We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau De Rigny
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De La Tour(Dampierre-sur-Salon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel du Donjon(Champlitte)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Saint Antoine(Lamarche-sur-Saone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
63
66
13
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
66
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolthe riverthe ownermain buildingtop notchbeautiful buildingtwo nightsgreat fooddining roomopen fireold schoolwonderful placefive starsaoneannexgroundspark
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 152 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Chateau Rigny is the kind of hotel you dream about when planning your trip. My husband and I stayed 3 blissful nights in September/October. Our room was huge and well furnished, with a private terrace which contained chairs, tables and a couch, all under a canopy. I especially appreciated the good reading lights by the beds and the refrigerator. Breakfast was great and dinner so good we dined two nights, a rarity for us since we like lighter meals in the evening. Walking iinto that gorgeous chateau for meals was a real treat. The manager was very professional and hospitable, truly a fascinating guy, I wanted to ask him to join us for dinner and find out more about his ancestry and the hotel's history. He even attempted to assist with a minor car problem, calling in one of his waiters who was a "car guy". I agree with all the positive reviews of Rigny, cannot think of a single negative ... it wasn't even difficult to find as is the case with lots of historical properties.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the Chateau on Dec 29th. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the manager and staff. We were quickly escorted to our room, which was spacious and nicely appointed. It overlooked the river and courtyard which was a treat with the river being so high we could listen to the water with our window open.
Dinner was fabulous! I'm a foodie and love to eat great meals. This is one of the top 5 meals I've ever had. House made Foie Gras, Venison, amazing cheese and the dessert was to die for.
The wine list was extensive and reasonable. I'm not sure what the other reviewer was saying by expensive. Most of the bottles they have are hard to find wines that are old and reasonable for what you get. We had a beautiful Margaux from 1986 that was a little over 100 euros. That would have easily been a 400.00 bottle in the US. It was amazing and paired well with the food.
The room was not decorated to our taste, but the bed was comfortable and left me not wanting to awake.

The staff was so pleasant and took great care to ensure our happiness!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Teresa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having been recommended to stay here, we had fairly high expectations of a pleasant overnight stay. Sadly, these hopes were dashed. Our room was very small and dark, overlooking a high hedge, and the bathroom was a disaster. Putting those negative feelings aside, we were looking forward to a good dinner. Once again we were very disappointed, not just by the mediocre quality of the food and lack of presentation (the only real plus was the dessert which was excellent, due to the work of a very good pastry chef), but mainly by the owner/managers attitude which was, to say the least, arrogant, rude and thoroughly unprofessional. Having been subjected to a very lengthy harangue by him because we had the temerity to say the white wine was too warm, which he terminated by saying we obviously new nothing about how wines should be served or, indeed, what they should taste like and suggested we put ice in our drinks, all we wanted to do was leave his establishment as soon as possible, never to return.
On the plus side, the hotel is set in very attractive grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Were being spoiled with a present of a night at the Chateau which was a treat. The location was in a large park with river view. Our room was furnished in the Chinese style, but was comfortable and the bathroom and separate toilet were very clean.The dinner (menu) was very good including foie gras, venison and rich desserts! The wines were also good but expensive. The breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Chateau itself. The ones in the 'pavillon' annexe looked a bit ordinary.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WRB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This property exceeded our expectations. We also stayed for dinner which was terrific and we say that the value for this Chateau is fantastic.
We should have booked for 2 nights and just had a day relaxing in the Chateau. The grounds and room are unbelievable. The heated pool sensational,wines terrific, service great and breakfast on the terrace overlooking the River Saone was memorable.
Well worth the little bit extra in cost and we could not fault the service nor facilities.
Dave and Barb
Brisbane

Room Tip: All rooms are terrific. If you are hiring a barge from Gray then spend a couple of days here before or after your barge trip.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews