We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly family run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A great base to get out and explore the island, if you wanted to or relax round the pool. What really made this hotel stand out however was the service you get from the family owners and in particular Mimi. They did everything they could to make you feel welcome and that friendly atmosphere continued with all the guests who all seems to interact really well with one another, This must contribute to why so many people return to this hotel. We found the food was good with a nice pool bar and decent pool. Tony from Coventry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    248
    100
    38
    35
See reviews for
265
373
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great little family run hotel, with staff who make you feel very at home, i feel that this service really makes a difference to your holiday. Food was excellent with ample choice at all meal times. Everywhere kept very clean and tidy. Good sized pool, and plenty of loungers. Lovely view across the mountains and sea from this hotel. The village of Afandou is a ten minute walk, from there you can get a bus to get you around if you want to venture about. We would definitely consider a return visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alison y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent family hotel. The owners could not do enough for me ,especially when I asked to change my room as the original one was directly above reception and very noisy. Very clean and tidy.

Excellent swimming pool. Very large and quite clean. Plenty of room around the pool for sunbathing. No shortage of sun loungers. Also a childrens pool which was fairly large.

About a ten minute walk to the village of Afandou, where there is everything you need. Chemist,supermarkets,bars etc.

Only draw back is the walk up the famous HILL, back to the hotel. But this does help to keep you in reasonable shape.

All in all I would definitely go back there for another holiday.

Simon from Oldham. UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our 5th time here at rodos star and as usual we had a fantastic time.We
are always made welcome and feel like one of the family The rooms have been refurbished and are looking lovely.The food we cannot fault it is so tasty and there is something for everybody.Tassos and Moschoula will do anything for you and its never to much trouble.It was lovely to see that mimi nik and the cleaning ladies were still there.It is a real home from home hotel.Of course we didnt want to leave so we are booking 2 weeks for next year .The hill is a bit of a hike but after a few times you soon get used to it ,if not you can always get a taxi up.Looking
forward to seeing everybody again next year and thanks again to Tassos and Moschoula for making our stay enjoyable. Julia and Christine

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank juleschris61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned back from the Rodos Star Hotel on June 16th and had the most wonderful holiday experience in a real Greek family owned and run hotel. We went to Greece last year and stopped at a 5* hotel in the Ixia area and it wasn't a patch on the Rodos Star Hotel - Rooms reburbished and clean and still undergoing small up grades in a controlled manner.
From the moment we walked into the hotel we were greeted by Moschoula and we instantly knew we had made the correct choice. Nothing was too much and the staff who work there were happy and welcoming at all times which made the whole experience so memorable and felt more like stopping with family rather than being in a hotel.

The Food and Service - Comparable with Greek 5* quality and choice with something for everyone. It was my birthday the week we were staying and I would like to thank you for the surprise Birthday cake and card - It was just the finishing touch to such a wonderful weeks stay.

Massive thanks to the staff - the lovely Mimi, Sevastis, Alin, Sotirls, Stavros, Lordanis and Nic for such a personal and memorable stay.

The hotel is a credit to Tasos and his family who really care about your stay and we will definitely going back soon. Mr Nicholas the head of the family was a real star with real charm and warmth including his persistence in trying to teach the wife traditional Greek dancing.

Thanks so much for the hospitality and see you all soon again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor with fantastic views over the coast line of Afandou beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inbetweeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is my third visit to this lovely hotel .First time with my daughter ,second time with my husband and parents third time eleven members of my family.age between 11 and 64 .Each time it has been a perfect stay .Food is excellent good choice. Rooms are beening referbed .My room was on top floor as requested 301 ,302 and 303 are lovely too.This hotel is typical greek which is why i love it ,small family run .We will be returning next year .Tasos and his family make the hotel and go out of their way to make sure your stay is a happy one

Room Tip: rooms on top floor are great for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rachelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I`ve just come back from a week at the Rodos Star and am all ready thinking about going back ....... originally it wasnt the hotel of my choice but we booked it anyway and are so glad we did Yes its on a hilltop with a steep climb from the village yes it only a 3 star hotel so its hasnt got hot and cold running everything that you get at a 5 star hotel but what it has got is far better or at least i think so , and thats warm friendly helpful happy who go out of there way to make sure your time there is enjoyable

This is the ideal place to go if your looking for a relaxing break from the world its so easy to lay back and forget it and the days seem to last a week its a traditional family run hotel that sits above a traditional greek village that has been un spoilt by the tourist machine that so often ruins the rustic greek village feel so if you want to party all night or splash around in water parks with the kids then i would say find somewhere else as this isnt for you

But if you want to lay back and relax then its perfect to lay by the pool being scorched by the sun or an ideal base to hire something and explore the island knowing when you return at whatever time there will always be a smiling friendly face waiting then its the ideal place for it

And the trek down the hill and back up is well worth it to the village especially if you visit the bakery which has shelves full of cakes that simply melt in the mouth

All in all this was everything i was looking for and look forward to returning to the Rodos Star again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank speedy155v6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
9.1 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#28 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
2.7 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
9.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dessole Lippia Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Property: Rodos Star Hotel
Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#3 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing