We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, amazing, amazing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camon
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing, amazing, amazing”
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Having just returned from the most beautiful weekend I cant help but be a little sad to be home!

Friends had their wedding at L'Abbaye & I was lucky to stay there for 3 days. We all felt truly like it was a home from home, the family & staff were so welcoming, the food was amazing & they really gave us a few days to remember.

The gardens are stunning, the views unbeatable, the pool (a little chilly but very refreshing!!) & all in all an experience I will repeat

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — that i couldnt stay longer
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macandiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
93
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

I could go on and on but brevity can be equally effective.

This simply is the nicest hotel guesthouse I have ever stayed in.

The building, the hosts, the food, the surroundings, tariff. Magic.

Go!

  • Liked — Food, surroundings
  • Disliked — Too short a stay
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

This must be one of the most beautiful places to stay in the area. Not only is the accomodation in one of the most stunning historic buildings you can imagine, but the welcome is totally professional. Warm and informal, without being offhand or obtrusive the staff and owners do everything they can to make sure your stay is perfect.
Make sure you book for dinner because the food is outstanding.

This is a B&B with the luxury feel of a top boutique hotel, which means you can really relax and enjoy the family atmosphere, while experiencing surroundings that few hotels can match, and food that ranks with the best.

  • Liked — Luxury and history combined
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Phoenix_redux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
female, uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Welcomed like dear old friends into a fabulous vaulted and ornate abbey chateau with gorgeous bedrooms and set in beautiful grounds in Cathar country - what more could one want?
Well, throw in wonderful, elegantly genial young hosts (Katie - think Darryl Rivers, Head girl at Mallory Towers & Peter - think Ben Fogle cross with a young David Attenborough), add the most divine dining experience...and you have the nearest thing I have found to perfection.

ps don't come here if you want to smoke, shout loudly into your mobile, conduct business, wear jeans or shorts for dinner or complain about anything - at least don't come when I'm there & I'm off tomorrow for my third visit this summer.



  • Liked — fantasic atmosphere & food
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank report88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

If you're looking for an extremely peaceful bolthole in beautiful rural France, then L'Abbaye Chateau de Camon is for you. On entering this historic mediaeval abbey, you get a real sense of sanctuary in an amazingly romantic setting. This is supported by the truly wonderful, highly personal yet relaxed service you receive from host-proprietors Peter and Katie Lawton. Together with their small yet highly professional team, they made our week-long stay unforgettable.

All 16 bedrooms could quite easily grace the cover of any decor magazine, and the finishing touches of top quality bedlinens and soft, goose down pillows ensured we had a great night's sleep every night.

Waking up to birdsong every morning was a treat, as were the amazingly tasty breakfasts of fresh breads, croissants and fruits. The Abbaye doubles up as a restaurant in the evenings, where you can expect inventive Michelin-style home cooking from Tom, the brilliant in-house chef.

All in all, a magical place which I would recommend to anyone looking for a tranquil break in romantic surroundings with elements of luxury at an affordable(ish) price.

  • Liked — The peaceful surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing - all good!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SheenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

This is the second time that my partner and I have stayed at this Hotel this year. The emphasis is on complete relaxation in beautiful surroundings where you feel looked after without being hounded by the owners. They manage to make you feel relaxed, almost as if you were staying in your own home. If only this were my home! The rooms are beautifully decorated, each having an individual luxurious theme and feel. The terrace is a wonderful place to take breakfast with views over the countryside and mountains and the evening meals are incredibly good which, weather permitting, are taken in the cloister. Considering the quality of the accommodation, service and food that we have received on each visit I would say that a stay here is excellent value. The professional yet very approachable charm of the owners (Peter, Katie and Jocasta) make this a very special place to visit. I look forward to returning to the Chateau in the near future, perhaps for a visit in the winter to enjoy the open fires and cosy ambiance. Go ahead and treat yourself...

  • Liked — The individuality of the rooms
  • Disliked — The low doorway in to the bathroom!
  • Tips/Secrets — Make a special trip to nearby Lagarde and Mirepoix. Beautiful!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shlumptyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2006

Agree wholeheatedly with Pat McArdle's review. This place is great for a weekend break. Hosts are wonderfully attentive, food is to die for, rooms are big and well appointed. It is quiet (as are surrounding towns and vllages) but if you are looking to get away from it all for a couple of days, this could be what you are looking for.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camon
22.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Agnes
Le Manoir d'Agnes
#1 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
172 reviews
6.6 mi away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
139 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Maison des Consuls
La Maison des Consuls
#2 of 5 in Mirepoix
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
6.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Minotiers
3.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Chalabre
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon

Property: L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon
Address: L'abbaye Chateau de Camon, 09500 Camon, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Camon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camon
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
l`Abbaye Chateau De Camon Hotel Camon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing