We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, perhaps a tad too efficient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel "Bell Rock" Europa-Park
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Rust
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel, perhaps a tad too efficient!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Wow, German efficiency honed to a fine skill! We arrived at reception, just to have the robot - err - the attendant rattle down her speech without listening to our questions. And we had some. Then, once we were heard, she did not know. Actually, it was something simple like 'why do we have to fill all this data in the data entry sheet?'. She had no idea - only that EVERYONE had to do that.
OK, cool, so checked in, ready for our lighthouse experience. Well, no, room only availabe at 3.30 pm, not earlier. We asked at 2 pm, still 3.30 pm. You cannot change the rules!!
OK, so finally room ready at 3.30 pm, we were led to the suite - nice room, great bunkbeds for the kids, but had to call cleaning to get the vacuum going - lots of dust still on the floor. So, some of the efficiency did not work so well.
Swimming pool was very nice, nicely heated. When we came back - nice gesture from management - we were greeted wtih a surprise because of bad cleaning. Well done!
We ate at the buffet restaurant, wanted another table but - lo and behold - efficiency forbids and robots cannot be convinced otherwise, because of the rules we cannot change tables. So we did not. Food was good, though - it is BBQ your own stuff. Quite pricey, too, but good quality.
Back in the room the sleep quality was ok, kind of diminished by the noisy ventilator in the bathroom and the lack of air conditioning.
All in all a good experience, albeit a bit robotic, but extremely and somewhat coldly efficient in service quality. I will give this hotel a very good rating, because it does not deserve an average one, but will choose another resort hotel next time.

Room Tip: If you feel rich, try one of the lighthouse suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    293
    53
    7
    7
See reviews for
687
194
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

we stayed here for three nights recently on a visit to europapark. overall its a very good place, with the usual for europapark in term of excellently themed and executed park hotels with great consistency and pleasant staff. it deosnt quite make top score for me because in some areas, its isn't not as good as its sister hotels, namely colossi

Rooms. nice, theme was latin america. overall the decor, while close to the theme came across as simply aged and rustic, and in fact could have been anywhere from NA to eastern europe. just ok. we had a exec =suite and thought it should have been better


Food. quite good. here the hotel falls well short of colosseo, which had a way bigger buffet and much better choices and in fact overall food quality. dinner at belle rock is more expensive so not good. similarly breakfast

Spa. excellent. better than colloseo. great pool.

staff. professional, not awfully well trained but ok.

Location. ok just off park, longer walk to park than other park hotels.

Room Tip: if you can, stay in sister hotel Colloseo, similar price but much better food
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Handad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Bell Rock for 4 nights in May. We had a corner room on the 3rd floor with views over towards Silver Star and one of the water rides which was great. Overall we thought the hotel was absolutely fantastic. The staff were helpful and professional and put up with our poor attempts at speaking German! The attention to detail on the theme was incredible, they even have the sound of the sea and boats played throughout the hotel.

The room was fairly small but had everything we needed, the bathroom is split into a lovely walk in shower and a toilet area which made it easy for two people to use at once. One thing I will mention is the sliding door for the bathroom was very noisy and was probably irritating for the people in the room underneath us. No tea or coffee making things in the room but I think that's standard for German hotels. All the little touches in the room were lovely, such as postcards and stationary, a fruit bowl left in the room and an old fashioned telephone.

We had good use out of the extensive pool area (both indoor and out) and spent a lot of time sat outside by the harbour area in the Spirit of St. Louis bar. Great cocktails (we sampled many!)

Breakfast was great- loads of choice and all very high quality produce.

We had a look at the other hotels in the park, we found the Bell Rock to not only be a great themed hotel but also a very good quality hotel. Overall, the hotel was fairly expensive as were the food and drinks, however it really was a very special experience and I would recommend anyone to stay at the Hotel Bell Rock.

Room Tip: Room 6372 on the 3rd floor had a view over one of the water rides and silver star. Up in the eves of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have never traveled the East Coast before. However, I am an American living abroad. Walking up to the resort makes you instantly feel as if you were in Maine. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We were celebrating my sons birthday and they left him a gift in the room upon check in. I had dinner reservations in the Captains Finest Restaurant. They made him a chocolate cake (my request) and delivered it after our meal.
Our meal was wonderful and it felt like we were on a giant old ship.
The Spirit of St.Louis bar was also very nice. The staff was extremely friendly and entertaining. It's decorated like an old airplane hangar with awesome knick knacks on the wall.
The entire hotel property is lovely and we enjoyed all our time there after park hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShanyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Europa Park is our kids (7 yo girl and 11 yo boy) favourite holiday destination in the world. Having previously stayed at the Colosseo twice, it was nice to step up the new Bell Rock. Excellent breakfast which was included in the room rate. We found the buffet dinner better at the Colosseo so would make the easy 5 minute walk over there each night. The pool was unfortunately a little to cold to spend much time in. Overall an excellent Theme Park hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms quite a walk to reception. Higher rooms = more light, less noise and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Room: We've rented the Fairfield Suite, which is one of the twelve presidential suites in the Bell Rock Hotel. It's split on two levels and I found it considerably larger than I had assumed based on the pictures on the hotel website.
The lower floor where you enter has one king bed plus bathroom with shower and a separate toilet plus a writing desk and plenty of storage space. Loads of nautical & New England theme elements, which I found was done in an extremely sucessfull way.
The view is over the swimming pool towards the Europa Park.

The "upper deck" has a comfortable living room with sofa and a few chairs, another bed room with a king bed and two bunk beds, another bath room and another separate toilet.
Our room featured a little Terrasse between our building and the next. Nice to watch the Stork's nest just a few metes away.

So the suite comfortably sleeps six and feels very relaxed if it's occupied by only four.
All furniture and appliances are of top quality.

What we liked:
- The atmosphere in the room just felt "right", comfortable and relaxed. Not over the top or "kitsch" but - for me - the right approach with a lot of care for details.
- As expected, it's definitely a different experience vs.the regular family rooms of other Europapark hotels where we've stayed many times as well.
- The indoor / outdoor simming pool with the excellent showers (The pool was 32 degrees)
- Food Quality, excellent selection and great setting of the Harbourside restaurant for Breakfast and Dinner.

What we did not like:
- Internet connection was a constant hassle throughout our 4 night stay. The connection sometimes worked in the lower floor, but the signal was too poor in the upper floor and the connection was so slow that I found it was inadequate for such an expensive room.
- Old Flowers: There was a little flower arrangement, but that was already past its due date when we arrived. It was never replaced during our stay, so it turned from white to brown.
- Service at the Harbourside restaurant: Far too few employees to cope with the many guests for breakfast and dinner, resulting in uncleared dishes and long wait times to settle the bill.
We've almost piled up as many plates to build our own lighthouse before they were finally cleared.

Surroundings:
Easy walking distance to Europapark and that is passing within around 30meters from Edeka Supermarket to stock up on groceries.

Room Tip: Not sure if the EUR 300 / night surcharge for these suites vs. standard rooms is worth it. It IS nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Popoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The whole set up at Europa Park is awesome. On the whole I really dislike mass tourism, avoid queues, dislike crowds etc. In theory I should really dislike the Hotel Bell Rock and the whole Europa Park resort, but nothing further from the truth. I think I read that the Bell Rock alone has 1000 beds! You'd never know it - standards are very high, facilities in rooms spot on, quality bed linen, towels etc, very comfortable beds. We had a room with two double beds. Our 20 year old girl and 15 year old boy had no trouble sharing because the beds are 6 feet so each person has their own 3 foot of space and their own duvet. They class this room as standard. It is enormous by European standards and plenty of space for 4 adults. There was only one thing we didn't like and that was the dining experience in the Harbourside restaurant. It's a buffet - the food was very good for what it is - but you do know about the other 996 residents at dinner time - the noise was awful, drinks service slow. We avoided this on the other two nights and our overall hotel experience was back to 5*. By the way, the inclusive breakfast buffet in the same venue was quieter and more sedate and there was magnificent choice. Other than at dinner, the hotel was quiet - no noise whatsoever from neighbouring rooms, nor outside at night time.

Room Tip: Room 6125 is on a rear corner overlooking the lake and pool and has double aspect, so lots of light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rust hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel "Colosseo" Europa-Park
0.2 mi away
Hotel "Castillo Alcazar" Europa-Park
0.2 mi away
Hotel "El Andaluz" Europa-Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollon Hotel
Apollon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Rust
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Andante
Hotel Andante
#7 of 21 in Rust
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel am Park
Hotel am Park
#13 of 21 in Rust
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel "Bell Rock" Europa-Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel "Bell Rock" Europa-Park

Property: Hotel "Bell Rock" Europa-Park
Address: Peter-Thumb-Strasse 6, 77977 Rust, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Rust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Rust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel "Bell Rock" Europa-Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Bell Rock" with 225 rooms and suites takes the adventurous holiday-makers on a trip back to the New-England of the 18th century. Three restaurants will please the palates of the seafarers: "Ammolite - The Lighthouse Restaurant", "Harborside" the buffet restaurant and "Captain's Finest" the a la carte restaurant. Splashy adventures await all the sailors at the pool area with inner and outer pool and a water playground. A park with maritime landscape highlights the seafarer-flair. The Europa-Park entrance tickets can be obtained at the hotel reception. In the summer season guests have the possibility to enjoy certain attractions of Europa-Park half an hour (in the winter season one hour) before the park officially opens. Europa-Park "winter season": 28th November 2015 until 10th january 2016 (On New Year's Eve open until 6.30 pm) Europa-Park "summer season 2016": 19th march 2016 until 06 november 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel "Bell Rock" Europa-Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing