We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a Floor: An amazing Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chiesa San Michele

Chiesa San Michele
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Church from the 17th century with its notable San Michele statue and splendid antique ceramic floor.
Mt. Airy, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than a Floor: An amazing Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I loved my visit to Chiesa San Michele!
Once a Catholic Church it is now a monument to preserve the artistry of master tile artisan L. Chiaiese.

The floor is covered with a beautiful tile mural of Paradise and it is stunning. A board walk surrounds the edges of the church to allow visitors to walk the perimeter, see the various chapels, and view the mural without placing feet on the floor itself.

In the first room to the right of the main doors as one enters the sanctuary their is a lovely display of the figures from the Sicilian creche which covers the altar area each Christmas season. Beautiful and well worth the small donation requested.

Go upstairs for an overview of the entire floor.

Maria is an excellent hostess and was very helpful and friendly in welcoming us.

Don't miss this experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pokeeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    110
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Center
Level Contributor
122 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Just Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I walked away from the main square in Capri and just kept walking until we found some quiet alleys and ended up in an enchanting square where the locals sat on majolica tiled benches, contemplating the day. We went inside Chiesa San Michelle and were so pleasantly surprised by the beautiful majolica tiles depicting the creation. We went up the choir loft to get a full view of the scene. It was just beautiful, we stayed there a while just taking it all in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level Contributor
1,170 reviews
452 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
“Plain exterior but an astounding interior, especially the floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our tour guide, Luigi, took us to Chiesa San Michele on our trip to Anacapri. It is nothing spectacular on the outside but the interior is astounding. The tile floor depicts the Creation and has a boardwalk around the walls that prevents you from walking on the floor and ruining the ornate designs. There is an entry fee of one euro in the low season, but it is well worth it.

Be sure to climb the iron spiral staircase to the gallery on the second floor overlooking the entire tiled floor. It is really outstanding. Upon arriving back at the Sorrento Hilton we found an old National Geographic that contained an article about the Chiesa's floor. I wouldn't have even known that the floor existed had it not been for our tour guide taking us there. Three years ago the tour guide we used didn't take us here. The church's interior is a don't miss place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
348 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Beautiful and peaceful church. We were the only souls in there. Entrance was free I mid December. Don't miss it while you are in Anacapri. It is on the square.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reagan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
726 reviews
376 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Make sure you go upstairs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The painted floor of this church full of animals, mythical and real, and biblical stories in light tones is a wonder to be seen. One can wander around the edges and see close up but make sure you go up the circular stair case to get the complete overview of the art.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa San Michele also viewed

Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Chiesa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing