We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just arrived back in UK from a great 2 week holiday at Oasis Apartments. We've had a great time there and definitely would return.

Georgios, his parents and all his staff have made us all feel very welcome. As noted in previous reviews, they can't do enough of you. The kids have been treated likes princes and princesses and didn't want to come home.

Great shaded areas around the pool and complex and lovely places to sit and enjoy a drink like the tree house or under the canopy of the orange trees next to the pool. The grounds are covered in fruit trees, orange, olive, lime, banana, fig??? so plenty of natural shade.

The food was excellent. Choice of salads and hot foods with plenty of greek dishes you'll recognise and some you won't.

I'm surprised at the negative reviews and would recommend wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The family rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    21
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

General -
We have just returned from a week at the Oasis and would like to give you a fair and unbiased view of the hotel and its facililties. When the bus dropped us in front of the hotel, situated right on a busy main road with very few shops and restaurants nearby, we were concerned that we might have made a big mistake in booking this hotel. The reception area did not help to dispel our fears being dated and smelling of smoke. And the rooms were no better. Basic is the best word to describe them, with ensuite bathrooms which are so old fashioned they are almost trendy. (I haven't seen a lime green bathroom suite in years). It had to get better.
Fortunately, the place grows on you. It's main strength is the friendliness of the staff, as others have reported. Nothing is too much trouble and they will go out of their way to accommodate you and to make you feel welcome.
Pool and Recreational Facilities - Another plus is the pool area. Whilst the wooden tables and chairs around the pool are again basic beyond words, the area is attractively set out with a small but pretty pool area surrounded by colourful flowers and tall palm trees. There is a medium-sized grass area where the sunloungers are laid out, and whilst there are never quite enough to go round everyone, we always managed to find a couple, even if we arrived in the afternoon. Beyond this area there is a good sized grassed football pitch which is regularly watered and a basketball hoop. This proved to be a huge bonus for our 16 year old son who quickly made friends with some of the other teenage lads and disappeared for hours on end to play football (mainly in the evening due to the extreme heat we had whilst we were there) or to play in the pool. In fact, there were lots of older children (12 +) around, which, having kids of 12, 16 and 18 was an unexpected plus. As there were no organised activities for younger children, there were very few little ones there, although there were a few families with pre-school children. Whilst there is a small kiddies section to the pool, there are only a few metal poles inbetween this and the main pool. This was quite deep in most parts and being only 5ft 4" I could only stand in less than half of the pool. If you are going with non-swimmers, you will need to be extra vigilant, as there is a diving board at one end and no lifeguard.
Location - The location of the hotel was good and bad. Good because there was a bus stop directly outside with buses travelling to Tsambika and Lindos (pretty whitewashed village) in one direction and to Faliraki and Rhodes Town in the other. The latter ran every 1.5 hours approx and, given the Greeks' reputation for being quite laid back, were fairly on time. Faliraki has a great beach with safe, shallow sand, a lifeguard station and plenty of watersports. We can especially recommend the banana boat safari which lasts between 45-60 mins and takes you round some of the neighbouring coves , including a visit to a cave in the cliffs, but includes all the fun of the shorter rides at a cost of 25 Euros per adult and 15 Euros per child. But if you are looking for a little culture and a step back in time, a visit to Old Rhodes Town is a MUST. The place is completely enchanting with little bazaar like shops lining the old cobbled streets within the walls of the town. And every now and then you get a glimpse down a little side street into the harbour. There is a lovely little sandy beach just adjacent to the town walls where people were bathing in the cool clear water, despite the No Swimming signs. The return trip cost us 8 Euros 80 on the bus for 2 adults. A fantastic day out.
If you wanted to stay more local, Afandou beach is only a 10 minute walk away and has a little beach cafe and parasols and sunloungers to hire at the nearest point to the hotel. If you like uncrowded and unspoilt this is the beach for you.
The only downside to the location was the fact that it was a 15 minute walk into the village of Afandou with its bars and shops which are situated at the top of a slight hill. As temperatures reached 43 degrees whilst we were there, walking there was quite sapping and not something I would recommend for the very young or very old. However, you can get a taxi there for 5 Euros, if you don't fancy the exercise.
Food - If you are not a fussy eater, the food is perfectly acceptable. Lots of pasta dishes, aubergines in everything and meat and fish available every day with plenty of fresh salad morning, noon and night. After a week, though, I would suggest that you may find this a little limiting and may want to explore the local tavernas by then. Think carefully before you book All inclusive if you like a lot of variety! The coffee tasted powdery to me and this is only available at breakfast and between 4.30 and 5.30pm when afternoon tea is served at the pool bar. Although this sounds quite prescriptive, we found it an enjoyable ritual and started looking forward to our 4.30 treat.
All in all - If you are looking for a good value holiday on a budget, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. However, if you like a little luxury and enjoy state of the art facilities and decor, stay away - this is not the place for you. Whilst we have stayed in nicer hotels, this must have been the best value week abroad we have ever had and felt very happy that we had chosen Oasis.

Room Tip: 3rd bed in the triple room was a rather uncomfortable camp bed. Better suited for smaller children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ManchesterCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We really loved the food,lots of salads,always fresh fish & meat,vegetables & fruit and NO upset tummys. We hired a quad bike for 4 days at 105euros which was brilliant to get around. It was only a small engine but it got us to some beautiful bays(Antony Quinn) and we did have a laugh! The beach is a 10minute walk away but stretches for miles it was great not to be overcrowded and there are two bars,one up one end and one up the other which we always had and ice coffee in the mornings! I think it depends what you want from a holiday,we had a total chill out,we wernt actually bothered about no entertainment as we love each others company. George was really helpful on anything asked,Steven behind the bar was a good laugh and Zoe in the restuarant very friendly and asked if we could eat a little earlier on the day of departure. We havnt been to Greece for 6years as we were worried about it being too expensive,but we didnt overspend,we had all the meals and if we went to the beach we asked for a packed lunch(free) which was plentiful. You have to give it to these people they work really hard some have two or three jobs to survive and we would return here as we came home totally relaxed and rested which we needed to do! THANK YOU EVERYBODY AT THE OASIS! see you next time oh and veto can i have my flipflop back when we next see you lol!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gillmick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Have just returned from a two week stay at this hotel and when the other reviews say dont believe the bad reports then forget that cos thats what we did, the staff are great but that is where it ends if you read on I will tell you absolutely the truth and then you can decide.
We arrived off the bus at 1 o clock in the afternoon and just didnt know where the reception was, once found, no problem straight to the room through lime trees, banana trees, pear trees, naturally hording the inevitable cricket/s, which incidentally the noise from them was continuous 24 hours a day!!, the room is adequate with beds virtually on the floor, a fridge and an antiquated tv which caters more for the Germans then the English and yes the DvD does work, the bathroom is very old fashioned we had to kneel in the bath with a hand held shower to get showered. Be careful in the rooms have ants so maybe take some powder with you!. The grounds were a bit overgrown, they did cut them back occasionally but not very well and mossys have a field day with you if your not careful. The pool was always clean so no problems there, the pool bar is staffed by a lovely young girl serving soft drinks, lager and wine, at 4:30 there is a snack which is made up of small spinich pasties, small feta cheese pasties or cut up pieces of cold PIzza and buscuits, this is the only hour you can get free coffee or tea when all inclusive (except for at breakfast time in the restaurant) Breakfast is 8 - 10 consisting of one day boiled eggs, next day chopped ommellette, along with cheese slices or spam slices, there is a toaster but be careful it tends to come out solid! there is some cereals as well, Lunch 1 - 2 here there is a tray with a pasta basted something, then next tray a vegitarian based aubergine or pie sort of thing, then either a tray of chips (usually cold) or potatoes or very runny mash!, there were some vegatables but my girl tried some carrots and couldnt cut through them!!, finally a tray of meat either chicken or pork most of the time you couldnt tell the difference!, there was a salad section always feta cheese salad where everyone dived in so it soon became a bit of a mush, and a sweet usually jelly and icecream or a bit of cake, evening meal was just made up of the same as the lunch time, so no variety really, most of the people ate out even though they were all inclusive, easting out was nice but the nearest place is afandou and a taxi ride is 5 euros there and 5 back so add 10 euros to you meal bill, its 10 euros to get into Falaraki and 10 Back, so it does make eating out expensive, (we spent about an extra 1000 euros eating out including the taxis) (YES WE WERE ALL INCLUSIVE!) all in all if you like your grub you wont like this place. The Bar is opened at about 6:30pm and only near the reception which is ok but they miss out on letting people sit around the pool on an evening, it wasnt lit up round this on a night but could be cos the staff held a birthday party for one of the staff one night and lit it all up for that night and it looked tremendous, incidentally none of the residents were invited!! the bar is manned by Stammoss, he is great, a super guy very friendly, serving watered down lager, soft drinks and wine for all inclusive until 11 then you pay, alternatively you can pay about 2.5 euros for an ouzo and lemonade which is of good measure, the named brand spirits are dearer We hired a scooter 125 euros for 7 days which got us all over going to some super beaches Tsampika and Agathi beaches being the best, two sun beds and a parasol 8 Euros and there are beach bars which do great food very reasonably priced.
If you go to the Oasis dont expect good food, the entertainment is the dog (Vito) and expect to have to use taxis to get about, take plent of mosquito stuff and expext to eat out!!
Will we be going back, I think you know the answer to this most definately not

Room Tip: Dont go to the oasis hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MalcandChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Afandou hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Right lets get things straight.....The place is old fashioned, no entertainment apart from you tube music at both the pool bar through the day and bar man Stamos (Who is great) at night with his laptop. Not enough though!!!! even Karaoke would have been nice . Food was repetative, no full english breakfast only beans and omelate perhaps 4 times through our 2 week stay. All inclusive ???? I don't think so....Beer or wine or soft drinks , no local spirits .....Ice cream for kids at lunch and dinner and between 4.30 and 5.30 daily at the pool side along with some cakes and tea/coffee, You pay at all other times.
The best entertainment is Vito the French bulldog, watch your flipflops !!!!!! The beach is pebbles and course shingle,no sand and no fishes if you snorkel !!! take a trip to Rhodes town at night it's beautiful, but don't buy any copy watches at 50 Euros !!!! I did and guess what, it packed in as soon as I got home ....will I ever learn.....

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 301, which was OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's difficult to capture the Greek style of hospitality with so much emphasis on sleek, modern commercialism with perfectly spaced sunbeds around a "fun-packed pool" with staff blaring out for everyone to join them in the pool and too loud music. So if that's what you are looking for don't go to the Oasis Hotel Bungalows in Afandou. The Hotel and Bungalows is owned and run by a Greek family.The grounds were exquisite, there were banana trees, lemon, lime and orange trees and of course plenty of Olive trees and a profusion of exotic flowers everywhere. The lawns were mowed either very early in the morning or late in the evening. Our hosts were gracious, personably pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Oasis (in a desert) is what it is; the small pool was cleaned three times a day and "vacuumed" every night; but sometimes the overhanging flower trees would shed their petals into the pool which, as an experience of swimming in, I found very romantic. The rooms were cleaned everyday and sheets and towels changed 4 times a week. The food was traditionally greek, plentiful and fresh with a varied menu - "brilliant". We went on an all-inclusive and although they don't provide local spirits in the package the local beer and wine was good. We booked for a 7 night stay during a heatwave - sometimes 47deg but the aircon worked perfectly. The star of the week was Veto the French Bulldog who I'm sure didn't realise he was a dog. Most of the time he acted like one of the staff. His "meet and greet" was down to a "T". A great relaxing holiday, it was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

After reading all reviews we decided to give it a go. Ok yeh staff great thats were it ends, its like steppin back in time its so dated but clean, we had a mouse in our room +.staff tried hard to catch cockeroaches without bein noticed in dining room. We had to ask for dvd player to be put in our room, the numerous cats would leave their catch on grassed sunbathin area. All inclusive was beer+wine and the food well i carnt find words to descibe it!!! Evening was taped music and lastly when you look up on trip advisor it shows the pictures for the" olive garden" ???

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
0.4 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
17.4 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
2.9 mi away
Venezia Resort
Venezia Resort
#23 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
9.7 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes

Property: Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
Address: 20th Km Rhodes-Lindos Ave., Afandou 851 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis hotel. And it really is an OASIS! The setting is a large and beautiful garden: a green retreat of flowers, banana trees and palm trees, all only 800 metres away from wonderful Afandou beach. Distances: main beach 800 m, Afandou town centre 1km, golf-course 1 km, Faliraki 5 km, Kolymbia 6 km, Lindos 30 km, Airport 23 km, Rhodes Town/port 20 km. The intimate, bungalow-style buildings are in the local island tradition and set out in an extensive natural location. There is a choice of twin (or triple) rooms and apartments, as well as family rooms, in double buildings, for 4-5 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes Afandou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing