We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good guesthouse”
Review of Gaestehaus Schmidt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaestehaus Schmidt
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Rust
Rust
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good guesthouse”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

a nice place to stay, very friendly staff. it is very close to europapark. You can leave your car at the geusthouse when you visit the park

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Wim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
78
44
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night and visited Europa Park for 2 days. On arrival, we were allowed to park our car while we spent the day in the park. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The breakfast buffet was plenty. We enjoyed our stay very much!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jesston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Ci
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here with my teenage son and daughter due to proximity to Europa-park. I made the mistake of booking a treble room believing that I would be put in a room with three beds. This was not the case, the room having a double and a single bed. Manager helpful in resolving the problem.
The good points:
The hotel is less than ten minutes walk to Europa-Park. This was extremely useful in the middle of the afternoon as we were able to take a break from the queues at Europa-Park and return to a place of calm. The hotel also had its own parking. Ensure you get clear instructions of how to find it.
All the staf were friendly.
The rooms are clean and there were some nice touches.
Swimming pool - Extremely small but served its purpose on a hot afternoon!!!!
The downside.
The room we were in was accessed by an outside metal stair case which was also used by other guests to get to their room. Unfortunately this made the room extremely noisy as everyone had to walk past our room.
The door to the room had frosted glass with no blind or curtain. No issue of privacy. However the door let light in especially since immediately outside was a light which turned on every time anyone walked up the stairs and passed our room. The noise and the light did not make for a good night's sleep. This would be the main reason why we would not stay again.
The breakfast was adequate. We did not sample the Thai food in the evening.
In summary. Great location. Helpful manager. Clean room. Draw back the noise of the outside metal stairwell and the lack of curtains meant an interrupted night sleep with the regular flitting on and off of the outside light.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJerseyCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The guest house is great....rooms are comfortable and restaurant is well priced and very good food. Breakfast was great as well! The only drawback if you arrive at the guesthouse when the reception opening hours are closed. After a long trip from Munich we were exhausted and asked for the room at around 1pm....however the reception was closed. Fortuneately enough, after some time we found the chef who had the keys.....but I highly recommend for anyone visiting Europa Park!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodutmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It's a nice place where you can stay one, maximum two nights, if you decide to visit Europa Park. This Guest House is very close to the amusement Park (incidentally, the Park is too cool and i'm sure you will enjoy it). In the Guest House, if you wish, you can have your meal: quality on average!
Our room was simple and tidy. Maybe only one bad point: The wooden frame around the bed was too higher than the mattress and for this reason it was uncomfortable to get into the bed, expecially for seniors people. A part of this, I cannot complain and maybe, If i come back to Rust one day, I will go again to Pension Schmidt.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniPalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The entrance is a little dodgy but it is a guest house but the reception is nice and so are the staff.
First problem, they cant find my reservation (though it was confirmed online and I showed them my confirmation).

So after 30-45mins they find my reservation and held my bags fine. I leave and come back. Now my biggest issue was the room, not so much the room itself but the location of the room.

We go basically back the front of the hotel facing the road with the sign on a wall thing, i swore he was carrying me into some lobby..nah it was the doors into the room. Yep, the room had to be an old lobby turned into a room. Looks nice on the inside, tho small but the door is like window panes, very little privacy. I went outside and sure enough could see directly into the room.

The bathroom's windows are frosted...except the top...hmm okay

I was told to call the desk with any problems, problem is the room had no phone.

There is a thing that looks like a blind u can operate..problem is its on the outside!!!! and then when i went to useit..its actually some mega canopy thing (again some old lobby).

So needless to say I was very anxious though out my night's sleep. It was either that or the headlights from the cars passing by.

Its sad because the staff were very friendly and everyone raved about the hotel. I'm sure if I got another room it would have been much nicer. breakfast was free and good and the staff offers you a ride to the train station free of charge.

Room Tip: ask for any room except the one facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallguy187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We spent a night at this lovely guesthouse during our 2 day trip to Europa Park. Its located at a 5 min walk to the park. We stayed in a triple room (the biggest in the entire trip). The breakfast was the best in the entire trip and must add that the dinner (They have a thai restaturant) was again the best we had during our 19 day trip. We were offered a free pickup from the railway station. On the way back they offered to drop us at the railway station (we risked missing the connecting train had we taken a bus) and did not even charge us for it. Chris and his father make sure that everyone feels comfortable and we thank them for their 5 star service

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rust hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Andante
Hotel Andante
#7 of 21 in Rust
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel "Colosseo" Europa-Park
0.6 mi away
Apollon Hotel
Apollon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Rust
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kosel
Hotel Kosel
#8 of 21 in Rust
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Loewen
Hotel Gasthof Loewen
#9 of 21 in Rust
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Park
Hotel am Park
#16 of 21 in Rust
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaestehaus Schmidt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus Schmidt

Property: Gaestehaus Schmidt
Address: Austr. 27, 77977 Rust, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Rust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Rust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaestehaus Schmidt 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 200 metres from the entrance of the Rust Europa-Park. It features an outdoor pool. Free on-site parking and a rich breakfast buffet are provided at the Gästehaus Schmidt. The bright rooms feature wooden furniture and satellite TV. Some rooms have a terrace, air-conditioning or a minibar. Guests can enjoy a relaxing time with a cocktail by the pool. The A5 motorway is 3 km away and provides a connection to Freiburg in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Gaestehaus Schmidt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaestehaus Schmidt Rust

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing