We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday but mixed emotions!”
Review of Sivila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sivila Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday but mixed emotions!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a relaxing holiday away and ended up booking Sivila Hotel for one week. After reading all the awful reviews, we were anxious to see what lay ahead! We are students so are used to student food and accommodation, so braced ourselves for the worst.
On arrival, it seemed like all the bad reviews were accurate. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and the receptionist told us they were full for the night. We were moved to a room outside of the hotel which felt unsafe and smelt horrendous! Not a lot we could do. We went to sleep very unhappy! However, in the morning a different receptionist was amazingly helpful. He moved us straight away and any problem or question was fixed immediately. He went out of his way to make sure we were happy.
The room was nice, the food was decent and the pool was clean and lovely. We made friends with guests and we began to have a really good time. We walked to Afandou town, which took 20minutes, and enjoyed a few bars there. There is not a lot there but is quaint and lovely! The beach is also lovely, with the most amazing sea,and is literally 5 minutes down the road.
With regards to the mosquito problem, we took some gel with us and were rarely bitten. Just be prepared and you will be fine. We also didn't have air con. We just kept the curtain closed for the day and it was bearable.
The staff themselves, a few in particular, were incredible. We have never met a bunch of nicer people. They made our holiday. We had the most amazing time and were so sad to leave. The owner of the hotel, however, was grumpy and rude. We felt personally victimised by her at times and she rarely made an effort with any of the guests. In her presence the whole dynamic of the hotel changed! Without her staff, she would have nothing. The barman and receptionist in particular, made the hotel. For them, we would most definitely go back.

If you are going to Sivila, you need to remember what you have paid for the holiday. For us, it was a cheap getaway, so we were not expecting 5*. Just go with an open mind. Rhodes is beautiful and the bus stop in Afandou took us to Lindos and Faliraki. It's a very cheap and easy way to get around the island. I would most definitely recommend this hotel but advise you to not expect 5*. Only go if you are outgoing and are prepared to travel around Rhodes to make your own entertainment. For us, an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    28
    26
    83
See reviews for
46
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family have visited this hotel twice and have not been disappointed. The food is delicious, fresh and varied Greek cuisine. The staff are friendly and the location is tranquil.
For some people it would be a little off the beaten track but we hired a car for the week so it was no problem .
We may visit them again next year we enjoyed it so much ...

Room Tip: You need to upgrade to air on for an additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I read several bad reviews on this hotel and was dreading going it really put a dampner on my holiday that i scrimped and saved for. But when we arrived i was suprised how lovely it all looked and the food was not as bad as i had heard!!! this was for the first 3 days of my 2 week trip. THEN oh my goodness it started going down hill very fast.I firstly got covered in the most awful mosquito bites but then so did every one else in the hotel,this was later found out that the sewerage from the hotel gets emptied out at nights into some waste land at the back of the resturaunt,The food was also recooked from either night before or your lunch that day and was made to look like another dish in the evening meal,The beds were made every day but you only got clean sheets and towels every 6-7 days if you were lucky. The rooms were dusty dirty and covered in blood from where people had squashed the mossis on the walls, i could go on and on but you have to see it to believe it "or not". One good thing really was the staff were so lovely but the owners/management were greedy moody and do not deserve your hard earnt money in their pockets! I am so disheartened from this holiday i booked for me and my family, i now have to save up again for the next 2 years to get another holiday but i will make sure i do plenty of research so this never happens again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank louandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Afandou hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

the maids and the resturaunt staff are 9 out of 10.the management are 0 out of 10.they are the most unhelpful people I have ever met.the food is good greek food and plenty of it,we stayed there last year,and only went back because the staff were so nice.the rooms are small and grotty and the shower room was dirty.we went al linclusive which was a lot better than last year,but could be a lot better.the worst member of staff was a large blonde women who I think was in charge.

Room Tip: they charge 7euros per night for aircon.we had 3 nights without because of power cuts.i asked for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank stephenm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Absolutley horrendous holiday
unless this hotel has had a major demolish and rebuild since august (trip advisor dosent go back that far ) then dont waste your money!!
i belive you get what you pay for and am no snob but

hotel was dirty ants crawling up your into your drink on the second floor bathroom had electric wire hanging from the above the cieling and a call buzzer as nearby people then confirmed to us it was previously before a hotel a nursing home room was cleaned by a maid but it made it no better really air con you had to pay daily for dont be fooled.

food was TERIBLE 3 dishes a night maybe one meet one pasta no plain foods brekafst was the same not good food all inclusive youd expect alot more choice or maybe thats just me.
Town was a good taxi ride away or if you waited there was a train 4 times a day. beach was at the end of the road but was a quite pebble beach so if a sandy beach is what your after dont bother!!!

very quiet town centre of afandou falaraki was near buy at around 12 euros a taxi THANK GOD!!!
if we hadnt have made some great friends and drank lots i think i may have requested a flight home

risk it for a biscuit if your brave enough (they dont have biscuits either or dessert though !!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank LauraR2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corfu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice simple hotel with the best staff ever!!!
Last September i visit Sivila hotel with my husband for our second honey moon after 10 years marriage and we had a lovely and very romantic time there. The Hotel was very nice, we had a big room in the second floor face to the beach of AFANDOU, clean and tide every day from the lovely maide Maria. The food it was not for 3* hotel but for a 4* star hotel, big variety and very tasteful.But the most important from our spending time in Sivila Hotel it was the great laugh that we had with Teri's (pool bar) and Thanassis (Main Bar).Many thanks to them for making our holidays unforgettable.We recommend it to every one that wants to see what the greek hospitality means!!

Room Tip: Room with sea view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelli d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

To start with, the entrance looks 3 maybe 4 star, but thats as good as it gets! Bedrooms were ok,showers on the other hand a no-no,as flooded the bathroom everytime, and , only hot water at night.as for room service,changed sheets and towels every second day but by the time we left we could write our name in the dust, we stayed 1 week. Pool area ok but basic. Staff on the whole nice but reception staff rude and impolite. Now here goes as for the food it was outrageous! same ol same ol every breakfast,lunch and dinner! apart from our first night we ate out every day for lunch and evening meal which obviously incurs alot more cost as you needed to get taxi every time you went out. Taxi drivers charged what they liked and ranged from 8 euros to 13 euros for the same trip, but 6 euros all week to get back from Afandou. Mosquitos very bad!! and would of been nice if we had been warned when we arrived about a plug in to keep the mozzies away as i was bitten at least 100 times on my 1st night and in alot of distress, i had to spend another 30 euros on medication to treat my bites and air con is a must also to keep them away at a cost of 7 euros a day,we had a room at the front and still very hot at night. We feel had we of been told upon arrival we would of immediately put something in the room to save being bitten to pieces. Afandou was lovely and we found a nice bar called the peoples bar and the guy who runs it was great with excellent customer service, Sergios was lovely and highly recommended great food! as was Neon,amazing mixed grill for 13 euros. We spent 700 euros for 2 in 1 week this included trips,taxis,eating out aircon, medication so all in all not a cheap holiday and alot of the extra cost could of been avoided. Would go back to Greece but not to the Sivila once bitten twice shy ( no pun intended)

Room Tip: doubt they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sunseeker190727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
8.6 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
628 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Theologos
510 reviews
4.0 mi away
Venezia Resort
Venezia Resort
#26 of 71 in Faliraki
398 reviews
16.4 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivila Hotel

Property: Sivila Hotel
Address: Afandou Beach, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sivila Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers a total of 55 comfortable rooms, which can accommodate between 2 and 4 people (depending on the type of room booked). Fridges are available on request (with a local charge) and all the rooms have a telephone, air-conditioning (with a local charge), daily house-keeping and either a private balcony or shared terrace.Please note that free air conditioning is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sivila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivila Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing