We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Without any doubt, the best B&B I’ve ever stayed at!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Moulin de La Fauvette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oradour-sur-Glane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Moulin de La Fauvette
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Without any doubt, the best B&B I’ve ever stayed at!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well, what a marvellous experience. I’ve just returned from a weekend visiting the martyr village of Oradour sur Glane with my (pensioner) father and enjoyed a memorable overnight stay at Le Moulin de la Fauvette. Prices reasonable, fantastic value, terrific hospitality from extremely helpful and friendly hosts who make you feel at ease in a way I’ve rarely met. Mike and Amanda make you feel part of the family from the onset and certainly go the extra mile.
The evening meal is prepared by Mike and Amanda’s son and is cooked from local produce – honestly, this was a first class 5 course meal, the wine flowed freely and the hosts ensured it was a perfect evening for the twelve guests at the table.
Would I recommend this B&B to you? Absolutely, without hesitation! We loved our stay, it was just perfect.
By Neil H (and Geoff, his dad).

Room Tip: We had the family room as my dad doesn't do steps too well, (recommended by Amanda who called me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Mike and Amanda couldn't have been more helpful, warm and friendly right from my enquiry through to our stay in the gite 4th September 2013 -6th September. The gite was fab, really comfy and so nice to have our own space (2 couples). I have to say we had our best meal in the region here courtesy of Mike the grillmeister, and it was so nice to meet other guests & chat on a perfect late summer evening by the river/brook. They really went out of their way to make sure I was catered for as a veggie. I would absolutely stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend to anyone visiting or passing through to check this little gem out. Kim F

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I with children (15 year old daughter, 13 year old son and 7 year old daughter) spent two very memorable and highly enjoyable nights at the Moulin in mid August and felt at the end of our stay like we were part of the family. Mike and Amanda greeted us with a warm and friendly welcome and could not do enough for us to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. They encouraged us to make use of their temptingly cool swimming pool, which the chidlren, after a long and hot journey were delighted to do. In fact, this provided a couple of hours of fun entertainment for them whilst my husband and I chilled, enjoying not having to be on the road for a while. We dined on Mike and Amanda's river terrace on the first night along with several of the other guests and Mike treated us to an amazing feast of a barbeque with a wide range of delicious salads and accompaniments, aperitif, wine and digestif to follow. The dessert (a very French "clafoutis") was devoured by all the guests and loved particularly by my children. To give you an idea of the lovely setting of the Moulin, the property stands alongisde a very shallow river where ducks, geese, and horses amble along throughout the day and furthermore, on walking back to the gite after the meal, we could not get over the clarity and vastness of the night sky - being really spoilt with a sighting of some shooting stars. All in all a wonderful chambre d'hote, run by extrememly dedicated, delighful people. We are definitely going to try and plan any future routes to the south of France via the Moulin de la Fauvette. Thanks Mike and Amanada for a fabuous two days. Say hi to Miko and Marley !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just got home from France and a stay with Amanda&Mike at Le Moulin de la Fauvette, I have been looking at flights to go back!!!!
The welcome was warm and friendly, I was very nervous about staying in France but as soon as we got here it was like been home from home.And they could not do enough for us and our son of 2, We had evening meals on 3 occasions and it was every bit as good as a restaurant.
This is a welcoming and warm place to stay, Full of rustic charm!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

In seven years living and travelling around France, I have never come across a chambre d'hôte quite like this. You will travel many a mile to meet people as genuinely welcoming, or as good at putting people at their ease, as Mike and Amanda. This is not a stately home, but a kind of ideal home from home in a leafy nook by a slow little river, where a small menagerie of animals worthy of Gerald Durrell (they thankfully drew the line at a cockerel), gambol and graze between the mill water and the woods beyond. The days begin and end around a long and very convivial très bonne table (son Oliver is a chef), where families from half a dozen nationalities rub shoulders and exchange jokes — usually along the lines that the English can cook after all — while carp as big as your arm somersault in the millpond below. The rooms are clean and cottagey, all beams and bare stone and plaster as you would expect of an old mill, and the bedding so snug it's hard to stay awake long enough to explore the big starry sky. This is one of those very special places where the warm glow in your heart lingers on long, long after you have left. Amanda and Mike have a gift of bringing out the best in people. Our daughter adored them and their two darling dogs and pleaded to stay on longer after our third night. For how long, we asked, "For 12 years!" she said. It's that sort of place. We will almost certainly be back, even if that means having to make a long detour to do so. (And oh, the wifi is super-fast — much faster than at home in Paris)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IncertusHibernus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

What gems of people and location. Mike and Amanda are so welcoming to all. You can read about the unique nature of their wonderful place in the other reviews and by looking at their excellent website but I wanted to stress an aspect of their character which was invaluable to my wife and I. My wife had to visit cemtral France for a business meeting. Although 150 miles away, the nearest airpost was Limoges. We had booked the airport parking in the UK, the flights and the places to stay in France - including Le Moulin de la Fauvette for our first and last nights. The only thing left to do was to book the hire car for our round trip of 300 miles and for a bit of sightseeing. Disaster! The limited supply of hire cars at Limoges airport meant that there was absolutely no hire car availability from the airport and it was looking like an expensive cancellation of the whole trip. However, in their unflappable way, Mike and Amanda suggested trying the local supermarket assuring us that they would be able to ferry us to and from the airport and the supermarket (obviously for a fee as they have a living to earn - but a very reasonable fee indeed), A quick call to the supermarket and a suitable car was booked with a lot less effort and aggravation than often experienced with one of the multinational companies.On arrival at Limoges airport a grinning Mike was waiting to ferry us to La Fauvette to meet the equally smiling Amanda so that we could drop off our luggage and freshen up before driving us in a different car ( you never know which car Mike is going to turn up in but turn up he does) to the supermarket to pick up our hire car. Our french is reasonably good but Mike was on hand to help in case we had any difficulties. After getting the car we had a quick shop around the same supermarket for our evening picnic meal which we ate outside at Mike and Amanda's chatting to Mike and Amanda and with the deligtful company of Miko and Marley while the sun set in the distance. The hire car drop off and the drop off at the airport in the morning went with clockwork precision despite the multitude of jobs and activities that both Mike and Amanda juggle.The trip to the airport was in yet another vehicle! In summary we had an enjoyable stay in a comfortable room in a lovely location but it is the unfailing good humour and determination to please of Mike and Amanda which makes this place extra extra special.

Peter & Ros Cross

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_and_R0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here so that we could spend some time in Oradour sur Glane on our way to our main destination. It was a good value place with a great suite for families. We opted for the home prepared meal on the first night which was a fabulous barbecue with a limitless supply of food and wine. We ate on a long table by the river with the other guests, it was lovely to mix with different nationalities in such a pretty setting.

Amanda and Mike obviously work incredibly hard as most of the rooms turn over every night. However they were very friendly and spent time talking to each guest. I was a bit disappointed that they didn't know a bit more about Oradour - I was hoping they would have some insight from the locals. We would highly recommend this place, the accommodation is simple but comfortable, the little pool gave respite from the heat and the dogs are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oradour-sur-Glane
4.9 mi away
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Saint Junien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.1 mi away
Auberge de la Source
Auberge de la Source
#1 of 1 in Cieux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
9.9 mi away
Citotel Les Alizes
Citotel Les Alizes
#23 of 43 in Limoges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin
6.9 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
#2 of 3 in Saint Junien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
13.7 mi away
Campanile Limoges Nord
Campanile Limoges Nord
#10 of 43 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin de La Fauvette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de La Fauvette

Property: Le Moulin de La Fauvette
Address: 60 route de Confolens | La Fauvette, 87520 Oradour-sur-Glane, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Oradour-sur-Glane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oradour-sur-Glane
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing