We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makis Apartments & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
G.Living 365(Agia Efimia)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Poseidon Apartments(Agia Efimia)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Odyssey Hotel(Agia Efimia)
$320
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greka Ionian Suites(Agia Efimia)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olive Bay Hotel(Agia Efimia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballas Apartments(Agia Efimia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fotini Apartments(Agia Efimia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
33
19
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
19
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleaned every dayfamous myrtos beachgreeceroadsamitavernasislandvillage
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 55 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was my first solo trip to Greece, i visited Kefalonia 8 years ago with my late husband and i always said i would return didn't ever imagine i would be doing this on my own but having stayed with Makis before back when Olympic did package holidays to Agia Efemi i felt i could arrange my own holiday without visiting a travel agent to visit Makis once again. The internet is wonderful!! Flights i booked with Viking airlines out of Bristol, Saturday daytime flights £140 return including baggage, car i pre booked with Europecar who have a desk at the airport and very efficient within 20mins of landing i was on the road, £150 fully insured for a weeks car hire, this was my first time driving alone abroad and i found it really easy, don't fork out for taxi transfers get a car plus it gives you the freedom to travel around during your holiday and there is so many wonderful places to see on Kefalonia. Thanks to the postings on TA i found my way to Agia Efemi with no problems, upon arriving at Makis it felt like coming home, Makis and his wife made me feel so welcome that any doubts i might have had about coming alone were gone. Makis now operates independently and has a wonderful website www.makisapartments.com on which all the apartments are numbered, i stayed in No17 perfectly adequate for a couple, a double bed with aircon, kitchen, bathroom with a view to die for whilst sitting on the loo (if you leave the door open) and the biggest balcony with views to the sea, believe me you won't be spending much time in doors other than sleeping also Makis has wifi which was a bonus. The restaurant at Makis is under refurbishment so not open, the pool bar serves snacks but to be honest i didn't use the pool at all, had a few drinks at the pool bar but visited the tavernas around the harbour which provided a lot more choice for eating out, as a solo traveller that first night was daunting but i was made to feel very welcome, for me Pergola was my favourite just off the harbour past the diving school and also Perasma on the harbour lovely calamari but for a special meal visit Hotel Odyssey a new hotel that has opened recently, owned by relations of Makis this hotel is total luxury i ate there twice, the views out over the pool to the sea were amazing.
If you stay at Makis the sunrise is well worth getting up for i sat on the little beach just to right of Makis 100m up the road turn left at the cemetery go down a dirt track to the beach, in fact i was swimming in the sea at 6.45am in the morning, awesome.
If you have a car drive to Sami and go to Antisamos lovely beach with such clear water and a lovely taverna, this was where alot of the filming for Captain Corelli's Mandolin was done, i thought this beach was nicer than the famous Myrtos beach were the sea was rough with too much black tar on the beach, best view of this beach is from above.
I never thought at the end of my first solo trip to Greece i would be wishing i was staying longer, Makis provided me with a perfect base in Agia Efemi and i couldn't have asked for more, do not hesitate if you are thinking of staying here i assure you just like me you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

The views were breathtaking with the Island of Ithaca just across the bay.
We stayed in apartment 24 overlooking the pool,the staff were very friendly and the cleaners did a brilliant job of keeping the place clean and tidy.
There is air conditioning at an extra charge of 5euros a day (well worth it) temps got to 40degrees while we were there.
Fantastic views across the bays with seas so blue,even bluer than the swimming pool.
The pool was a nice size pool and the water temp in the pool was perfect.
You have two balcony's one front and one back,the back being a little on the small size and the one at the front being a nice large size with table and four chairs.
There is even a wind down blind over the balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Powerpack36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We have been to makis apartments 6 times and we have loved it each time we have been. Makis is so friendly and helpful and his apartments are always very clean and the views from some apartments are truly breathtaking. If you want to see an amazing view you should watch the sunrise which is beautiful !! The village and tavernas are very friendly and the resort is very peaceful and relaxing. To top it off there are little beaches along the road some you can walk to but others are 5-10 minutes drive which are great for snorkeling. If you don't want to stay somewhere which is too commercial and noisy Makis is the place to go and makes you feel part of the greek life.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We stayed in a 1 bed apartment, upstairs (no 22) and it had great views over the pool, towards Ithaca and down towards Agia Efimia harbour. I agree with some of the earlier reviews though that some of the studios probably don't have much of a view, so it's best to check when booking. We booked through astro holidays.

We had a balcony front and back. Apartment was kept very clean and had a decent kitchen area. The pool was lovely to come back to after a day out - there's still no parasols though! The weather was very hot for mid-May, over 30 every day. There's a tiny pebble cove just along the road towards Sami, down the side of the cemetery if you get fed up with the pool!

Makis is on the outskirts of Agia Efimia and is set back from the main road, but far enough away so that you don't really hear the traffic. The centre and harbour restaurants are a 5-10 min walk. There's several supermarkets and a bakery. There is a restaurant at Makis but this hadn't opened when we were there, as it was still early in the season. Our favourite taverna was To Perasma.

We enjoyed a walk to the nearby village of Drakopulata (2km along a minor road just as you reach the harbour). Theres a lot of houses there that were ruined in the earthquake and they were just as good to visit as any you'll find in the guidebooks. Theres also good views back toward Agia Efimia from along the road.

It was lovely just to sit on the balcony and watch the yachts arriving on the harbour in the late afternoon. Certainly a place I'd go back to .

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the apartments in September 2008 for 3 weeks. We had apartment 33 which had a bedroom with balcony overlooking the sea, abedromm/kitchen with 2 bunk beds and another balcony overlooking the side and a smallish bathroom with a great shower. Throughout the stay the apartment was very well cleaned and the towels and linens changed every 4 days. it was a really good stay and with the activity in the small number of houses close to the villa one quickly becomes a part of the small community. Because of the pool the complex does attract other holiday makers from the vicinity although to be honest this never made the pool area too busy and we never had any trouble getting a sun bed. The restaurant was closed throughout our stay although it did look to be a very nice area. We ate at the Finikas which is a 10 minute walk into town and the food was excellent although it was very busy when the yachts were in. Overall we drove over 2000 km during the 3 weeks and the whole island is very beautiful. the only slight downside was having to reverse on to the Argostoli-Lixouri ferry! Lixouri is a great place to visit although it is very quiet and lunch at the Aenos in the main square (pitta) was cheap and delicious. Also worth a visit is the acropolis at Sami - and further along the track is the old church. Dhikalia point - on the same road - is the sight of the film set for Captain Corellis Mandolin and the beach at Assimos is a little further on. A great island. Must visits are also Fiskardo, about 30 minutes drive and Assos (on the way to Fiskardo )and definitely worth the steep drive down.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DerekPMitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews