We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
231
61
37
25
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
231
61
37
25
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star hotel next year air con self catering exploring rhodes friendly village greek village the ritz typical greek large supermarket week holiday afandou beach yiannis greece euros faliraki sunbeds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 385 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

The owners of the hotel were really nice people and honestly do their best but there is only so much they can do. The noise in the street throughout the night was the last straw.

We expected two star but this didn't meet even that. We relocated ourselves part way through the week to another two star apartment that was markedly better, cleaner, tidier and better cared for.

This perhaps sums things up:

A pre winter holiday we did seek
We fancied something slightly Greek
We packed our bags off to Rhodes
Where sea and sun always abodes

Hotel from airport wasn't too far
But hotel itself was only two star
Two small beds and a kitchenette too
But as with Greece don't flush the loo!

Breakfast included our booking did say
But only one item, for more you'll pay!
We have internet and aircon just for you
For more Euros of fifteen and forty-two

The town of Afantou tries its best
With its places to drink, eat and digest
The food and drink is incredibly nice
And not that much, a reasonable price

Motorbikes and scooters continually fly by
It's now 2am and they still won't die!
Those noisy bastards just grind you down
Let me out of this awful town

We've seen some beautiful towns and incredible places
Rhodes is fantastic - the island is aces
We've seen it now and had our fun
With superb weather, almost constant sun

As our pre winter break comes to an end
We're somewhat glad, we can't pretend
Would we come back, the answer is No
There's much better places to spend our dough.

Room tip: If you must stay, don't be on the side the road is on!
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Rooms basic with a nice pool area good for 2*hotel.

BUT........returning to the hotel on 10th night of our holiday at 10.30pm we brought a drink at the bar (we are a couple in our 60s) went to sit down and realised all tables were full except 3 or 4 tables which had reserve on them. We sat down on the edge of them with our drinks. Waiter came running over and said Up Up you cannot sit there, so we went and sat on a sofa in reception which was very hot due to no air con.
My husband then approached the manager behind the bar and said it seemed unfair to be saving tables for people when we were guests too. The manager just shouted I CAN DO WHAT I LIKE ITS MY HOTEL with that my husband came and sat back on the sofa. Next minute he was there shouting prodding shoving. My husband stood up and said do not touch me. Manager started screaming you have 5 min to get out of my hotel We went to pack.

My husband came down to get Reps number and police were there. Again the manager started shoving and prodding my husband. The police warned manager not to touch him.
Police then came to the room. They told us to pay our bar bill 7euros but do not pay air con but to return tomorrow with our Rep. It was a mistake letting police leave but they assured me that he would not now start again.

Basically when we tried to leave the hotel paying just our bar bill we ending up having to pay air con as well as manager totally lost it. Guest were having to restrain him and pushing him into a room.

As with that we had, a wonderful last 5 days made some very nice friends Greek and many people who were staying at the Golden Days Thank you for you support.

We will be returning to Afandou as we love the village and we met many people whom have return for many times and would like to meet them again. xxx


Go to TripAdvisor | Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
22  Thank ANNA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Accepted it was a 2 star basic hotel but it was the disgusting attitude and bullying behaviour of the manager/ proprietor. He was completely dismissive that our air con was not working, never offered a solution or bothered to check if it was resolved and then had the cheek to insist on us paying for it having not used it. When we went to book out he was very aggressive and said he would not let us leave until we paid. We had no choice and if we had not got a plane to catch and plenty of time we would have called the police! we felt very threatened and unsafe with his violent behavior. Olympic Holidays having received our comprehensive complaint only sent us a standard dismissive reply. We will not book with them again. And warn other people!!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Oh my god ! The rooms are the most basic rooms I have ever seen in my life! One plug by the bathroom door ( no use what's so ever) The view from our room was a bush!! It was like the day of the tryphids! We had cockroaches in and outside our room! On the the plus side the staff were lovely, we met some great people who we still keep intouch with. And believe it or not we had a brilliant holiday! !!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5  Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend arrived here with no expectations - we just wanted a cheap holiday in the sun. The hotel, while basic, is brilliant craic. Yiannis, Maki and Jimmy are always on hand and can't do enough for you. We were so sad to leave.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews