We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a jewel in Greece's crown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Certificate of Excellence
Wallington UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a jewel in Greece's crown”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here in September and the view on the website is what made us book - believe me it is every bit as good if not a million times better.
Our room was at the very top - 146 steps from the bottom to the lift - it does get easier! everything was really clean, modern, breakfast was everything you needed with wide choice (not always the hottest!) Few little finishing touches needed addressing - our balcony paintwork was far from perfect and despite requests it wasn't rectified during our stay.
The pool was lovely - sun beds plenty but this was a quiet time - we never tired of laying looking out over the bay and the plethora of boats coming in and out - including the little yellow boats you can hire - on our list for next year! Every member of staff we encountered could not do enough for you. as others have commented George was everywhere, but helpful must be his middle name. At the end of each day, sitting on our spacious balcony with a G&T sundowner was just perfection before strolling down for dinner - didn't have to go far to a lovely taverna just underneath the hotel (perfect for lunch Mythos!)
There are plenty of lovely tavernas in the pretty harbour of Agia and it is a yachters paradise.
Very good location for exploring other parts of the island but there are many places still to visit when we return to Kefalonia next year (flights booked today!!!!)

Room Tip: not for the faint hearted but a suite at the top is a must for uninterrupted views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    75
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
61
170
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed in Villa Artemis for 2 weeks in June, this is 2nd row up an the island rather than hotel side. It is lovely but there is an adjoining villa and pool (this is literally 2 feet from your own pool) perfect for the first week but then a very, and i do mean very loud family moved next door and shattered the peace. They seemed to need to shout every conversation and the child was, shall we say, unpleasant. I would have preferred the one bedroom villas which I would have thought for couples only, to be child free. There ia a way to avoid this by booking the bottom villa, I think called Athina which is also a one bedroom.
the hotel is lovely, smart, clean but, sadly, soul-less.We never drank in the hotel bar which is in the lobby and spoke to others who said they tried it once but gave up as they felt they had to whisper!
the food at breakfast was lovely with lots of variety and the waitress was immensely hardworking and very pleasant. It was very waspy though and as only June I dread to think what August/September would be like. We tried to dine on one occasion but the restuarant had nothing on the menu available, very very poor in the evenings I'm afraid. The staff really do make all the niggles bearable though, Cassie on reception and the wonderful George are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. be warned, as others have said it it very steep, up to and around the hotel! If you are not fit you will struggle, and there is a 15 minute walk into the village but on a lovely paved and lit road along the coast. We loved it here, and we love Ag Efim but I'm not sure we'll be back when we get older, think the exercise might finish us off!

Room Tip: Have a villa with pool if you can, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandlbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here for 11 blissful nights and wonderful days from 12th September. Putting aside for one moment the breathtaking views, the well planned accommodation, stunning pool and fabulous food, for us it was the people who made this such a memorable and enjoyable stay. Though few in number, the ever friendly staff were everywhere doing the absolute best to make your stay perfect, and no matter what the request, nothing was too much trouble, efficient advice dispatched with charm and a smile. From Cassie and GwGw at reception, the lovely Olga our friendly personal waitress, Elena, Marion and Bobby and the unforgettable George, who must have two doubles the amount of different places he popped up, both at the hotel and In the Village!
Our room at the top, although a climb that became easier through the stay, afforded the picture perfect view of the beautiful bay, was always clean, with a good standard of fixtures and fittings - a courtesy wardrobe light, glass hand basin and free safe noteworthy features. The balcony big enough to lounge around, dry swim gear and sip the all important 6.00 PM glass of vino!
We booked on half board basis, and remain mystified why more people didn't. Imagine THAT view as the sun sets, dining at a private table, three courses from the petite but delicious menu, until you cannot accept even a wafer thin mint. But the clever idea is simply to swap a dinner for lunch, even for a packed lunch if you are touring around or hitting the beach ( On which point, pebble coves close to the hotel are perfect for romantic sea gazing and snorkelling while for more sunbathing and atmosphere anti Samos was for us head and shoulders over myrtos beach )
The little touches make the holiday stand out, so first class recommendation for the mini tapas plate given to you when you order an afternoon poolside beer, equally the abundant free teas coffee and milk, and the rapidly replenished fresh breakfast contents (spinach and feta parcels my particular fave).
You can find plenty of advice and warm recommendations for what is in the Village on trip advisor so I'll limit to two things; a must do is the yellow boat day hire where you pack up a lunch set sail and discover hidden bays and beaches as captain of your own ship! And the Greek dancing night at Staki is a chance to glimpse real greek culture and apply the analogy "When in Kefalonia..."
There is no doubt we will return to this hotel, where the staff became friends and as a footnote, I would add that we met with the owners, who were extremely pleasant and very helpful when we had our own mini emergency. for peace, tranquility and pleasurable bliss, with a side order of cardio vascular exercise this place is really great...enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael247365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Kefalonia Bay Palace is a place I cannot wait to return too! My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was everything we wanted. The staff upgraded our room to a two bedroom suite for no extra charge and it was perfect! The views from the infinity pool made us feel as if we were on the edge of the world! Cassie at the front desk got everything arranged for us, including someone to pick us up from the airport and how to make our ferry connection. The hill up to the hotel is steep but more than worth it. The rooms were wonderful and beds comfortable. Also the homemade moussaka was excellent. On a side note I would check out the melissini caves. It was the reason we went to the island and it was worth it. I cannot wait to come back some day!!!!!

Room Tip: Splurge a little and go for a suite or villa. The private infinity pool makes it more than worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schmoo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in the Bay Palace for a week from the 21st September and it was perfect. From the second we arrived we were made to feel like lost friends by all the staff especially cassie on reception and George! As it was our first time in Kefalonia and we wanted to explore the island we booked a room which was of good size and cleaned everyday.. yes there are steps but the views are more than worth it! The hotel was ideal for us as we liked to walk into town in the evening, eat and drink well then burn it off whilst having a chat on the way back! Just outside of the hotel is a small pebbly beach, perfect for snorkelling or just doing nothing. As we stayed later on in the year it was quiet but Id imagine in the summer months it could get quite crowded. We didn't use the main pool (although it looked lovely) as the sea is clearer than you could ever imagine and we were out and about most days.

For the last 2 days we upgraded into the Athina villa with pool as we felt we deserved it after 5 days of non stop exploring.. the villa was lovely, its by no means a boutique cosmopolitan hotel but you are in Greece not New York. The upgrade was a lot cheaper to do when there rather than booking before you go although there are only 6 villas with pools so its a chance you have to take! The only downside is that the Athina villa is located right outside reception and so you do feel slightly in a goldfish bowl, maybe some privacy glass around the sides would stop this but you do get used to it. The pool was lovely and deep and fitted two lilos (with beer holders) easily!
Also with the Athina there is an ajoining door to the room beside it making it one large villa I guess. Because of this the pools seem close.. it was by no means a "private" pool however you do get unobstructed views of both sides of the bay and so I wasn't complaining!

We didn't eat at the hotel as the selection of food in the main town was to tempting however breakfast was always good with a great selection.

The Bay Palace is an excellent hotel and we did look at the others during our stay but will return to the Palace next year .. and the year after.. and the year after.......!
( I could talk forever about Kefalonia and the places we visited but wanted this review to be about the hotel.. more than happy to answer any questions about it)

Room Tip: There are steps, lots of steps but its worth it. all the rooms have amazing views! If booking a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CupcakeKisses80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Berkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed at the Kefalonia Bay Palace for a week in Sept 2013 and all I can say is WOW!

The hotel is at the far end of Agia Effimia and has the most beautiful views over the bay from all rooms. We were welcomed warmly by Cassie on reception and George took us up the steep hill to our room- 403 which was right at the top. Not for the faint hearted with the steps you need to climb but there is a lift for part of the journey up.
The rooms are well equipped and the beds very comfortable. You also have robe and slippers which is a nice touch. The best thing about the rooms are the views which are breathtakingly beautiful.
We stayed on a B&B basis which I would recommend as opposed to half board as there are some really fantastic and reasonably priced restaurants a short walk away. Breakfast at the hotel was really delicious and there is plenty of it with something to suit all tastes. I can highly recommend the pancakes and honey!! We did eat at the hotel restaurant one evening and the food is very good but the selection of restaurants locally took us out every evening.

Overall, the hotel is lovely and the staff really make it. Everyone is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Cassie and Georgia on reception are fantastic and a real credit to the hotel as they provide such a warm welcome that remains throughout your stay. George seems to pop up everywhere and is really warm and friendly guy. Marios at the pool bar gave us lots of tips of where to go on the island too. The people on the island are so warm and friendly and this has really made the holiday for us.
It may not be the best hotel if mobility is an issue due to the hill and steps but the views are truly amazing. Try Spiros and Steki restaurants for great food and hospitality and Gialos bar for happy hour with great views of the harbour and some beautiful boats.
Must visit places for us were Antisamos beach where the water is clear and calm and good for swimming and the beach bars offer some great Greek food. Myrtos beach is a real spectacle from above and a nice beach but you have to pay 7 euro for 2 sunbeds and shade where on Antisamos they are free to customers of the beach bars.
Assos is the most beautiful place and we would highly recommend a visit. Definitely hire a car as there is so much to see and do and it would be a real shame to not go and explore this island fully. Driving is fine and places signposted well.

The only downsides to our trip apart from having to come home were the wasps!! Not a problem in the evening but there does seem to be an abundance of them wherever food and drink are around during the day.

Truly wonderful and romantic destination that we would thoroughly recommend. Cannot wait to return!! Thanks to the Kefalonia Bay Hotel team for such a wonderful holiday :-)

Room Tip: Junior suites all have great views but but staying lower down you are closer to reception and restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sb74WestBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on 12th Sept for 2 weeks. Transfer from Airport approx 1 hour. The Room wasn't ready for another hour when we arrived, so offered complementary drinks at the bar while we waited. Felt chilled already...

We stayed in a 1 room villa with pool (Calypso). Room slightly smaller than expected as it stated is could be used for 3 adults, but it was very clean. This villa also has an adjoining door to a standard room, which didn't help with the soundproofing.The second week we had the use of this room to make it a 2 bed villa.

Overall:
Pro's - Stunning Views / Clean / Peaceful / Close to the Village / Very helpful staff - especially Kassi on Reception and George (the Bellboy, Electrician, Gardener, Pool Cleaner, Waiter etc...) / We also used a taxi to go around the island. Demitris was excellent and was arranged by the Hotel. He spoke good English, acted as a tour guide and was happy to negotiate on price.

Con's - Loads of steps. Don't book this hotel if you cannot manage steps and then moan about them! (On the positive side they do help walk off the food and drink you've consumed in the bars and restaurants in the Village).

Looking forward to going back.............

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Efimia
17.8 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
278 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
782 reviews
11.1 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
476 reviews
14.6 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kefalonia Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefalonia Bay Palace

Property: Kefalonia Bay Palace
Address: Agia Efimia 28081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Agia Efimia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kefalonia Bay Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kefalonia Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalonia Bay Palace Hotel Agia Efimia
Kefalonia Bay Palace Agia Efimia, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing