We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Olive Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Certificate of Excellence
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here in September and had a fantastic week, just wished it could have been longer.
Firstly, the hotel is in a great location. Agia Efimia is a very peaceful village and the views from the balcony across to Sami and Ithaca are stunning. There are several excellent tavernas and bars (none of them noisy) all less than 5 minutes stroll away from the hotel.
The rooms themselves are typical Greek studios in layout, but very well equipped, very comfortable and easily the biggest of this type I have stayed in before (even without the balcony). They are also spotlessly clean, in fact the whole hotel was gleaming.
Amalia and the staff certainly work hard to make sure every little detail is taken care of - thank you very much and hope to see you again next year.

P.S. Must also mention boat hire from Kefalonia Travel Office in the harbour. I was a bit apprehensive having never taken a boat out to sea alone before, but 15 mins tuition in the harbour and you're off. What a brilliant day out, cruising up the coast towards Fiskardo and stopping off at all the secluded coves on the way back - unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rjwiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
93
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Excellent position for local amenities with lovely staff who were very helpful The accommodation was very good with all rooms face the beautiful bay. Very close to all the little beaches and tavernas. A lovely library of books available to all guests. Agia Efimia is a lovely resort with very friendly people and we enjoyed our stay enormously. Amalia , was very helpful and each request was sorted for us. The room was very nice and had everything we needed. If I had a any criticism it would be that the mattresses were so hard, however many people may like very firm mattresses. Overall we had a great holiday and loved the position of this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the bay and there is a lift so don't worry about being on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 4 nights there in sept and were pleasantly surprised.
The rooms were spacious, spotless and serviced every day.
This family run hotel, although not on the sea front was central to everything in the village.
Amalia and her mom gave wonderful service and no request or enquiry was too much trouble!
We just loved the quieter position and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury on Thames
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Agia Efimia is the best of the small resorts in Kefalonia. Fiskardo is also very good but smaller and feels more crowded. The Olive Bay Hotel is an apartment hotel and is set back about 150 metres from the sea. The rooms on the first and second floors have very nice sea views. The hotel is family owned and run, and is scrupulously cleaned every day. The apartments are large, comfortable and well equipped and have free reliable wifi. In 30 years of travelling in Greece I have never stayed in a better apartment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and we just love it. It is very central and takes only a minute or two to walk to the beach and restaurants yet it is really quiet and peaceful and surrounded by beautiful hibiscus and other flowering plants in pots. Amalia is lovely and really helpful. It doesn't have a pool but there is a big hotel a monents walk down the road which you can use, so it is ideal We would not stay anywhere else in Agia Efimia having found this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for four nights and the apartments are nicely furnished and spotlessly clean! This is a beautiful family hotel, run with pride and passon...and it shows.....Nothing was to much trouble....the lovely Amelia arranged for us to be picked up from the ferry and supplied us with great info. on the island and a warm smile and welcome. Perfectly located with a lovely small beach a few hundred yards to the left and restaurants the same distance to the right. Free air conditioning and free Wi Fi. A hotel that i rate 10 out 10 and will return to again!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have slightly better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a beautiful hotel!!! a wonderful see at your foots, very nice view from the room, low prices....best beaches near you from Myrthos to Antisamos and Agia Paraskevi , near to the best restaurants in Kefalonia and Agia Efimia.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Efimia
0.4 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greka Ionian Suites
Greka Ionian Suites
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
261 reviews
3.9 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
189 reviews
11.3 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Bay Hotel

Property: Olive Bay Hotel
Address: Agia Efimia, Agia Efimia 280 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Agia Efimia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Olive Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Bay Hotel Agia Efimia, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing