We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Blue Grotto
from $141.10
More Info
from $153.90
More Info
from $300.80
More Info
Reviews (3,821)
Filter reviews
2,000 results
Traveler rating
805
388
298
237
272
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
805
388
298
237
272
Show reviews that mention
All reviews row boat natural wonder small opening lay flat private boat bucket list long wait duck small entrance tiny boat high tide worth the wait boat tour hour wait few minutes the bus once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,000 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

It is one of those things that you gotta do it once...
We took the ferry from Positano to Capri for about 14 -15€ per person one way. Once we got there, we bought the tour ticket to the Blue grotto without knowing that we will have to pay again for small rowing boat to get inside.
The ticket for speed boat from the harbor to the cave entrance is about 18€ per person. We then waited outside of the entrance for over 1 hour until some rowing boats were available to take us it.

There were half a dozen rowing boat... so we were waiting for awhile. Once they were available, they came to our speed boat and everyone hopped on. At that time, they told us we would need to pay another 14€ per person and some extra tip for the guys if we wanted him to sing.

The entrance of the cave is very low (2 meters I was told). So everyone has to sit on th floor of the rowing boat. The guy will pull on these chain at the entrance to get inside of the cave.

Once inside of the cave, they went 2 small loops, less than 5 minutes! The cave 's water is very blue... therefore it's called blue grotto...

So, if you are going here, be aware of the tide and time. If the tide is too high and late in the day, you either can't go inside or will not be able to see the blue reflection.

Thank kukulimoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This place is pretty much a cave with a hole thar can be reached by swimming or a little boat. It is amazingly beautiful the color of water and the sounds. This place is empty and free after 5pm.

There are men in gondolas who pretty much are in charge and won’t let you in unless you pay. They took advantage of my friend and he ended paying a lot more. They don’t have change and expect cash. Once you are in the gondola they will take you inside the cave and start singing . This are not professional people or singer. The men in the gondolas demands hefty tips and don’t They are very aggressive and rude.

Thank deyadira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a must do on Capri! We travelled to it by public bus.. not as difficult as it would seem, Other ways or via the boat tours or open top taxis. Just as a guide the bus cost €9 return the taxi is €50 each way. There is a small entrance fee to be paid on admission and the small boats hold 4 people per trip. This is a amazing site to see and i would highly recommend. The area does get busy so just be prepared for a little wait, we only waited 20-30mins so it wasn't bad at all.

Thank henning179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing, water was calm out on the boat

The water in the Grotto and surrounds is an amazing blue different to waters anywhere I have seen

Tour on the boat fantastic

Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wasn’t aware before our tour that the opportunity to visit the Blue Grotto depends greatly on the weather and tides etc I actually thought it was a given that you an always enter it. Fortunately for us, the day we had booked was the first day the Blue Grotto was open in more than a week. I cannot describe how beautiful and amazing this experience was, you’re really treated to the very best from Mother Nature. When you book a tour just check out their policies on what happens if the Grotto is closed.

Thank camcc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

after what seemed like an hour of walking from anicapri we go there only to find it closed!!
not a happy bunny!!
there should be a sign post in Anicapri at the first and only road down saying if open of closed due to weather or tide!!
it would have meant we could have time to visit somewhere else as we were only over for the day!!

Thank stevef12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the itinerary we plan for our Capri boat ride. Thanks for the good weather and we did it !!! From the waiting, go into small boat, lay flat, getting excited, go into the narrow cave entrance, dark inside and finally the fantastic blue reflections inside was amazing !!! We enjoyed ourselves very much for the whole experience. It’s a must do in Capri.

Thank ahamahdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You get in via the small boats that congregate around the small dock next to the grotto. Typically groups of 4 so if you team up with strangers be prepared to lay your head in their lap to get through the small entry. In rough weather (or anything above smooth) the boats don't operate so you can't get in. And inside is where the wonder is. The sun in the afternoon beams through the water creating awesome blue water. The inside is quite large but even so you don't spend too long in there. Still worth a loop.

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

By going late Sept, it was only crowded - not packed.
Caught the bus there, and walked down to the boats - very well organised and quite quick.
Well worth the visit.

Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were lucky to meet 7 people on our ferry ride to the Isle of Capri and decided to chip in together and organise a private boat ride to the blue grotto for 400eu which may seem like a lot of money but between the 9 of us was very reasonable (less than 45eu pp) this included skip the line entry into the blue grotto and a very cool boat ride with great company plus drinks on board. The blue grotto was out of this world. So blue and the canoe drivers were hilarious! Yelling at each other in Italian and singing in Italian in the grotto. It was worth the extra $$. I definitely wouldn’t want to wait 3 hours! You're in the grotto for all of 3-5 minutes we were so lucky we only had to wait 5 minutes or else it would not have been worth it.

Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews