We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Boy back at the Iris”
Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lorraine and I flew back to Afandou October 2nd , and got to Rhodes in record time under 4 hours.
Quick ride in a taxi ( only 30e) saw us in the Iris car park by 9.40pm, (no risk of walking up the bank from a bus)

George and Isabelle had already arranged our room on the third floor , same as last visit in July, Air con switched on , welcome basket in very clean room, keys sorted by the ever helpful Theo .

I managed to blow out all of the room electrics due to a dodgy mosquito plug i had brought with me .
All was fixed within 15mins so we could finish getting showered and out to the Village .
Upon trying to use the usual short cut to the village at the top of the pool area stairs (A rough clay pathway ) our way was blocked by a very large pool of rainwater from the prev day.

We had to go back down to the main road and enter the village by the Afandou Sky road ....the long way round.
After a meal in Daniels and a good few drinks in the Acapulco bar , we came back via the pool
after removing shoes ....of course.

The next morning on catching up with George and Isobelle running over the last few months etc we happened to mention our ''pool '' adventure ........George who did not know about this , went into immeadiate action.
Within one hour of our morning conversation, he and his trusty handyman had removed almost all of the pool , and had made a dry smooth safe crossing, ......now thats fab service folks!

The Hotel was almost empty , it was thier last week , apart from us , there were two young couples , one older couple , a lovely family of six, a single guy on mid journey to Turkey .

The only reason we were there was for my 60th , as i have celebrated my 40th and 50th in Afandou , always home from home for us , so many wonderful people in the village and on the beach at Agathie Kolimbia and Tsambika .

As i have reviewed this Hotel on three occasions now, i know its a broken record ........YOU GET
WHAT YOU PAY FOR!
Its not a five star luxury Hotel , it is basic, no entertainment , basic meals , basic rooms etc ...

BUT it is a Fantastic base , with stunning sea views , Fab pool area , The best staff and management anywhere , great service..on one of the best Greek islands....what do want at these prices , it was a week for us at £890 fully inclusive and flights from Newcastle ....thats £63 per day each all in!!!!

Read Lisa s review , the mother of the family of six , two girls and two boys , all having a great time , with no complaints , the kids were having some great meals cooked up by George , and loved the pool.......even though October pool temp is bloody cold .........go on Ryan.....what a tuff little guy he is, great Family who got out and about .

I will never understand how anyone (who should read about the hotel first ) can come here and complain about this Hotel or any of the Management and staff ......if you have any issues see George and he sorts it .......always.......

In all of our many visits to the Iris , i have never had any problems with the meals or food quality , and i have never heard anyone who has .
i should also say its so cheap to go to the Village for a meal Mimies a great ''meat and chicken '' place or Daniels for the italian huge pizza , supporting local business.
Acopulco bar for some really good cocktails and great Crack with Demitris .....thats entertainment in itself.

Many thanks to all our friends for making my Birthday so special , lovely cake from George and Isobelle , and another from Demitris, later in the Acapulco bar with his wife Irenie .

Our last day was Oct 9TH , the Hotel was empty , Lorraine and i had the pool to ourselves , served a lovely lunch by George , and spent a relaxing day soaking up the hot sunshine ...just a perfect ..day .

So in closing , another fab week , no issues , no hassle , no problems , many thanks again to George Isobelle and team , until next year , see you all soon , have a great Xmas , and to all of the people and friends we have made during our visits , happy new year.
To all the people who have given bad reviews .........do you really spend your holiday in your bedrooms ? can you read small print? are you ever happy ?.........life is too short ....get one !

Room Tip: any room on second or best third floor for great views of the sea
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHASSYGeordyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Iris Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and myself travelled to Rhodes by Olympic Holidays in September 2013 on a bed and breakfast basis at the Iris Hotel. We were dropped off at the bottom of a very steep road leading to the hotel and had to drag our cases up this 100 metre slope. When we got to reception we were welcomed by a very nice lady who told us she didn't know why Olympic coaches did not come up the drive as there is plenty of space for the coach to turn into the drive and outside the hotel. She told us to take our cases to our room and return for breakfast. We went to our room and as one does had a quick look around. We were absolutely astonished to see what we saw. There was hairs in the wash hand basin in the bathroom, a large yellow stain on the shower tray which, when I rubbed it with a damp tissue, came off. There was black and green stains in the fridge which obviously had not been cleaned for some time. The "white" towels were yellowish and sour smelling. The "white" pillow cases were yellowish, the curtains hanging at the door looked as if someone had slashed them with a knife. The place was less than basic. Don't get me wrong I have stayed in three star hotels before which were basic but they were clean. However we went for breakfast and again were horrified to see the buffet style display of food with nothing covering the food and the flies, dozens of them crawling over all the food. My wife was sick at the sight. We obviously did not have breakfast but I took a cup of coffee from a coffee machine. We went outside and sat down at a table which had a plastic table cloth on it which had been there for quite a while and was filthy. The area around the "dining" tables was dirty. We had to see the Olympic Rep in the afternoon and decided to wait until then to complain. We went for a walk and on the road at the entrance to the hotel I saw a dead rat with lots of flies on it and I wondered were they the same flies. When we returned we went to our room and slept for a short time with our beach towels covering the pillow cases. We had been to Rhodes on quite a lot of occassions in the past so we got a taxi to Kremasti on the other side of the island to see if we could contact some of our friends to move hotels. Unfortunately we were unable to contact them. We returned by taxi to Afandou. We spoke to Neil the Olympic Rep who when he looked at the room agreed it was not up to standard. I told him we wanted to move and he informed us it would cost about 750 euro to transfer us to another hotel. Other people who had just arrived were very surprised at the poor conditions and I felt particularly sad for a young couple who couldn't believe the state of their dirty room. The young lady was nearly in tears. That evening when we went to bed having eaten away from the hotel. My wife got up to use the bathroom at about 2am when she shouted to me there was water pouring from the ceiling. I tried phoning reception but then got dressed and went to report the matter. The manager said that we were to vacate the room immediately. I refused and told him the problem was upstairs. I went to sleep and in the morning the water had stopped running from the ceiling. We went into Afandou for breakfast and were able to contact our friends in Kremasti by phone and we moved out. On our return home I made a complaint through Thomas Cook where we booked the holiday. The staff at Thomas Cook were as usual very helpful. We got a reply from Olympic Holidays telling us we were not entitled to any refund. The extra cost to us was about 500 euros. The Iris hotel is in a very nice setting with views over afandou to the beach in the distance. I have been to Afandou before on day trips and it is nice but please, please believe me and disregard any reviews saying different, DONT GO NEAR THE IRIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Philipandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just got home from our 10 day holiday at Iris hotel.We read some bad reviews before we went but we decided to decide for ourselves what the place was like and I'm glad we did.We are a family of six with four young children and they described their time at the hotel as the best holiday ever.The rooms are basic but clean with maid service daily,the food was fab with loads of variety,something different everyday.Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much bother.The pool area was very clean and kept up together can't wait to book up for next year we loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaChristian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very disappointed in this hotel not all it is cracked up to be on trip advisor. We started off our holiday by the coach dropping us off at the bottom of a steep hill, had to drag cases up to the hotel at 3 in the morning. We were given room 109 which didn't look ready for guests as there was no soap, towels in the room we had a few hours sleep and when I got up to go the bathroom sewerage had come up through the shower plughole, we went to reception saw George (who never actually introduced himself as hotel manager neither did his wife) and he said I will move you next door no apology. Rooms were very basic, towels although changed daily were grubby. We were not happy with the all inclusive as it is done on a timetable for example you cannot get a cup of tea or coffee between 9.30am and 4pm without paying for it and most of the time they ran out of milk, you couldn't get an ice cream if you were an adult the meals were pork, veal or chicken in various forms everyday (lunch and dinner) water melon for dessert all the time. Everything was cold (bacon eggs etc) no spirits included at all, beer and wine poor quality. No decent background music. Hosts not sociable and unhelpful never said good morning or asked if everything was ok .
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, we ate out all week so it turned out to be an expensive week. Thank goodness for Sergios and Mikes bar down in the village

Room Tip: go to another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marion p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had an extended stay all inclusive at this hotel late Sept to early Oct and really enjoyed it. Travelled from Turkey by Ferry to Rhodes but the return Ferry was cancelled due to rough sea conditions and strong gusts of winds and stayed longer than planned. George and Isabelle's hospitality was courteous, pleasant and helpful, along with the rest of the staff. The Hotel was clean, the gardens and pool are well looked after and the food was excellent, as I like to try all the local dishes when on holiday, and you get plenty of those. The breakfasts are a mix of full English, Continental and Greek and vary daily. A snack is provided before lunch, usual a small savoury and melon. Lunch varied everyday with plenty of local Greek dishes and again the evening meals had lots of choice. No two meals where identical and the menu was extremely variable, which can only be achieved by good organisational management. In fact if there was anything you particularly wanted it would have been provided.
Coffee and Biscuits are also available in the all inclusive package mid afternoon, with fruit juice, tea and coffee, water, soft drinks, wine and local beer available at specific times during the day and evening.
If you like a sea view this can be found from most rooms and from the pool and dining areas. The higher your room, the better the sea view from quite a large balcony. Mine was 304.
Rhodes is a beautiful island, and the Hotel is situated near the main coastal route, with buses taking you along the coast to other resorts, beaches, and historical towns and villages. The village of Afandou is behind the Hotel, down a narrow lane and only 10 minute walk with it's bars, taverna's, restaurants shops and church. The beach is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the front of the Hotel, although pebbley. Other better sandy beaches are a 10 minute bus ride, namely Kolimbia and Tsambika.
If you have walking difficulties beware that there is a small hill to negotiate from the bus stops and a few steps. Whilst I am a solo traveller there was a mix of families and couples who all seemed to be having a great holiday, in a quiet location but close enough to find more entertainment when you needed it. I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, but it's a lift part of the way then stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarrySchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Iris for two weeks in August. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rooms are spacious, cleaned daily and the air conditioning is excellent and is worth paying for. The pool was cleaned every morning and was never overcrowded though well used. All meals throughout the day were excellently prepared and served. All the staff were extremely conscientious and worked as a team providing for everybody's needs. Transport links and vehicle hire are readily available to all parts of the island. The local village of Afandou offers shops, restaurants and night-life.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor enjoyed fantastic sea views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14MariaK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a great time at the Irish Hotel, if you want a nice relaxing holiday then its the place to go, its basic but really clean and pool area really nice can't fault it, food is nice too, you get what you pay for. George and Isabelle and all the staff are really nice especiallhy Theo the bar man who is now our friend and made us feel at home, the beach is about 10 mins walk away but again really nice and you can walk into afandou town from behind the hotel, we also went on a boat trip to Lindos which you can arrange with George at the hotel which was great, would definatley go back in the future for a nice chilled holiday and to see George and Isabelle again as they are amazing xx

Room Tip: If your a couple make sure you ask for a double room and ask for a room on top floor (3rd)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.2 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
1,012 reviews
7.9 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#10 of 18 in Afandou
134 reviews
8.2 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
533 reviews
17.0 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: Lindos Avenue 22klm, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Price Range: $44 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing