We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply great”
Review of Golden Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Days Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“simply great”
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My wife and i had the pleasure of staying at Golden Days hotel this september. All the rooms are typical greek with all the extras you need including air con, a small kitchenette and are kept spotless. All the staff including the manager go out of there way to make your stay enjoyable including an english lady on reception. The entertainment on twice weekly was the funnyest thing we have seen in a long time ( Lambros & Carol). The hotel is on the main street at the begining of a very beutiful and friendly village. The little train picks up evey 20 mins or so right outside, to take you to the beach- -a great hit with the kids-- whitch is a fair way away when its hot. The food, from english breakfast to typical greek was out of this world. 10 out of 10. And top marks to ALL staff. We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayden020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    55
    26
    19
    20
See reviews for
87
160
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Golden Days is a simple hotel (we expected it), very familiar and very clean. The staff is marvellous, they are all very very nice! There is a pool to relax, very nice. The breakfast is simple, but very tasty!!!
You can use the public transportion, but if you don't have enough time as we didn't, hire a car. It's very easy to drive all over Rhodes, there is just one national road all around Rhodes.
In Afandou, we ate at the FOUR SEASONS and it was incredible, as the attention of the staff!
If you like, go to the Faliraki Water Park, we strongly recommend!!! It's huge, clean, you don't wait on lines and has many attractions! It's was really great! :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilana_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed at Golden Days for 2 nights and enjoyed both the hotel and the area. We traveled there on the bus from downtown Rhodes, but we rented a car for the second day because we wanted to see more of the island. The hotel is clean and comfortable but not fancy. We didn't expect fancy because of the inexpensive price - only about $50 per night, good value. Bring your own shampoo, etc. The pool area was delightful and the Brit on the desk quite helpful. We would stay there again, for sure.

Go to Sergios in Afandou for dinner - great pizza and terrific British waitress. Afandou is such a quiet little town with very few tourists - we like this when we travel abroad. We ate dinner in Lindos the second night at a great place with a beautiful roof-top view - To Kamapiko. Reasonable and delightful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Golden Days is a real little gem and I would recommend it to anyone seeking a hotel that is not in one of the livelier resorts but who just wants somewhere to unwind completely. The hotel is towards the outskirts of the the genuine and friendly Rhodian village of Afandou but ten minutes gentle stroll will get you to the town square from where you can catch the very comfortable local buses into Rhodes Town (2 Euros) and Lindos (3 Euros). Along the way you can pick out which of the many local restaurants you would like to eat at that evening - I can wholeheartedly recommend the Four Seasons, just down from the hotel, and Aristogefsis, up one of the sidestreets off the main road into town, both have first class food, friendly staff and, quite frankly incredible value for money.
Anyway, back to Golden Days; from the moment you arrive you are greeted with a warm welcome and made to feel at home, Carol (from Leeds) is in charge of the reception and organises just about everything at the hotel, any problems you may have Carol will get them sorted out for you and do it with a smile on her face. Yiannis and Lambros share the bar duties and are damn good at it (Yiannis does the day shift, including the breakfasts and Lambros does the evening shift) both are a pleasure to deal with and are always ready for a joke. Vasilis carries out the maintenance and makes sure that everything is working properly, and, on our floor, Maria cheerfully kept the bedrooms spick and span every day .
We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis but opted for one of the self-catering studios just so that we could have a fridge in the room; the breakfasts were always great, freshly prepared, and speedily served by Yiannis. We stayed from the 29th July - 12th August and the daytime temperatures were about 40C so we were glad we paid for the air-conditioning in the room (6 Euro/day) which worked very efficiently. The pool, though not huge, was great for cooling down in and there were always more than sufficient loungers and shades. If you want the beach then catch the mini-train outside the hotel and for 2 Euros this will take you to the long stretch of pebbly beach that is Afandou beach, you could walk to the beach if you wanted but in those temperatures we didn't fancy it.
So, if you fancy a holiday away from the usual tourist traps of Faliraki and Ixia but somewhere where you will be treated with courtesy and good humour by a great staff then look no further than Golden Days, it was a pleasure to stay there and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Phelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Stayed in Golden Days in August on first impressions not great as the air con in our room didn't work hardly at all & then the first night of going to bed there was a massive cockroach in the bathroom.

Carol sorted out the next day though & moved us to a room next to the bar. The room was much nicer & the air con was icy which was nice after 45 degrees temperatures!!

Pool is nice, breakfast I wasn't overly impressed with (go to Anna's across the road). We had dinner at Golden Day's one night there (Spaghetti bol) which was very nice indeed.

The best place for dinner is Four Seasons, very friendly staff, lovely food & the cheapest anywhere we ate (four of us 2 starters, 4 mains, milkshake, litre of wine & dessert under 40 euros!!) they finish of with free little desserts which is a really nice touch.

Becareful of the road as there are literally no paths from the hotel down to the square & people drive around at 100 miles per hour!

My only gripe was with Yannis who worked the bar, when I was explaining about the air con he was very funny with us & after that very rude. I asked him one night if I coukld smoke at the bar to which he told me I wasn't allowed but then proceeded to let his Greek friends smoke!!!

Overall good holiday, resort very very quiet!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nata5ha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Me and my husband stayed here for 10 night and were not disappointed. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff Carol, Yiannis and Lambros were very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure you had a lovely time. Towels and bedding changed regularly. The option to have air con in the room was a must in July and cost around 48 euros per week. There is a good size pool that has free sun beds to use which meant that staying at the hotel for the day was a cheap option.The hotel serves a basic food menu which is good value - just make sure you feed clarence the cat as he is blind! If I could have taken him home I would have done! The hotel does a weekly karaoke night which was hilarious- great value at 10 euro for a meal and drink and a good sing along. Lambros your elvis impersonation was hysterical! Also loved the quiz night and the bingo! Hotel was well situated in afandou - 10 min walk from the main square. The sky line bar is a must for views over afandou as was four seasons for great quality greek food - it was just a shame that the exchange rate wasnt so great when we went. Bus service from afandou was ok - you can get to faliraki in 20 min on the bus or rhodes town in 30 min ish and is cheaper than getting a taxi. The faliraki water park is also worth a visit. Overall a great hotel to stay in and hopefully we'll be back again soon!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My girlfriend and I have just returned from our first holiday together, our first time in Rhodes and we would recommend the hotel / destination to anyone! Golden Days was an excellent hotel, with incredibly helpful and friendly staff. The room was basic but clean, our room also had an excellent view of the pool. The pool was very clean and the general pool area was brilliant with plenty of sunloungers to choose from, either around the pool or on the grassy area. The service from the bar and for breakfast was very efficient, you should definately try the milk shakes they were to die for! Carol - the hostess with the mostest, is fantastic and literally could not be more helpful if she tried! Afandou is a lovely little resort / village, plenty of shops and lots of places to eat, all very reasonably priced. Bon Viveur in the main square were the best of a very good bunch, especially for their Greek dishes, also good were Four Seasons and Sergios. The beach is only a mile or so away, within walking distance or you can catch the little land train for a couple of €'s each. Alot of the people we spoke to whilst staying were returning customers to the hotel and I can certainly see why - a very friendly and family orientated atmosphere. A visit to Rhodes old town on the bus is a must, such a beautiful town with bustelling, busy little streets, lots of culture and wonderful shops to spend your €'s on. All in all a very enjoyable hotel, perfect for a family holiday but also brilliant for couples, not a noisy hotel at all but still lively in all the right places!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjwaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.3 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Achousa Hotel
Achousa Hotel
#31 of 72 in Faliraki
321 reviews
6.8 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#8 of 18 in Afandou
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Days Hotel

Property: Golden Days Hotel
Address: Pernou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Afandou
#5 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Days Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Days
Golden Days Afandou
Golden Days Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing