We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by far the best accommodation in rhodes!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Afandou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Afandou Village Apartments
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“by far the best accommodation in rhodes!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

just came back from our third visit to rhodes. we stayed at several accommodations in our three visits, and visited many more, but nothing comes even close to afandou apartments. the apartments are spacious and perfectly clean, equipped with basically everything you need, and more. we had washing machine, fridge, microwave, tv + dvd (very useful if you have a toddler who is very hard to entertain), stereo, wifi, hairdryers. air con in every room, which is included in price (unlike some other places we visited).
also, this was the only accommodation where we didn't have any problem with ants. so, when greeks tell you that all the apartments have ants, since you are in "hot climate", don't believe them! even when our child dropped food on the floor on several occasions, we didn't see any traces of ants.
location is good, quite close to the afandou city centre, where you can catch buses to most other places on the island.
kevin and sally are fantastic hosts (again, unlike most other greek hosts).
if you are looking for an accommodation on rhodes island, look no further. the cost is very reasonable for what is offered, and you will have hard time getting better accommodation even in better hotels. if we decide to visit rhodes again, this will definitely be the place we will stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Writing this the day after getting back from our fourth consecutive holiday at the Afandou Village Apartments. What can be said that hasn't been already? You would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay in this traditional Greek village and this place has become a real home from home.

Almost too many positives to list, but here are the ones which have meant the most to us over the last few years:
- Kevin and Sally are the nicest, kindest hosts you could imagine. From helping to arrange car rental to assisting you with any problems you may encounter, they are happy to help.
- No hassle of arranging your own transfer from the airport - they are there to meet you and take you there personally!
- The food and drinks included in the welcome package in each apartment is a very thoughtful touch, and gratefully received after a long journey.
- Kevin and Sally have taken the time to provide you with a very comprehensive guide to the best activities and places to eat, drink and swim not only in Afandou but across wider Rhodes. There is not a duff suggestion in there. And this guide is updated every year and so is never out of date, unlike the literature you receive in some apartments!
- Air conditioning included in the (already reasonable) cost. Say no more.
- The apartments are in a very quiet, traditional part of town and yet within easy walking distance of the main square and also (if you feel energetic like us!), only about a twenty minute walk to the seafront. Should you not fancy the walk, you can use the regular road train or even borrow bicycles from Kevin and Sally.
- Unlike many holiday apartments, these are of a quality and design that you rarely see in Greece. The facilities and finish are first-rate, and provide you with a Greek holiday in UK-standard accommodation. The best of both worlds.
- Kevin and Sally have integrated themselves into the community in Afandou and know many local business people, restaurauteurs and bar owners. They live in Afandou amongst the locals. They respect and understand the local culture. So you never feel as if you are in one of those apartments run by Brits that sticks out like a sore thumb; you really feel as if you are getting a proper taste of village life.

And finally, only one negative point: having to come home! :(

Thank you K&S,

Sean & Rachel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstafford72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey CI
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was the second occassion that we had stayed at Afandou Apartments, and we were not disappointed. As mentioned in other reviews, nothing is to much trouble for Kevin & Sally. The apartments are immaculately presented, and now have the added bonus of wi-fi. There are beautiful beaches in close proximity, and the "village life" is as relaxed as ever. Kevin and Sally continue to excel themselves with their apartments and we would recommed them to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alan_LGuernseyCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

All you could ask for on a holiday - and more! No hanging around waiting for transfers -Kevin and Sally met us at the airport and drove us to the apartment where there was wine, tea, coffee etc. waiting for us so no need to go out shopping. The apartment was really lovely with air conditioning and SO clean. It was so well equipped that we never had to ask for anything extra and ideally placed for the village which is just a short walk away. The village has plenty of restaurants and shops and there is a good bus service to Lindos and Rhodes. Having been to Greece many times before, a bonus was that, in the apartment, you could flush paper down the loo! Kevin and Sally are superb hosts keeping a low profile but being on hand for any queries you may have. A highlight of our stay was a day trip on Nikos's boat round the island stopping in various bays for a swim. Kevin organised this for us and it was a day to remember. All in all a really lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Beautiful accomodation with a lovely coffee & cake shop on the corner. The 3 bedroom first floor apartment was spacious, homely, squeaky clean and came equipped down to the smallest detail. We enjoyed Al fresco breakfasts and the comfy sofa on the balcony. It's close to the centre and an easy walk to the beach. Kevin and Sally are genuinely good guys and superb hosts, obliging and with a great sense of fun and good humour.You couldn't do better anywhere on the island than Afandou Village Apartments.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

From stat of our holiday when we were collected from the airport to the evening that Kevin took us back to the airport via the senic route, we could not have asked for anything more from our first trip to Rhodes. The Apartemnts are first class, if it is not in the apartment then you do not need it, Sally & Kevin have thought of every last thing. They are at hand if you need them but keep a low profile so not to be in your way. This couple know all you need to know so you don't waste anytime trying find the best places to eat, swim, or site see. You may think because their is no pool it would be a problem, but no the beach is close and a friendly hotel 5 mins away let you use the pool and pool bar.
A real Rhodes treat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay for our holiday in Afandou. The accommodation and the lovely hosts, Kevin & Sally, are second to none. Often on holiday the journey from the airport can be gruelling, you just grin & bear it. Not so with Kevin & Sally as our hosts. A late afternnon arrival meant we could enjoy the pleasures of a refreshing drink with them at Anthony Quinn Bay before carrying on to Afandou Village Appts. Kevin was good enough to point out important Afandou landmarks en route: the village centre with a row of bars, a few restaurants & importantly a cashpoint machine. A gorgeous bakery & a couple of supermarkets were also located near to the apartment.
We were soon to find that a walk to the village centre would take a little under 10 minutes. The photo's on the website don't do justice to the accommodation - it's spotlessly, sparklingly clean and how delightful to see not just plain white bed linen and towels but lovely pastels in the bedroom & zingy, fluffy towels in the bathroom. The apartments are made to feel like home with delightful ornaments and pictures on the walls - the complimentary wine & beer in the fridge also helped to make it feel like home.
We stayed in the smallest of the 3 apartments but it didn't feel small and can comfortably accommodate 4 people. Wouldn't mind experiencing al fresco dining in the main apartment which has the most beautiful "outside" dining kitchen.
We were in Afandou to attend my brother's silver wedding anniversary celebration, including renewing wedding vows. Even though the happy couple weren't even staying with Kevin & Sally they became the main organisers of the whole event. They did lots of research in advance of our holiday including finding a priest and checking out with the Town Hall that it was acceptable to hold a ceremony outside the beautiful church of Profitas Ilias (a must see traditional white Greek church perched on a hill in Afandou, afforing beautiful views of the village & the coastline - truly romantic, truly Greek)
Kevin & Sally drove my brother & his wife to Rhodes Town to make arrangements with the priest (& organ player), drove them to Theo's wonderful taverna in Afandou & helped them agree a menu and finally helped them choose & order a celebratory cake.
On the celebration day they decorated the outside of the church and the taverna, and did it with such enthusiasm. We really think they should advertise as events organisers, their gregarious & thoughful approach make them perfect for this role.
Kevin & Sally will happily give you space simply to have your own holiday but open up a bit and they give you so much more - including their bicycles and olives! No wonder so many people come away from AVA feeling that they have been staying with friends - they are the best kind of friends - always giving but seeking nothing in return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Afandou hotels
0.0 mi away
Rodos Star Hotel
Rodos Star Hotel
#4 of 18 in Afandou
960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afandou Beach Hotel
Afandou Beach Hotel
#13 of 18 in Afandou
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Georgia Apartments
Georgia Apartments
#1 of 5 in Afandou
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Afandou Scala Apartments
0.0 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
0.0 mi away
Villa Olive Grove
Villa Olive Grove
#4 of 14 in Afandou
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afandou Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afandou Village Apartments

Property: Afandou Village Apartments
Address: Afandou, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Afandou Village Apartments Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing