We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Grotto

Blue Grotto
Book In Advance
More Info
$287.26*
and up
Exclusive Capri Boat Tour from Naples or Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Anacapri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The must-see attraction on Capri is the magical Blue Grotto, where visitors take a boat ride through a natural cavern that is filled with an ethereal and eerie light reflecting on the (very blue) water.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Experience in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Don't miss taking a boat tour of the blue grotto in Capri. It is truly breath taking & something I will never forget. Me & my best friend got off the big tour boat & onto a very small boat to go into the extremely tiny hole that you must go thru to get into the grotto. Once indie it's truly amazing, we even got to swim inside which was awesome but I heard it's not allowed anymore.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,402
    588
    398
    265
    326
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“If you could do it yourself it would be rated five.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The blue grotto is an amazing thing to see, and you would probably regret passing up the chance. However, it is a total rip-off since access is controlled by tourist companies. From the main boat terminal in Capri we took a small boat out (with about 12 other people) at the cost of 13 euro each. There was a small note on the ticket sign indicating a further charge (no price listed) to hire a rowboat to enter the grotto once you arrive. It turns out to be ANOTHER 13 euro per person to enter the grotto in a little rowboat. Our rower was not particularly great, we could barely understand what he was saying once inside the grotto (which, by the way, is not for the faint of heart as you have to lie on the floor of the boat with your head down to pass through the entrance!). You only spend about 5 minutes inside the grotto (maybe less) which is amazing to see except for the 50 other people in there at the same time with flashes going off every two seconds. On the way out your rower essentially demands a tip and he scoffed at the handful of change I gave him not seeming to understand we had ALREADY paid 26 euro for this 5 minute tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Its really beautiful and BLUE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I just found out about this place when i reached Capri.... Went on another boat to Blue Grotto, once you reached. You will be approached by a bunch of boat rowers. Prepared to pay and also tips... they demand for it. You will then be rowed to a small opening in the mountains... VERY SMALL opening.... once you are in, look behind back to the hole... then you will see everything BLUE!!! it's beautiful but the ride inside is only less than 10 minutes. So grab your iPhone , camera and get ready!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Yes it was beautiful and magical but it is very very short lasts for less than 2 minutes...Also with the tip to the boat eprsona dn the so-called tax for the government, its a ripoff! Thankfully we rode there on a bike and didnt take the cruise around the island otherwise the total cost would be close to a 100 euros for a couple!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Touristy, but still unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Getting into the cave is a small adventure like most things to a foreigner in Italy. Takes ages to get there from the marina, first the bus ride, then the walk and the stairs, the the queue, but then: what an experience! It costs a lot and is though and through a very touristy thing to do, but once I got into the cave, the beauty of it took all of these thoughts away. Amazing what nature can create.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EvenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Grotto also viewed

Anacapri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Blue Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing