We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great and relaxing hotel - just gets better”
Review of Golden Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Days Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our 9th visit to the Golden Days. Why do we go back - well, we love the people there, we see old friends, the hotel has all you need, the village is good... above all we have a good holiday!! I wrote last year that more improvements had been made - this year it was even better - a new menu (lots of really good fresh Greek and other food), new hot water system : Yiannis and Maria have worked hard to get things even better.
There is good entertainment if you want it - Monday karaoke is great, and the new local guy who runs it is a ball of energy - rrrooooccckk!!! There is also a quiz and bingo on a couple of nights. George keeps everybody happy and always has time to stop for a chat at tables or at the bar, usually followed by lots of laughter. Just a point on a negative review below - nobody makes people go to the karaoke or quiz - they want to go, and as for people who like staying by the pool and drinking beer - well I'm guilty - what is a holiday for - you do what you want to do.
Afandou village is good with many tavernas and bars, always welcoming. It is also a good base to get to Faliraki and Rhodes town as there is a bus stop in the square; (like the other people drinking beer near the pool we also went out !!).
There is always a good friendly atmosphere at the Golden Days. But if you just want time to yourself then it's a good place for that too. In summary - a clean, friendly hotel - great food and good company .We have one main holiday a year and we choose to take it in this lovely place. Ian and Linz x

Room Tip: Personal choice really - I like a ground floor overlooking the pool, at the back you have a view ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rhodoslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 347 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was booked as a self catering studio apartment for 3. It was a room with 3 single rock hard beds, a rusting fridge with no handle, 2 burner hob, 1 electric socket on the far side and no other facilities The air conditioning was an expensive extra. The kitchen made cooking anything but a coffee impossible, the restaurant breakfast service was incredibly slow, We had pre-paid for breakfasts which was beans on toast or egg on toast & instant coffee. This took 45 minutes to arrive resulting in us having to miss breakfast any day we had an excursion. It was very poor value.
The staff were friendly and helpful but could not disguise the reality of a 2 star hotel, worse than my backpacking days.
The town was desolate and the beach a long hot 20 minute walk away, the advertised train link broke down for several days. The best part of the week was finding Mimi's Taverna in the village, great food ,good prices and a great atmosphere.
Golden Days seemed to suite a clientele who were happy to sit by the pool, drink copious amount of beer, play bingo and karaoke and never venture from the premises.
,

Room Tip: don't expect a self catering apartment. It's 2 star, you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickcoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A very clean but basic two star hotel. Rooms are a little tatty and bathrooms dated. The pool area is kept clean and there are no shortage of sunbeds or parasols. We had a room overlooking the road which was very noisy so I would suggest a room at the rear. Air conditioning is 40 euros for the week which is expensive but necessary and also very noisy!! Afandou is a traditional village not a resort which is ideal if you want to experience the real Greece. It is also served well by the bus service that runs the length of the East coast so is good for exploring other parts of the Island. The beach at Afandou is a 15 minute walk from the hotel but is quite pebbly-I would recommend getting the bus to Falaraki or Lindos for the sandy beaches. Tavernas in the village are very cheap and the food at the hotel is also reasonably priced for a hotel.
All in all-a good base from which to travel.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for one at the rear away from the traffic noise and noise from the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolanne2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned fro 2 weeks at Golden Days Hotel. We arrived at 1.30 a.m. and were met by a very pleasant and enthusiastic George who works as bar staff and entertainer. He showed us to room 58 which is behind the bar and immediately off reception area. First impression of the room was a huge disappointment as it was the smallest room I've ever stayed in and stiflingly hot. When I asked about air conditioning, I was told that it was 6 euros a day which is a bit OTT so I didn't bother. (I ). imagine at the height of the season air con. would be essential At 6.30 a.m. the following morning we were woken by a noise in reception area of staff/cleaners starting work. Spoke to Maria and Yannis about moving to another room. Both were very pleasant and showed me another room but had to wait an hour or so for it to be serviced. The new room was the same size but was away from reception. All the rooms are very basic and not really equipped for self catering due to lack of equipment/utensils. We were able to make salad or something in one saucepan as the hob was too small to take 2 pans. The shower head would not stay on the wall so had to use it as a hand shower, which is just about manageable. Having said all that, the hotel was clean and the rooms were cleaned and mopped daily and towels changed every day. Bed linen was changed every 3 days and there was always plenty of hot water available at any time of day. The rooms at the back of the hotel - where we were - overlook the village, get the sun from 2 p.m. until sunset and don't get any noise (apart from the odd cockerel) from the road or hotel bar. The rooms in front overlook the pool or garden and get the morning sun until about 12.30 p.m. Food is served in the hotel from 8.30 a.m. til 20.30. and is good and reasonable priced. If you want to eat out, Four Seasons serves excellent food, also Mimi's, both at similar prices to the hotel. There is a supermarket next door to the hotel and a pebbly beach is about 15 minute stroll or a little train runs from the square at 10a.m., 2p.m., 5p.m., 7p.m. and 9p.m. Afandou is a lovely village and well worth a walk around the back streets to see how the real locals live. The walk to the square is through the main street and takes about 10 mins. The bus service to Rhodes, Lindos and Falaraki all go from there about every hour. Golden Days is quite a small hotel so has a family atmosphere about it. All in all we had a lovely stay once we had got over the initial disappointment and it was made all the more enjoyable by the great friendly service we had from Maria, Yannis and George who, despite working very hard and long hours, always had a smile for guests and would always find time for a chat.

Room Tip: rooms at back are quieter and have afternoon/evening sun. Also have very private balconies as no-one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamcol_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just back from another fabulous fortnight at the Golden Days and found once again that the hotel just gets better and better. Yannis, Mara and George still work tirelessly and are some of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet. Yesterday I booked a return trip in September and hope to revisit for many years to come.
Lots of love to you all,
Chrissy and Graham.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissypHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Basic but clean and nice very family friendly and an excellent location. ..food good and service fantastic afandou is a lovely place and golden days in right in the centre the staff can't do enough for you they are top class and make you feel very welcome

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browniediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Golden Days Hotel and we can honestly say that we didn't want to come home. Yannis Maria & George were superb and made our holiday so special. Nothing was too much trouble. I don't know where they get their energy from. Afandou is a wonderful 'typically Greek' friendly little village with the most amazing restaurants. We would have no hesitation in recommending Golden Days and would love to return there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
6.8 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
498 reviews
2.9 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Days Hotel

Address: Pernou, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Price Range: $26 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Days Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Days
Golden Days Afandou
Golden Days Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing