We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little hotel”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is a nice hotel, nothing special but good for the money you pay.

I wouldn't reccomemd this hotel if you don't like walking, the hill is nicknamed cardiac hill and for very good reason!

The food is nice and always something you can eat, if you have kids they will cook chicken nuggets for them, however the drink is not strong and if you want to get drunk, start at 10am and beware that they stop the all inclusive at 11 and you have to paid for the crap then.

The staff are ok, not the friendist in the world but ok. The Greek people in the town are the nicest people you will ever meet and the alpha bar is the best ever, there is nothing to much for them and I would really recommend this bar to anyone! The drink is cheap and good as well.

If you want to eat out go to sergios, it was the best meal I ever had and cheap as chips!

The beach was a bit of a treck but it's beautiful, take flip flops because the stones will hurt your feet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kconway02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    252
    103
    38
    35
See reviews for
267
385
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Well this was the first holiday with my boyfriend and i was a little nervous as i haddnt heard good things about greece.. and when we landed on our coach to the hotell i could see why!!

HOWEVERRR!! Rodos Star was amazing!! the hotel was clean and the rooms were cleaned everyday. The owner and the rest of the guys that worked there were so friendly and welcoming!

we went for a quiet relaxing week and its deffo what we got. its up the hill! and it is steep but not long atall... unless you walked up it in mid day where it took like forever to get up (when you've had a drink you seem to get up it in no time atall)

the village is litrally 5 maybe 10 mins walk away from the hotel if not theres a bar just at the bottom of the hill.. everybody in the town was so friendly

the food in the hotel was great and deffo plenty of it! my boyfriend doesnt like many foods yet he always managed to get stuffed!!
the Drinks were alcoholic and non alcoholic. alcoholic wern't vert strong so you could drink vodka or cocktails all day, however the wine would go straight to your head

...if i was ever to go back to greece i would deffo go back here! i felt asthou we had robbed them it was so cheap and you got so much for your money!! it was great!! thankss!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _Katiiiieeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have just got back from a week at this lovely hotel. All the staff were so friendly and happy, we were totally made to feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble and when we asked to move rooms to a quieter part of the hotel, they did this straight away with a smile (this is not a noisy hotel, but we were right up above reception and the pool table area). The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. The pool was in a lovely position. The beach was about a 15 minute walk away, but a bit longer on the way back as you need to walk back up the hill. I have read a lot of people moaning about the hill, but to be honest.. I don't think it is the hill that is the problem, it's walking up it in the heat which we are not used to! We did not find it a problem at all. The village is about 5 minutes away and is lovely. Visit Sergio's in the village if you decide to have a night away from the hotel. The rooms are hot if you do not pay for the aircon, but to be honest we were mostly outside by the pool or in the bar. Excellent value for money. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so great :)

Room Tip: When we moved to the bottom floor, we found it much cooler. Ask for one on the bottom floor near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a small, family run hotel where you certainly get personalised service. Nothing was too much trouble - even arranging things with other people not connected with the hotel. The room was as one would expect from a three star hotel, but to be honest, we weren't in it that often - either sunning ourselves or socialising. The communal areas were nicely appointed and benefitted from a warm friendly atmosphere. We went at the beginning of the season and the whole experience was very relaxing. If you want nightclubs and the high life, or have teenage children this is probably not for you.

There has been much mention of the hill walk leading to the hotel. Yes it is steep, but it isn't Mount Everest either. The beach is a leisurely 20 minute walk (a bit longer on the way back!), and the village centre is less than 10 mins away. The views are spectacular, and the quietness alone makes this hotel a winner.

Room Tip: I recommend a room at the front of the hotel, above the bar. Excellent views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

some people just like to moan! we were at the rodos star last year and had a great time the food was basic but tasty the rooms were clean and the staff were great. Yes there is a steep hill but you were warned about it before you went. Dont know why you would need a snack bar when you can eat as much as you want at meal times. If you want to go 5 star then you have to pay for it if you want cheap and cheerful this is the hotel for you. We are going back this year for 2 weeks and cant wait!!!

Room Tip: pick the top floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ali t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Donna and Lee from Sheffield stayed at this wonderful hotel in June 2012. We have travelled far and wide and can honestly say that we have never been greeted like we were on our arrival. Moscha, the sister of the Hotel owner, spoke excellent english and explained fully everything we needed to know.Moscha personally escorted us to our room and explained the charges for the airconditionong and safe. We immediately arranged that as we were on the top floor and our room had the sun all day. Room 316 was basic but clean and had a wonderful view of Afandou. To our amazement towels were changed daily and the room cleaned daily. We cannot find fault at all !!. As for the food it was of good quality and variety. Cooked well and tasty. Full breakfast selection followed by lunch and evening meal. All buffet style and well presented. As highlighted in the brochure all inclusive drinks and good choice of alcoholic drinks including a cocktail menu with constant soft drinks,tea and coffee all day. Not much of evening entertainment but not missed or really needed as entertainment was provided by guests which are more like family members of the hotel owners!!. Most of the guests there during our stay are avid returning guests, some having stayed at Rodas for 7 years plus(the lovely Andy and Lynn, Mike and co etc) who we can now call our friends. As for the Hill....... if i .... a 42 year old woman in my prime can walk down this hill sobor in 6 inch heels and stagger back up it a little tipsy then dont let other reviews put you off ...its a breeze!!!. As for nights out we chose to eat out two nights as England were playing in the European championships and if you choose to go for a walk into Afandou village we reccomend Four Seasons Restuarant and Sergios Restuarant( for mouth wateringly good pizza ) cooked in a traditional open clay oven, (just order small as large will not fit on the table haha). All the staff at Rodas are friendly and caring to your needs. Nothing is too much trouble. I usually get upset when i have to come home but i have never had the hotel owner hug me and cry that we were leaving and then get on the coach and give me a final hug. I thought i was going to have to make up the spare bed at home as Moscha nearly forgot to get off the coach as we were departing the hotel haha !! All in all me and Lee had a fabulous holiday at the Rodas Star Hotel. We plan to return and have told many friends and our family how they would have a thoroughly enjoyable holiday like we did should they choose to book a holiday here aswell. Thankyou to Moscha and Tasos for running such a lovely family run hotel and making our holiday so memorable. xx

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiter but airconditionong would be a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just returned with the Wife and my 15 year old son from a quality 2 week break at the Rodos Star. I will get the slightly disappointing beginning and end out of the way first as its important to focus on the positivies that the hotel does well.

Upon arrival, we were placed in the B&B that the owners brother owns over the road. Initially, it was said that this may have been for a full week! (if was effectively due to overbooking) but in the end, i managed to communicate well with the owner and we were moved to a good room in the Rodos Star itself after a couple of nights. Whilst the other facility was fine, its not what we expected nor paid for and whilst it was tempting to create a much bigger fuss, my wife managed to convince me to play it cool and in the end, talking calmly with the owner whilst expressing my disappointment rationally did the trick. To be fair, we got 2 free nights air con (7 euros per night) so all was then well.

The end of the trip (the last 3 days at least) were a bit of a nightmare due to insect problems (i will refer from using the word but it starts in C and ends in roach!)...it really was bordering on out of control and i do not buy all this "it is a big problem in Rhodes...there is not much we can do"..i have stayed in worse accomodation elsewhere and never had the problem to this magnitude...they were everywhere and lots of guests had issues and i did feel that the management of the problem could have been better and more robust....some guests were told to hit them with their flipflop!

In the end, we had to purchase some spray and the owner covered up the bathroom drain (the most popular place apparently that they get in). It did seem to me that there should have been a greater urgency as something had clearly suddenly changed as for the first 10 days, nobody had any issues so i can only speculate whether there was a decline in maintainence programs with insecticide etc...something defintely caused it to flare up quickly and i hope that the Management team get it under control quickly otherwise more damning reviews are sure to follow i am sure and that would not give a true reflection on the really good things the hotel does well.

The real positives and to be fair, the things to focus on were the staff, the food and the owner.....

The staff are simply superb. Nick & Ady were trojans in the bar (Ady especially in the pool bar) and the two waitresses were simply superb. Always polite, attentive and super efficient. The whole team works really hard and i hope Tassos & Moshka continue to appreciate just what a hardworking and loyal team they have.

The food was especially good. All freshly cooked and preparted, good variety, very tasty and lots of it. The Banana ice cream was something else!...all in all, we never had a bad meal and were very pleased with the quality of the food. Only the caribbean could compare with other All Inclusive meals we have had...it really was that good!

Tassos the owner has a real gift in Customer Service..he takes an interest in all the guests and even the issues mentioned above were dealt with pretty well. He was very friendly and approachable and seemed popular with his staff. He was especially proud to place the Trip Advisor 4* plaque on the wall whilst we were there and it goes without saying that he takes real pride in customer service and ensuring that his guests are enjoying themselves.

Moshka is also very good. Very friendly and attentive and keen to help. If i had one minor observation, it was that Moshka was a little inconsistent in how she treated guests. This was most evident in that she allowed some guests to visit the bars straight out of the pool wet but would take to task other guests asking them to dry off first...a little petty thing perhaps but something that was noticed by a few guests and commented on.....i guess you could say that she had her "favourites" but nothing to be too concerned about but nonetheless, a tad frustrating.

The bar at night was fine if you could get a table outside. The air con in the bar itself was only on infrequently and it was a bit too hot and uncomfortable to be honest..it might be an idea to look into extending the outdoor seating facility as there were only limited spaces that were much sought after. The downstairs toilets in the bar were also pretty poor with quite a strong sewage smell apparent throughout the majority of the stay. This smell worked its way upstairs and affected usage of the pool table and the internet.
The entertainment is limited but we knew that before we went and whilst the hotel is small enough for people to mix well and create new friendships. We tend to keep ourselves to ourselves and that was fine too. It does get a little grating drinking the same old things day after day in the same place but hey ho thats AI for you.

The Hill is really not as bad as people portray it...we walked it several times without issue..yes its steep but it makes the drink at the end taste all the more sweeter!

Afandou itself is a little tired to be honest. Its like it tries to cater for the tourism market but there were lots of places closed and run down which i suppose is to be expected in light of the continuing euro/greek/austerity issues. That said, we did enjoy two very good meals at Sergios pizza restaurant and enjoyed 3 very good nights in the Acapulco bar owned by two brothers who continually referred to each other as "fat boy" and were fantastic hosts.

In terms of things to do in Rhodes itself, we hired a car for three days (from Tassos by the way..cheaper than any rep and just as safe and reliable) and went to Lindos (so good we went again the second time on the bus which was perfectly fine), Tsambika beach (which was brilliant) and Rhodes Old town (my personal favourite..a fabulous place if you stick to the old town).

Other things of note were the water park which is really good and Faliraki during the day (we were not brave enough not to mention too old to venture there at night time)!

All in all, for the money we paid, it was very good value. The views were fab from the hotel, the food was great, the greek people as a whole are so welcoming and sincere. I would recommend the Rodos Star as a quality hotel offering excellent value for money. I just hope that Tassos and his team do not get complacent and continue to improve the facility and appreciate the staff that they have.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
9.1 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
9.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dessole Lippia Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Property: Rodos Star Hotel
Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#3 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing