We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in September 12. Overall had a great holiday. Staff were extremely welcoming and very friendly and helpful. We were greeted by a fairly steep hill upon arrival but once we'd walked up and down the hill a couple of times we soon got used to it despite me being very unfit. Afantou town was very nice and a five minute walk from hotel. Also the bus was available to Rhodes town and the other way to lindos from the town. The Beach was a bit further but still just about in walking distance. Food was very nice with lots of selection. Room was also good with nice views over afantou town particularly at night. I can see why the hotel has many returning guests. Overall a great value holiday and if my wife and I go back to Rhodes in the future we will certainly consider Rodos Star again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyMusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    227
    92
    36
    32
See reviews for
228
345
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

just got round to writing my review, we stayed for 2 weeks 23rd may to 7th june, what a fantastic time we had! best holiday in a long time, firstly the staff are amazing from the management to the cleaning ladies, nick & addy in the bars were brilliant, mimi & joanna in the restaurant were amazing & tassos & muschoyla were so professional nothing was too much trouble for any of them, we were made so welcome, the food was good plenty of choice, loved the pool, our room was fine with great views, the hill was ok if you didnt tackle it in the midday sun, we met some fantastic people who we have remained friends with & i think this is because of the friendly vibes resonating round this hotel, everyone just clicked due i think to the relaxed atmosphere & friendly welcome, keep up the good work we will definitely return

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoMc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We decided to take a late holiday in Rhodes (first time) and chose Rodos Star in Afandou. We had a warm welcome and the all staff were so friendly and helpful we soon settled in for what proved to be a terrific week. The restaurant provided a varied mixture of food with a daily changing choice of menu. The food catered for all tastes English, Greek (with Italian some days) and a barbecue night in the pool bar. The room was comfortable and clean and the maid service efficient. We came late in the season and so chose not to pay extra for air conditioning, (which is normal in Greece) and this would be necessary in high season. In the evenings the terrace was a great place to sit and have a drink and the barmen made sure we were entertained. There is a short steep hill between the hotel and the village, but this is no big deal and we glad of the exercise. Next time we would probably hire a car to tour the island and the hotel offered car hire at attractive prices. Altogether, a great place to stay and we will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

we have stayed at the Rodos Star 4 years running now and we love it. the staff are a really friednly family who cannot do enough for you. there is a lovely bar facility inside and out and is perfect for a chilled out day by the pool. we have enjoyed ourselves more and more each time we have stayed at the Rodos Star especially Tasos who will bend over backwards for each individual guest to ensure they are satisfied and pleased with their stay. i would really advise people to stay at this hotel if they are looking for a relaxing family or couples holiday.

Gaynor+Louisa

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mingebag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great holiday, lovely pool area, food great, rooms a little basic but only used to sleep in!
What really makes this budget holiday extra special is the staff, nothing is too much trouble and they really are a credit to the hotel.
There's a steep hill to get to the hotel so not ideal for families or elderly but have a few drinks in the local village and the hill is fine!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ecogill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Don't confuse a good holiday and a poor hotel as being the same. The people staying at the same time were thrust together by our experience of the hotel. Because of that we had a great holiday. However the hotel is what I am here to discuss not the company or friends we made:

To say I am disappointed is an understatement. Firstly we are set up a very steep hill away from Afandous. We knew there was a hill but there is no courtesy bus and few taxis too!
The beach is mainly shingle/pebble and is about 2 miles away-too far for most of the visitors to get to.

This is an all inclusive hotel but there are no snacks available out of meal times. Food appears reheated at the next sitting. For example the one night moussaka was on the menu, the next lunch it manifested into a dried out brick by the same name!

The only entertainment consists of a sun heated pool - its great - as well a pool table. That's it!
In fairness the staff are great, but ladies, beware there is one lecherous object you might need to fight off.

The rooms are poor quality and very basic to say the least. Ours and the people we spoke with had tails of aged muck. We have photos of black mould festering in the rooms as well as power sockets hanging off the walls with wires showing. We even had a huge hold above the bathroom door!!

To sum up I would say stay at home if this is the only place you can afford. It's not worth your money. And don't believe the brochure hype of sales tactics it's anything like the place decent people would stay. I think it should rate 2 hotel stars max and that's out of courtesy to the staff.

Room Tip: I would avoid this hotel and the tour operator and their staff were fully aware of the problems but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sthyorksguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were given the keys to our room which was dirty and unmade. we then had to sit for an hour in the heat after travelling through the night while our room was cleaned for us. We then had to pay €70 extra for air con in our room which didnt work properly and could only be switched on while you were staying in the room. we ordered a family room but it wasn't fit for one person to move through. the swimming pool was very dirty, the filter must have been broken and there were small fish insects swimming in it. the manager is very rude and threatened to call the police on me and my friends for being loud. there isn't anything for children to do or for teenagers especially at night when the pool is closed. the food was grand. the best thing about the hotel were the bar staff who are lovely and provide great service even though they are over worked and under paid!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Courts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.8 mi away
Georgia Apartments
Georgia Apartments
#4 of 19 in Afandou
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
17.0 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lardos
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#12 of 14 in Kallithea
3.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#11 of 31 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
9.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
9.1 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#27 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Property: Rodos Star Hotel
Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 85103, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#4 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing