We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food of Our Life!”
Review of Da Gelsomina

Da Gelsomina
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Food of Our Life!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We ate sword fish, chicken, and every course, including dessert. The quality and freshness of the food could not be surpassed. Luigi (our guide from Tours of Capri) called the restaurant and they drove down to pick us up in a teeny vehicle. We went to their organic farm/restaurant. The rest is history- the best food of my life!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    227
    68
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh rustic food with breathtaking view and charming flair”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Unfortunately, we came to Capri on a boat tour and we had 4 hours to get a gist of the island. We chose to skip the mob of tourists in Capri City and went straight to Anacapri. While the shoemaking master Antonio was working on my pair of Capri sandals, we took the shuttle bus up to Da Gelsomina. Note: you need to call the restaurant to have them send the bus to the Piazza Vittorio in Anacapri to pick you up. Taxis will not take you up the narrow roads!
Wow!' was just our natural reaction as we first off the shuttle bus and caught a view of Ischia and the azure sea beyond the restaurant's own vineyards. The view of this place was hands-down breathtaking, even on an overcast and rainy day. We were then taken to a table in the lovely lush garden with a view overlooking the vineyards and towards the sea.
It was a tough choice, but we settled on grilled octopus and insalata Caprese for appetizers, two versions of the homemade local pasta paccheri, creme caramel and torta cioccolata, Capri style. Everything was fresh and rich in flavor. The highlights have to be the perfectly grilled and tender octopus and creme caramel. Actually, I spied the refrigerator of homemade desserts and would have loved to try everything in there! The house wine was simple, but very drinkable. The service was extremely friendly.
In between dishes, we were able to make quick runs to the amazing viewpoint a few steps away from the restaurant and to the 'Philosophers' Garden', which is a rather lofty idea but done with much charm nevertheless.
Overall, this restaurant is definitely worth the extra effort to get there. However, do try to leave more time to enjoy the food, the view and the garden than we did! It would have been great to have time to talk to the waiters, who seem so passionate and proud about their restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Views are simply stunning. Sunset while dinning here is something you won't forget.
Staff is very kind and capable.
Food was also very good: delicious and fresh seppia salad, pasta con provola e speck was al dente and tasty, not salty, and pesce in crosta was well cooked, not dry. All of them one for two people and portions were more than enough, very well presented.

Torta caprese was a nice discovery: not super sweet, really tasty with noccioli.

Good wine list with lots of different choices.


Won't forget and totally recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Passion makes difference!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Location: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
I am professional traveller and I went in so MANY restaurants that I Can tell this is Best of ever!!!!
The owner, Pasquale, knows what to do!
Me and My husband Booked for Window side table and we've got It. We went to See the sunset: you must see!!!!!!! No words!
We had 2 starters + 1 pasta + 2 second fish dishes + 2 sweets (unforgettable sweets). We do Not drink Wine, but we had their extraordinary house Wine (must try if you go there).
120 €... more than honest!!!
The Guys were professional and very kind; They always smile... That is something I really appreciate.
Last but not least: shuttle Service from hotel or Anacapri piazzetta!
Extremely raccomanded!!!!
Siete fantastici!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a lovely meal here the restaurant overlooks the sea simply stunning and the food the best the restaurant is out of the way but if you phone them they will pick you up and return you to your hotel I simply loved it

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gypseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gelsomina also viewed

Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Da Gelsomina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing