We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, beautiful location, superb holiday”
Review of Olive Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've just come back from Kefallonia - we absolutely loved the place. The hotel was perfect, incredible value for money in a stunning location. Room very spacious with big balcony overlooking the sea. Everything we needed was already in there... If you're not looking for the bustle, I recommend Agia Effimia. Small and cozy village with restaurants, shops and pebbles beaches... very convenient location to explore the island and Ithaca. Amalia (the hotel manager) is such a lovely girl, very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a great find this hotel is! Thanks to previous Trip Advisor reviewers, we booked Olive Bay for our holiday and were not disappointed.

The Hotel is in a perfect location, beyond the bustle of the harbour front so very peaceful, but still only a few minutes stroll for your evening meal. The rooms are cleaned every day, linen and towels changed at least 3 times during our week there, and the lobby was always spotless, with coffee for guests. Free Wifi and Air Con in your room. Amazing views out across the bay to Sami and the island of Ithaca. You don't feel overlooked at all.

Amalia is the perfect Hotel Host and nothing was too much trouble for her. She was always around if you needed anything, but was very laid back and relaxed - nothing a problem, from borrowing lilos & beach umbrellas to checking out a few hours late - it was all 'no problem'.

If you have never been to Kefalonia, I must highly recommend this town and especially this hotel. It's a perfect base to tour round the island by car - only 20 min drive to Anti-Samos or Myrtos Beach - our 2 favourites. There are also 2 great boat companies in the harbour that hire small boats out to explore by sea too. A must if you want private secluded beaches, only accessible by boat!

All in All, the perfect Hotel for a peaceful stay in a beautiful town on a wonderful Greek Island. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Everything about the hotel was perfect – just returned after a week's holiday in June and would recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday in Kefalonia. Rooms are MASSIVE, the view of the sea from the room is simply incredible, perfect location with easy access to lots of tavernas/shops, just on the edge of the town so its quiet and peaceful. The staff are so friendly and helped us every morning with daily suggestions of where to explore the island. Can’t say enough good things about this wonderful hotel – worth every penny and not one negative comment to share. Thank you for such a great holiday!
Chris and Ada

Room Tip: Request to book a room on the top floor with a sea view - the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisCJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This review is a simple one - the hotel is beautiful, it's small and intimate, and is family run. The hotel is so clean and tidy it looks brand new! We had a gorgeous view of the bay and you're literally 50 yards from the sea front. The air-con was not only brilliant, but there was no extra charge! My gf and I hired a quad, from a place which was just 5 min walk fromthe hotel and explored the island. We came to the conclusion we were in the perfect place in the perfect location! Myrtos beach was 10 min ride away and the local restaurants were very nice! Try 'The Local' restaurant, round the bay from Olive - really friendly and really nice fresh food! If we came back to Kefalonia, we would definitely book the olive bay hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithyl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

An amazingly relaxing holiday made so by Amalia at the Olive Bay Hotel!!..Nothing was too much trouble...she sorted taxis and the room was immaculate!!..Peaceful location but 5 min walk and your in the village ..An excellant resort for a relaxing holiday with plenty of tavernas and enough to keep you busy if you want it....i could go on and on and on about Agia Efimia so if anyone wants to know anything please email me...Please give this lovely place a try ....like us you will be booking to go back before you even get home!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annleeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in The Olive Bay for two nights in June . This is a lovely place to stay with very friendly and helpful staff. There are several good tavernas nearby and the hotel overlooks the sea and harbour. Plenty to do in the village with boat hire available

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The enchanting Olive Bay Hotel/Agia Efimia is memorably wonderful. The absolute best of the resorts here, at any price.

I wanted to have access to the Melissani Cave (talk about paradise!), and was about to book a room at a comparable resort for $160, when I remembered the last time I called my hotel and parking provider to set that up, one of the reps had recommended a very nice hotel a while back that was a bit of an insider secret( they- stay123 - are not even a travel agency, and they are consistently friendly enough to confide these helpful tips; I love that). So I put my reservations on hold and asked if they knew where to go on Kefalonia. He actually called me back and told me about Olive Bay - around $50 for an apartment resort, family-run by the loveliest people- with a kitchen and wow!

Dazzlingly clean, charmingly and freshly furnished, with good air conditioning. All the rooms look out on the bay, and the tavernas, beaches, whatever you can think of to want are a short relaxing walk away. Free, and good, wifi is just one of the unexpected extras. Tranquil quiet is another. I've stayed in Greece before, and been very happy with my accommodations. I have never used the word perfect in any review before, but here I found myself thinking "it's perfect, just couldn't be better". Love.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely; the higher floors have a more panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Efimia
0.3 mi away
Greka Ionian Suites
Greka Ionian Suites
#2 of 6 in Agia Efimia
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Sami
294 reviews
11.3 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
525 reviews
11.3 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Bay Hotel

Address: Agia Efimia, Agia Efimia 280 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Agia Efimia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Price Range: $45 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Olive Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Bay Hotel Agia Efimia, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing