We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Georgia”
Review of Georgia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgia Apartments
Ranked #1 of 5 Afandou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved the Georgia”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I visited Rhodes with one other friend at the end of August 2011. We wanted somewhere far out and peaceful to relax in before the end of the summer holidays, and we got exactly what we paid for. The room was basic but spotless and had all the standard facilities we needed for an all inclusive break, The poolside was lovely and quiet, plenty of sunbeds and lots of space for shade in the heat of the day. Admittedly the location could be better as it took about 20 minutes to walk to the town, but provided you avoided walking around in the middle of the day, this was never a problem and we felt very safe at night. Some of the staff are a little "off" and not overly friendly, but being chatty people ourselves we didn't let this put us off being pleasant to them and they seemed to warm to us! The greek night was great fun; we did lots of dancing and there was a very friendly atmosphere amongst both staff and guests. The food could've been better but aside from the greek night we didn't eat at the hotel at all. Afandou itself is a gorgeous village and I would definitely go back. I would also happily stay at the Georgia again as it is good value for what you pay. Only big qualm- 10 euros for air con is something of a rip off!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SunshinePleaseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    118
    61
    12
    13
See reviews for
168
205
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

After reading the reviews I was terrified about going here...although not as bad as I expected it was pretty bad. No tv in room as stated in thompson brochure, not enough cups and plates for the three of us, no hot water and toilet was broken for 2 days before being fixed. It was end of season so the shop was not stocked, the food in hotel was running out and the nearest supermarket was a half hour walk away. Hotel was clean but all the vinegar bottles had dead flies in.`I found the Staff okay but the man was quite rude to my husband and also started pushing another guest around. There was a member of the family who sat and stared at everybody especially my teenage daughter who certainly was not topless as a previous person stated for the reason of staring...very uncomfortable. will not go back

Room Tip: have a room by the left hand side of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nothappy160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We booked this hotel as a cheap get away for the week. It was a package deal with Thompson (so flights, transfers and accom) and was £700 for the two of us.
I have to say, I was extremely happy with the cleanliness of the room! It really surprised me on arrival. So good first impressions! You get a kettle, plates, saucepans and cutlery. The cooking facilities are ok, although all you get is a plug in hot plate thing which isnt great but does the job i guess. The towels were changed every 2-3 days along with the bed sheets. The hotel was actually pretty clean too, around the pool and in the restaurant.
Location was a bit of an issue when we first got there. It's a good 15 min walk into Afandou and a taxi is about €5. Busses run to all major places (Rodos Town, Lindos, Faleraki etc) and there's a bus stop right outside the hotel. Don't rely on the bus timetables though! And on your way back to the hotel on a bus, ask the driver to drop you off at Hotel Georgia and they happily drop you off right outside, otherwise you'll have to get off in Afandou town and face the 15 min walk back in the blistering heat!
The staff at the hotel are very helpful. And expect to be asked multiple times about going to their "Greek Night" which we didn't go to but heard lots about! Mainly from the man who walks about the restaurant all day every day shouting "CRAZY NIGHT, FRIDAY NIGHT, CRAZY GREEK NIGHT!!!"
The onsite shop is slightly expensive so I recommend getting onto the main road at the back of the hotel and turning right, if you walk about 10 mins you come to the big supermarket which is much cheaper!
To get to the beach, get onto the main road and turn left, you'll come to a sort of bridge thing next to the golf course, go under that and keep walking down the road. You'll find the beach. Which is just pebbles, no sand at all which is fine if you just want to sunbathe (just stick a towel down and you can mould yourself into the pebbles- quite comfy!) but no good for kids. The sea is beautifully clear though!
Definitely recommend going to Rodes Town for the day. It's lovely. You can look round the new part of the town with shops like M&S and Pizza Hut or you can go to the old part which is a much more traditional Greek town with some great one of a kind shops. Lindos is a good day out too, an old town with billions of places to eat. The busses are, shall we say... interesting, but get you Where you want to go and are much cheaper than taxis. Afandou town is fine if you just want a cocktail and watch the footy. But I much prefer Rodos town.
Lastly, you'll need air-con! At €60 for the week it's a bit of a rip off but you'll definitely regret not getting it!
So had a lovely time exploring Rhodes. Not bad for a cheap getaway!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlexAndAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

After reading the reviews on here we didn't quite know what to expect. My partner has travelled to many different countries all over the world. However this was my very first time abroad.

We arrived at the apartments at 7am, there were a few of us that arrived together. We queued for our key, yes he took our passport number. And we were then led to our apartment. which was one of the two bedroom apartments to the side of the pool and can confirm we are defintely not special as the previous review stated.

The maids cleaned the room 3 times in the week, and were very friendly and even understood why i had to take my own pillowslip!

Yes some of the staff are a bit grumpy, especially the lady. But you have to play her at her own game, I was overly friendly which left her no alternative but to smile!!

As for two of the staff being perverts. Where was I staying? If women are going to sit around the pool topless then it would be expected to get some looks surely?

The music, yes this was monotonous!!!! But I think I may send Billy some music that's upto date!

Afandou itself it's lovely. Sergio's is highly reccommended as is Cafe Neon. As for the bars, we ended up being attracted to the Alfa Bar. This is owned by a lovely man who goes by the name of Tassos. Never in my life i ever met such a friendly person, we were very sad to say goodbye at the end of the week and presented with a large bottle of Ouzo to take home!

Sitting in that bar most evenings just watching the locals go by.

The beach is a fair walk away and is a shingle beach. Rhodes is a bus journey away. Referring to the other reviews that states buses unreliable. We never waited outside the hotel we always walked upto Afandou village which is around 10-15 mins walk. you're guaranteed a bus up here, by the time it's filled up in the village it doesn't always stop outside the hotel as it's full.

The Water Park at Faliraki is a must - We went it cost 20 Euro each, we were there around 5 and a half hours, was very fun and you have a wrist band to put money on for food/drinks etc. Anything left of the wristband at the end of the day they refund you. Prices were very reasonable unlike our theme parks in england.

All in all a fantastic holiday had by us both. We will be returning to Afandou next year, but there are more of us so unsure as to whether it would be the Georgia. But this is based purely on our holiday party size not the hotel.

Room Tip: The apartments are great if you can get one, book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justanedgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

we stayed at the georgia apartments last week, i was a bit worried after reading the reviews, but we didnt have a problem, the apartments, were very spacious and clean, we only stayed for a week and in that time our bedding and sheets were cleaned 3 times! the pool area was always immaculate and plenty of sunbeds, we ate in the hotel a few times, no complaints with the food, service was always good, staff were always pleasant, spoke good english, happy to help, we went to the greek night on the friday, we had an amazing night was great fun, food was to a good standard too. we were located in a good location, easy to get to rhodes town, faliraki and afandou village. we had a great week and would recommend to the georgia to other people thank you for a great week.

Room Tip: all rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurse24Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My partner and I went for a two week well deserved break and to be honest would have prefered to stay at home! We arrived early hours of the morning and the first person we met was enough to scare us! We were shown to our room and yes The appartments were clean but that's as good as it gets. The staff are so rude it's unreal. The are two friends of the family that seem to be there most days and they were complete perverts and made us feel very uncomfortable. The Greek night was a waste of time unless you want to watch the perverts clinging to people in a sleezey way! The menu is basic and not very good quality at all, mcdonalds is far more appealing and i don't even like it! The pool was ok although not alot of sunbeds around and very little shade available. Twice we attempted to go to one of their evenings ie bingo and the crazy disco, the only crazy thing about it was that it Never happened! The children of the family seem to do most of the serving people within the bar and shop. The location is awful, a building site and nothing within the area of any interest. The rep is a complete waste of time unless you wanna spend an arm and leg going on an excursion! Luckily there is a bus stop right outside so you can escape the madness of this place but even gettin a bus is a chore and you can wait anything from 5mins to 2hrs for one! I have seriously never stayed in such an awful place and met so many staff with such attitude. Do yourself a favour and listen to all the bad reviews this place is definitely a place to avoid. Save your money and sanity!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Spikeyflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I have been holidaying to Greece for over 12 years. This year we had to go for a holiday based on price alone, we chose Rhodes as we knew it would still be hot in September. I was slightly concerned after reading the reviews but nonethless the holiday was booked based on the price. The room was clean, but that is about it. I am more than used to Greek bathrooms but the shower head simply needed a bit of DIY so that the water actually came downwards rather than covering the entire bathroom apart from the person standing under it. The balcony had no view or privacy so we never sat on it. The room was far too hot and we refused to pay for air con at 10 euro per day, we have never paid for it and wont ever pay for it unless they were to charge a reasonable fee. Other people we met in the town paid up to 6 euros max.
Upon arriving at 4am, and told how to get to our room [no help with our luggage] it would have been a simply but thoughtful gesture to have given us both a cold bottle of water perhaps………….simple touches.
The family/owners are the rudest we have ever, ever met in Greece. Impolite, rude, unhelpful etc etc…..it had nothing to do with what money you spent in the accommodation as for the first week we spent more than enough without a thank you or anything. I truly believe we as guests are simply there to pay for the supply of free drink and food to all the family members that spend every evening by the pool helping themselves to drinks etc…..which by the way often ran out.
The food, was OK but if you wanted a greek dish they would run out by about 8pm ish…..these dishes were on the half board menu to the self catering were to lump it basically.
Didn’t do the Greek night – again have never had to pay for it and then get told what food you was going to be eating….again, paying for the freeloaders who arrive each Friday.
When we left, we didn’t get a goodbye or anything……..not that I expected one.
Good points, as I said our room was clean and the communal toilets were clean, as was the pool.
It would have been nice if the family changed their clothes now and then and looked a bit cleaner considering they were serving everyone.
The location – local beach wasn’t all that………and you are a bit stuck for transport on a daily basis really so vehicle hire would be a good idea. The little town was fine, some lovely restaurants, sergios, four seasons and a greek taverna in a little back road…..there is a little strip of bars and the bar belonging to Minas is a must – he makes you feel very welcome…his cocktails are cheap and very strong and seem to get stronger each time…..so you are not being ripped off like some places.
Unfortunately, we wouldn’t go back……we love Lindos and Rhodes Town. I know people stay at the Georgia year after year, but seriously people, there are so much better places to stay, please try and look at alternatives…..this family don’t care about you…..there are also much prettier places than afandou to stay although it pains me to say because the restaurants and bar were really really nice.

As for the Georgia though……………..in a nutshell…….rude, rude, rude

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool would be the best option. Rooms to the side of the pool are for 'sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sammi1975Chelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.7 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
960 reviews
1.1 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
0.1 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#8 of 18 in Afandou
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
357 reviews
9.4 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tholos
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgia Apartments

Property: Georgia Apartments
Address: 20th km Rodou-Lindou Ave., Afandou 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgia Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 800 metres from Afandou Beach, Georgia Apartments features an outdoor pool with sunbeds and umbrellas. Its accommodation offers free Wi-Fi and opens out to a balcony with garden, pool views. Each spacious unit comes with a mini fridge. Air conditioning and a safety deposit box are also available upon extra charge. The restaurant at Georgia Apartments prepares traditional Greek dishes. The pool-side snack bar serves refreshing drinks and light snacks throughout the day. The younger guests can enjoy the paddling pool and playground. Shuttle service is provided from hotel to beach and back from 15/06-15/09. Georgia Apartments is 5 km from the lively town of Faliraki and 30 km from the picturesque village of Lindos. The Afandou Golf Course is located right across from the property. Rhodes Town is at a distance of 19 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgia Apartments Afandou, Rhodes
Georgia Apartments Hotel Afandou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing