We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay and perfect setting as well”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oradour-sur-Glane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Moulin de La Fauvette
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A great place to stay and perfect setting as well”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

in the village of La Fauvette, near Oradour sur Glane - A pastoral location along the River Glane. The commons rooms were casual and friendly, what you'd expect from a bed & breakfast. Our bedroom was basic but comfortable and the bathroom was fine. The hosts were friendly, helpful and informative, and we enjoyed chatting with other visitors over a leisurely breakfast. Very reasonably priced. Easy to find, just 3kms or so from Oradour-sur-Glane.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris-Cemeteries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bree, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

spent 2 wonderful days here,perfect hosts.definatly recomend it.great breakfast great rooms lovely area and the company of the dogs.very helpful people with an excellent service.this is an ideal place for people who would like to visit the old war torn village of oradour sur glane.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

spent a lovely afternoon/evening at Le Moulin de La Fauvette and our hosts Mike and Amanda could not have done more to help. Myself and three biking buddies arrived a day late due to a puncture but our hosts were still able to accommodate us in a barn conversion 200m up the road.
The barn was beautifully designed and decorated by Mike and Amanda and had everything you could need. Seriously considering going back for a longer stay it really is a gorgeous area.
That evening we asked the guys to recommend a local restaurant and mike gave us a little guided tour and a lift to a great little place he knew with excellent French cuisine even stayed to talk us through the menu have a couple of drinks a great chat and best of all a lift home and inbetween rescued a fellow biker with a puncture what a lovely genuine Bloke! The property is ideally placed for the martyr village the main reason for staying extremely moving and something everyone should see. we left the next morning after a lovely breakfast with the lovely bubbly Amanda. would not hesitate to highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDenyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFrance, Owner at Le Moulin de La Fauvette, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Many thanks for a lovely review. Considering the problems you'd had the day before with the bike, you all arrived so jolly . It was our pleasure to be able to fit you all in and take you to the restaurant. We look forward to maybe seeing you again in the future.
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

An absolutely brilliant service for travellers using Limoges Airport. Very reasonable prices especially when compared to airport parking. Mike could not be more helpful. Started my car a couple of times during the 20-day stay, just to check that battery was OK.

This kind of service is just what we Francophiles have been searching for. Try it for yourself - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank horticulture98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family of five stayed only one night, but the children didn't want to leave. We arrived and were greated by Amanda, a lovely British lady. We were the only guests that night so we had the whole house to ourselves. There is a shared kitchen and living room, so we went to the local market and picked up a few things for the evening. Amanda invited the kids to come out and play with her two dogs. They had such a great time playing catch with them as well as playing with the guinea pig and ducks. It is such a beautiful place and the Mike and Amanda have done a wonderful job restoring it while keeping its charm. It is impecibly clean and breakfast was included and wonderful. Amanda was extremely helpful and gave us directions to the market and a local pizza place, as well as offering suggestions for local restaurants. I would definently recommend staying at Le Moulin de La Fauvette.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, just pick the one that suits you. We stayed on the main floor in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFrance, Owner at Le Moulin de La Fauvette, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you all stay with us and it's very easy to be a nice host with such a nice family. We are so glad that the children enjoyed the animals. They are normally a big hit for the children. Miko and Marley are always glad to play ball and they are so good with children being so young themselves. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in France.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and maybe if your ever passing this way again you will come and say hi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night and we're glad we did. Amanda immediately made us feel at home and we had the entire cabin to ourselves as no one else was staying that night. It felt very clean and comfortable. The cabin used to be the local miller's home and the family took great care to restore the home - there are even original beams still in the house. The backyard is lovely with a stream, friendly ducks + horses. :) Very convenient location for the martyr village, too {which is a big reason we chose this b&b} and very well-priced. I would definitely recommend this b&b. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFrance, Owner at Le Moulin de La Fauvette, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you two girls stay and it's so nice to see such a good friendship between you both. You will miss each other when you go back to America in the summer :(
Hope that you enjoyed the Brocantes on the way through France girls!!! It would be lovely to see you again one day but i understand it's a long way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed with the owners Mike and Amanda for a couple of nights on my way through to Spain, fantastic, superb people, everything was great, room was great, clean and comfortable, food very well cooked and served, pleasant surroundings. Priced very keen as well
The owners have gone out of their way to make traverlers and holiday makers feel they are not imposing on anything, unlike some places i have stayed in where to ask for an extra cup of coffe was tabbo.....would i go back....without any doubt YES i would.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oradour-sur-Glane
4.9 mi away
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Saint Junien
109 reviews
9.9 mi away
Citotel Les Alizes
Citotel Les Alizes
#25 of 44 in Limoges
68 reviews
6.9 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
#2 of 3 in Saint Junien
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Auberge de la Source
Auberge de la Source
#1 of 1 in Cieux
26 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel La Meteorite
Hotel La Meteorite
#2 of 2 in Rochechouart
77 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin de La Fauvette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de La Fauvette

Property: Le Moulin de La Fauvette
Address: 60 route de Confolens | La Fauvette, 87520 Oradour-sur-Glane, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Oradour-sur-Glane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oradour-sur-Glane
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing