We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice looking from the outside but only OK on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Burg Wernberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wernberg
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
“Nice looking from the outside but only OK on the inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 216 Burg Wernberg

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: 2-3 hours from Munich/Frankfurt and in a castle

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Rent a car. The closest airport is probably Nurenburg, about 60 minutes away.

TYPE OF ROOM: Deluxe (1 level upgrade from standard and a huge difference)

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Mattress is OK and sheets and pillows are of excellent quality.

LIGHTING: A bit dark in the room with adequate lighting in the bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Corner shower enclosure (common in Europe). Good water pressure and consistent temperature.

TOILETRIES: High quality, name brand.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel common area and room is very clean

A/C: NO AC in room and didn’t need. Opening the windows was adequate (even in the summer).

STYLE OF ROOM: Nothing special… a bit boring for being in a castle.

COMMON AREA: Nice but

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room was very quiet but not all of the morning sunlight could be blocked (thin curtains)

FOOD: 2 star Michelin restaurant… even the food at the wedding was amazing. Breakfast is 18E and had a better than average selection of items but wasn’t impressed.

TV/INTERNET: TV seemed a bit small for the room and didn’t use. Internet is at no charge and had a good speed.

SERVICE: Service as OK at best

SUMMARY: We had a very enjoyable time but having stayed in a few other castles, we actually preferred the other ones more.

Room Tip: Our standard room had tiny windows and was very small. The upgrade was a huge difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and your positive comment.

We are pleased to read about your experiences made at our hotel and that your whole family enjoyed the stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz. Personal service is indeed close to our heart and we try to surprise each guest every day anew. It is great to read, that we succeeded.

At this point, we would like to thank you once again and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    35
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
208
13
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel came with no disappointments! The people working here are incredibly responsive, friendly, and helpful - literally every person we encountered.

The setting and upkeep of the hotel is also excellent and doesn't feel cheesy or overdone. Everything is very clean and refreshed.

The breakfast/coffee space is lovely and it is great to relax there outside on nice day.

We ate at Kastelle - their nicer restaurant and it was DEFINITELY WORTH IT!! The setting is modern yet comfortable, the food is inventive, and the service is excellent. I would also recommend the wine pairings with each course as they were unique and really complemented each dish. Be sure to make a reservation in advance though as there was only one seating and there are only 7-9 tables.

The bed is a little hard, and the bathroom a little small, but overall the room (with complementary mini-bar) is very comfortable.

Note - they have a nice sauna but no other spa/fitness facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baygirlSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.

Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish



Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had booked a two night stay at Burg Wernberg. Having settled in we decided to extend our stay, we liked it there: friendly, welcoming and efficient staff; nice, airy room (very small bathroom though); the very special atmosphere in this well-maintained castle on the hill with expansive views of the surroundings. But unfortunately it was fully booked….

Both evenings we had dinner at the castle. The first evening at the 2* Michelin fine dining restaurant “Kastell”. It was a memorable evening. There were two menus and you could either have all the courses or just a few. And the food was truly fantastic! The staff was very professional as you would expect it in a place like this but at the same time also quite relaxed which we liked a lot. The second evening we ate at the “Konrads”, simpler fare, but still very good.

If you spend a weekend there, you may come across a number of wedding parties. Some staying there, some just coming to take pictures with the castle and its moat as a backdrop.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zurich_traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm words regarding our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear about your experiences made during your stay and we would like to thank you for your compliments for our infrastructure and our staff.

It is indeed our aim to spoil every single guest and to leave a long lasting memory.

Dear guest, we are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and remain in the meantime, with every good wish.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

just what a spot on place
staff 10/10
room 10/10
food 10/10
atfer along trip from the midlands ,just great !
thank you

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm and positive feedback. It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed every part of your visit.

Once again, we would like to thank you and are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I was in Burg Wernberg with my boyfriend and we really enjoyed our stay. We booked the great day package, We got snowed in and it felt like a fairy tail castle, Room was spacious and had huge widows for a middle aged castle. We also had dinner at Kastell where the fish dishes were defintely the highlight. I enjoyed the food though I already had better and was somehow expecting more from a 2 star.
Bathroom had a huge bathtub so we drunk enjoyably our bootle of sparkling wine.
Service was very attentionate and let the moment feel very special,
A truly nice stay to relax from stress at work.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrbsqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm and positive feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed every part of your visit.

Once again, we would like to thank you and are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral, england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

we had our wedding at Burg Wernberg in december 2011, and there is no other way to describe it other than absolutely perfect!! i thought getting married abroad would be difficult, but the help and expertise of the events manager, made our wedding completely stress free and i would like to thank them for makng my dream fairytale wedding become reality!!
the professionalism of all staff that we had the pleasure of meeting was second to none!
the castle and surroundings are absolutely beautiful, and all the suites where unique and furnished to exceptionally high standards! the dining is exquisit to say the least!
our guests that stayed at the castle loved it and the castle will forever remain special to us and
we look forward to returning many times in the future to celebrate our anniversaries!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.
Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.
Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish




Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We recently stayed at the Wernberg Schloss Hotel. The castle itself is very impressive and beautifully restored, however our double room was very basic with an extremely uncomfortable mattress. The biggest disappointment was the restaurant. For some reason dinner was served in the winter garden, a long, narrow, non descriptive passage way with approx 8 tables in a row, while suitable for coffee and cake or breakfast this did not provide an ambiance one would except for dinner. I enquired at the reception if it would be possible to have a more romantic table set up for two in another room for the following evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary and was informed this would not be possible. Very disappointing. On the 2nd evening (our anniversary) once again no one was tending the bar, at dinner we were served the exact same "gruss von die Kueche" the exact same starter and yes, you guessed it the exact same dessert as the night before!!! This is something I have never ever experienced and would have liked to voice my dissatisfaction, however during our stay we only encountered a very young staff with no management in sight. On a more positive note the hotel was exceptionally clean and the sauna area although very small (4 relax chairs) was spotless. ...and despite everything we are still happily married !!! To summarize after three days we were happy to move on elsewhere and as for next year we will be more selective!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for taking your time to share your experiences with us.

In this context we would like to thank you as well for your compliments regarding our infrastructure.

However, you are mentioning an incident experienced during the dinners for which we would like to apologize in due form. I assure you, that I will recapitulate this issue with our F&B-Manager.

Nevertheless we would like to thank you once again for you warm words and for your stay at the Hotel Burg Wernebrg . All of us, are already today looking forward welcoming you back in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

In the meantime, we are sending you the best wishes ,

Yours

Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wernberg
14.6 mi away
Landhotel Birkenhof
Landhotel Birkenhof
#1 of 3 in Neunburg vorm Wald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
9.5 mi away
Klassik Hotel am Tor
Klassik Hotel am Tor
#1 of 9 in Weiden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
19.8 mi away
Resort Die Wutzschleife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hotel Glutschaufel
Hotel Glutschaufel
#2 of 2 in Eschenbach in der Oberpfalz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
18.8 mi away
Panorama-Hotel am See
Panorama-Hotel am See
#2 of 3 in Neunburg vorm Wald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel-Brauerei-Gasthof Haas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Wernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Wernberg

Property: Hotel Burg Wernberg
Address: Schlossberg 10, 92533 Wernberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Wernberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wernberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Burg Wernberg 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in a historic castle - Enjoyment of the highest quality.Burg Wernberg – is an exclusive hotel in a historic castle with a first class gourmet restaurant featuring the excellent cuisine of Thomas Kellermann, all under one roof. Located in the heart of the Upper Palatinate region and easily accessible from Munich, Nuremberg, Regensburg and Prague, gourmets and connoisseurs can dine lavishly in the restaurant, reside like royalty, relax or celebrate sumptuous events – all exclusively within the carefully restored castle walls. From a romantic weekend for two to a fairytale dream wedding of any size – at Burg Wernberg nearly everything is possible. Come and discover just how special variety can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HRS, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Burg Wernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing