrooms and cool photo shoots.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,026 reviews
495 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“chair lift ride is great fun”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I wasn't real sure if I cared about riding the chair lift up to the top of Mt. Solaro, but it turned out to be more fun than I thought. The lift had only one person seats and moves at a steady but slow pace. It will seem routine if you've ever been on a ski lift. There are attendants to help you on and off. It took much longer than I expected to reach the top. Once there you have some wonderful views as you are at the highest point on Capri. There is a snack bar there as well - not sure what they sell as we only got water. Then you have the fun of riding back down again! You can spend as long as you want on top, but the whole trip took us about an hour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Solaro also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Mount Solaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing