We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but you have to go”
Review of Blue Grotto

Blue Grotto
Book In Advance
More Info
$394.94*
and up
Capri Sorrento and Pompeii Private Tour from Naples
More Info
$311.17*
and up
Exclusive Capri Boat Tour from Naples or Sorrento
More Info
$107.71*
and up
Full Day Capri Tour from Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Anacapri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The must-see attraction on Capri is the magical Blue Grotto, where visitors take a boat ride through a natural cavern that is filled with an ethereal and eerie light reflecting on the (very blue) water.
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,026 reviews
495 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Pricey but you have to go”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our original plan was to get to Capri early in the morning and beat the crowd to the Grotto, but we found out that the Villa Jovis was only open until 1:30 and I was afraid I'd not get there in time if we went to the Grotto first. So reluctantly we decided to just skip the Grotto. However, around 3:00 we had returned from Anacapri and decided to check on the situation at the Grotto. A boat was just getting ready to cast off so my wife boarded while I grabbed some tickets. The ride over is beautiful and you get to enjoy the coastline. When we arrived there were about 6 other boats that were in some kind of order. You could tell there was a plan, but you couldn't figure it out. My only real concern was that I knew if the water got rougher, then there is always a chance you can't go in. Eventually some boaters came to our boat and started loading us. Of course the first ticket you bought back at the port is only your "first" ticket. Now you get to buy a ticket for the Grotto AND your rower mentions that tips are "highly" suggested. We were aware of all this but we overheard others who were having to borrow money as they had no idea. Eventually we are headed to the Grotto opening and the excitement begins. Suddenly you are in and being rowed around. Our oarsman started singing O solo mio - as Rick Steves had said - it's all really cheesey but it truly is great fun. We were only in the Grotto for about 3 min and then it's over. All-in-all it's a very expensive side tour and that was part of the reason we were going to skip it. However, after it was over, we both agreed that we were very glad we did it - it was great fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,518
    656
    436
    292
    357
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had seen pictures of the blue grotto and thought it looked very pretty so decided to visit. after paying the 12 euros per person for four of us (they make you pay per person, not per boat - which we think was wrong).
Even if you book an organised tour, you still have to transfer onto the smaller boat to enter and will have to pay unless the trip includes the entrance price.
Once inside it is spectacular, but we had been expecting a tour around, but instead we stayed inside for 3 minutes at the most before exiting and getting off the boat.
would not recommend this, as it's very disappointing for the price!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liverpool4686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A lot of fun - and very beautiful”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Yes - it is a bit of a tourist trap. No matter how small of a boat you take on your island tour, you still have to pay to ride into the grotto on one of the small rowboats. But, it is beautiful inside. And the ride in and out is fun.

One of the rowboat rowers sang inside. He had a good voice and with the echo it was quite beautiful as well.

One note: we were told that due to tides and wave conditions, the grotto is only open about one day in three. So, if you are going on an island boat tour mainly to visit the grotto, make sure it is open before you pay for the trip. However, it also apparently can close at any time, so the operator may say it is open and then plead ignorance if closed when you get there. Buyer beware.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FullCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Overhyped tourist trap”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I can't imagine a bigger waste of money. The grotto is just 1 small cavern, the water is illuminated blue at the entrance and that's it. Inside takes 2-3 minutes of going in a circle twice and that costs 12.50 euro a person. Plus they ask for a tip.

We took the local bus that goes right there and then you walk some steps down and wait for a boat to take you in. We were there in late October and still we waited. You lay back in the little row boat and the driver pulls the boat into the cavern with a chain (which he let drop on my face). Then once inside he starts marvelling at how blue it is and singing the chorus of Volare. Kill me now. Is all the water blue - no. Does the whole cavern glow blue - no.

I couldn't believe this was what it was. Save yourself - don't go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Going into the grotto was interesting and the gondola drivers definitely make the experience. We had to split into two gondola's and one was an idiot asking for a tip the minute our party was in and the other one was great. You are inside for only a few minutes. If you have a bad back pass on this experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Grotto also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Blue Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing