We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical 2 star french hotel”
Review of Hotel de la Glane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Glane
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The best things about this hotel is it's location and restaurant (when open). It's a 10 minute walk to the martyr village. We've stayed here three times as we run trips which includes a visit to the old village. The hotel is a bit disapointing, we've always had to get the key from the owners other restaurant 200 metres away. The rooms could do with a lick of paint and some of the shower doors won't close. Don't let this put you off as the Martyr village is a MUST VISIT and you can return to this hotel for a great dinner - when the restaurant's open.
Got to say that our guests didn't mind the hotel and it's not the worst around. Very good value for money. I'd recommend the hotel as it's the best in Oradour (there are two).

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ciderman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 27 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2009

The room was quite pleasant and overlooked the town square but was very quiet at night. The price was at the lower end of the 2 star hotels and was very good value although the bed was a little uncomfortable and the blankets rather worn.
As there were not many guests the restaurant was not open so we ate at the Milord Hotel nearby. The food was very good and reasonably priced.
Overall recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelbourneRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

I have used this hotel several times when travelling between Brittany and my home in Pyrenees-Orientales. It lives up to its rating, is a good comfortable French family hotel. Rooms are well decorated, clean and comfortable. The hotel overlooks the main square and is close to a variety of shops. It is a comfortable walk to the sacked old village and the museum dedicated to the atrocity.

The hotel dining room has a good menu, uses local produce and offers local cuisine. The proprietors also run a nearby restaurant, The Milord, which is exceptionally good.

Well recommended.

Stayed: November 2008
5  Thank MickJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

A very pleasant Logis de France hotel in the town square, furnished in a fairly modern style, with a very decent breakfast. Room 46 Euros, breakfast @ 8 Euros.
The same family (perhaps the Milord family, of whom there are many in the cemetery) run the Hôtel/Restaurant Le Milord about 200 yards away at the entrance to the new village (10, rue du 10 Juin 1944, 87520 Oradour-sur-Glane, Tél : [--]). We had dinner there, and the 12.50 Euro menu was very reasonable.
(it seemed that, with trade quite slack, they were booking all guests into the La Glane hotel, but using the Le Milord restaurant except for breakfast).

Stayed: June 2008
4  Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Well, La Glane may have problems keeping their reservations in order, as noted in previous reviews, but we had absolutely no problems. Of course, we were staying in late March, and we may have been the only people staying in the hotel that evening (sure felt like it).

We were in Paris, and on a whim I wrote Logis de France and asked to reserve a room in Oradour for the following day. When we arrived, I wasn't sure they would even have a reservation, but they did. The gentleman took us down to Milord, their other hotel, to check in.

What can I say? It's a basic, inexpensive option. Not a glamorous property by any stretch of the imagination. The guy who checked us in and Madame, who served us dinner at Milord (pretty good, don't skip the Limousin beef but you can skip dessert) and breakfast at La Glane, were both friendly and accommodating.We had great water pressure in the shower and easy parking.

Oradour itself is fascinating, heartwrenching, important. A must-see.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank SFLeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

This will be rather like the previous review. We had booked two nights at this hotel over 9 months ago and had a confirmation number from the Logis de France website. We arrived at La Glane and found we had to go the the Milord to book in. We were told that they had never received our booking and were fully booked.

(Talking to a Logis proprietor later, in Normandy, she said that the Logis were "spot on" with notifications and she guessed that the Ordaour hotels had overlooked our booking).

A person from the Milord did find us a room in St Junien, about 8 miles away, which was so awful we stayed just the one night and then totally revamped our holiday.

The martyred village at Oradour sur Glane is a must to visit but stay in Limoges!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
6  Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2006

i made a reservation in the above hotel two months in advance using the Logis de France online reservation facility, however I never received a response from Hotel la Glane via email. After several weeks i made the reservation again but over the phone and the hotel was informed that we would not arrive until 9-10 PM. Because of our late arrival we gave our credit card as a guarantee. We received no confirmation number from the hotel at this time. We arrived at approximately 9PM and found the hotel reception empty. A sign directed us towards Hotel le Milord. Here we were told that there was no note beside our booking saying that we would be late and the Hotel was now booked out. We were also told that it was not possible to book in after 9PM. Overall we found the entire experience very disappointing and extremely frustrating, especially as it was the first night of our holiday and we had just completed a long journey. i would not recommend the hotel ... and in future will insist on a confirmation number ....

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oradour-sur-Glane
4.9 mi away
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Saint Junien
118 reviews
6.9 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
#2 of 3 in Saint Junien
145 reviews
8.3 mi away
Citotel Les Alizes
Citotel Les Alizes
#25 of 45 in Limoges
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
#4 of 45 in Limoges
684 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Glane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Glane

Address: Place du General de Gaulle, Oradour-sur-Glane, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Oradour-sur-Glane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oradour-sur-Glane
Price Range: $65 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Glane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Glane Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing