We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“(hopefully not!) a once in a lifetime experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Burg Wernberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Burg Wernberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wernberg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“(hopefully not!) a once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We just spent a couple of wonderful nights at this castle hotel which is about a 40 minute drive from Regensburg and just off a highway. The hotel is lovely - modern where it counts but still maintaining its medieval character. It was great just to explore the castle's nooks and crannies including just chilling in the library. The hotel is child friendly - with small touches like eg providing a small size robe for our daughter (it was difficult to persuade her that she couldn't wear it at all times) and a baby changing station even stocked with nappies. Would be fair to say that other guests were possibly not as relaxed to have a child in the restaurant even though our child is pretty good. Only slight quibble is that it would have been good to have had one or two child friendly options in the secondary hotel restaurant - but we managed to persuade our child that spatchcock was just chicken. The breakfast is sensational - with a fabulous and inventive buffet as well as hot options a la carte included in the price. Unforgettable experience that we will hopefully repeat in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for visiting the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for giving such a positive feedback.

In this context we would like to thank you as well for your compliments regarding our guest service and for our breakfast offer.

We would like to thank you once again for you warm words and for your stay at the Hotel Burg Wernebrg .

All of us, are already today looking forward welcoming you back in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

In the meantime, we are sending you the best wishes,



Yours


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    35
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
205
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I attended a wedding party there, so we used virtually every facility of the hotel. It was a great experience in a great setting, we had delicious food and the service was always effective and friendly. Beautiful castle!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel15667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm and positive feedback. It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed every part of your visit.

Once again, we would like to thank you and are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg .


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

There are not enough great things to say about this hotel. The castle is stunning and the rooms beautiful. The staff takes great care of you from the time you check in until the time you check out. Ulte (sic?) at the front desk was incredible... As was everyone else. The rooms were spacious (for Europe) and quite comfortable. Bathroom was nice also. Nice places to sit outside and have a glass of wine.. Breakfast was also good although not included with the room price. Would definitely recommend for a weekend getaway..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CroatiaSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm words regarding our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear about your experiences made during your stay and we would like to thank you for your compliments for our infrastructure and our staff.

It is indeed our aim to spoil every single guest and to leave a long lasting memory.

Dear guest, we are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and remain in the meantime, with every good wish.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a truly magical night at Burg Wernberg in June this year. It's the kind of place where you can take a 2-hour walk around the castle gardens after eating a lovely breakfast served by women in dirndl. We stayed here right after some major flooding (it definitely didn't seem to affect the castle one bit), and it was very interesting to stroll around the grounds and see where the riverbeds overflowed. There was tons of wildlife to be seen; birds, frogs, snakes, deer. I didn't experience the spa, but it sure looked tempting. Service was incredibly attentive - no consideration was too small. We opened the windows to the room in the evening, and were awoken to birdsong in the morning. Crisp sheets, comfortable beds, hypoallergenic pillows, Molton Brown toiletries - what can I say? This is probably the nicest hotel I've ever been to!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soybean1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.
Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish




Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very nice. The gourmet restaurant is unbeliavable good and i hardly recommend it. The only thing is a lack of activities and no swimming pool. In summer the rooms are hot this disturbing the sleep quality. I do not recommend for kids because the lack of activities for them but the restaurant and the kindness of staff worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with less sun in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm and positive feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed every part of your visit.

Once again, we would like to thank you and are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg .


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I fell in love with the Hotel Burg Wernberg when I saw it in the Relais & Chateaux directory several months ago. We planned a trip to Germany in part to see the castle. It did not disappoint! The castle has been lovingly converted into a charming, romantic hotel. The service was friendly and impeccable. We had dinner the first night at the Kastell restaurant, which was delicious. The second night we ate at the Michelen-rated Konrad's, which was amazing!

The hotel has a nice sauna but no pool or fitness room. However, the staff gave me a map of running trails through the park that surrounds the castle. They also arranged for us to get massages and recommended two nearby castles for us to see during the day. The closest one was spectacular.

The parking areas are a bit of a walk from the hotel, but the staff will deliver your luggage or give you a ride by golf cart. You can also drive up to the entrance and have the car valet parked.

We booked a standard room, which was cozy and lovely, with a nice view of the castle courtyard.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOStraveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and your positive comment.

We are pleased to read about your experiences made at our hotel and that you enjoyed the stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Personal service is indeed close to our heart and we try to surprise each guest every day anew. It is great to read, that we succeeded.

At this point, we would like to thank you once again and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had to attend a serious technical meeting the other day in Weiden (North east Bavaria) and having had enough of gray country side hotels we headed to Burg Wernberg for the night before. It was a long drive from Frankfurt a.M. airport to Wernberg with a lot of bottlenecks ("Stau") on the A3 and it was just after darkness came that we arrived on the Burg. The hotel is actually an old castle of probably 13nth century with all external facade preserved as much as possible as it was looking initially. Interiors are of a completely contemporary design with a crew maybe of the highest level of friendliness alongside professionalism. Cleanliness was at its best and the room had enough space (not usually the case for other as such castle hotels) whereas temperature was as it should be for a nice thermal comfort feeling.
The double espresso I had at the ground level bar woke me enough to continue further with draught local beer. The best surprise still was their restaurant which actually is an added "long corridor" structure on the outside of the castle wall as a Wintergarten (allowing sun to heat restaurant space - when there is sunshine ofcourse).
I had a large exquisite green salad (with more than 6 different greeneries and a tender sauce) as a starter with a salmon-trout to follow. the fish fillet was grilled and settled on a lovely bed of spinach-rice! A very fresh fish fillet grilled properly to a juicy result! Along side we had a low priced local white wine (maybe of their own doing) that was absolutely a proper go-together with my fish. I washed everything down with a lemon ice cream and a small espresso.
Our sleep was very calm as the bed cover was not exaggerated (mainly the case in many Central /north European hotels).
Our breakfast was as nice as our dinner. I mostly liked the sour fresh yogurt that smoothens my insides nicely.
The things I loved more: the 2 small statues on each side of the big terrace door near hotel entrance, representing 2 sleeping kids (with finger in mouth!) The fresh yellow/red rose in front of the bath mirror.
Do not miss this hotel if around the area...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KONSTANTINOS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.

Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish




Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wernberg
9.5 mi away
Klassik Hotel am Tor
Klassik Hotel am Tor
#1 of 9 in Weiden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
14.6 mi away
Landhotel Birkenhof
Landhotel Birkenhof
#1 of 3 in Neunburg vorm Wald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
18.8 mi away
Panorama-Hotel am See
Panorama-Hotel am See
#2 of 3 in Neunburg vorm Wald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Resort Die Wutzschleife
10.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Schwarzenfeld
Hotel Schloss Schwarzenfeld
#1 of 1 in Schwarzenfeld
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel Glutschaufel
Hotel Glutschaufel
#2 of 2 in Eschenbach in der Oberpfalz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Wernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Wernberg

Property: Hotel Burg Wernberg
Address: Schlossberg 10, 92533 Wernberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Wernberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wernberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Burg Wernberg 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in a historic castle - Enjoyment of the highest quality.Burg Wernberg – is an exclusive hotel in a historic castle with a first class gourmet restaurant featuring the excellent cuisine of Thomas Kellermann, all under one roof. Located in the heart of the Upper Palatinate region and easily accessible from Munich, Nuremberg, Regensburg and Prague, gourmets and connoisseurs can dine lavishly in the restaurant, reside like royalty, relax or celebrate sumptuous events – all exclusively within the carefully restored castle walls. From a romantic weekend for two to a fairytale dream wedding of any size – at Burg Wernberg nearly everything is possible. Come and discover just how special variety can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burg Wernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing