We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine tour not in tourist bus”
Review of Chateau Fonplegade

Chateau Fonplegade
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wine tour not in tourist bus”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Chateau is unique, it has warehouse in California USA and they can ship you wines at no extra cost from California within Continental USA. Canadian are not so fortunate. But the place has excellent collection of high quality wine. It is generally not in tour books or coach tours. Arrange a private tour taste excellent wines and the beautiful surroundings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canadian5380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    3
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Modern Chateau”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are in Bordeaux, France please take a day-trip to St. Emilion - a small nearby town that is approximately 35 minutes via train. You can walk from the train station into St. Emilion. What a beautiful town - small but with all the charm of Europe! The Chateau Fonplegade is a nearby winery - quite modern and up-to-date. Tours and wine tasting are available. . .free! The tour is worthwhile and lasts 30-45 minutes, demonstrating all the intricacies of a modern winery. You may have to catch a taxi to the Chateau. The vineyards at the Chateau and around the entire town of St. Emilion are beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simone949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow - better than expected”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a great tour and then wine tasting. the knowledge of the tour guide was fantastic. Great value for money. Was a wonderful location as well. We would highly recommended this to anyone!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HSJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barrios, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent insight into a Bordeaux vineyard”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

No shortage of wineries to choose from here but as we only had one day a Google search to book one in advance was needed. Chateau Fonplegade had everything we wanted and a 1.5 hr private tour was easy to arrange by e-mail. We paid the extra half hour to be taken around the vines and think it was well worth it to get a better flavour of the place. The last hour then spent inside the winery culminating in the all important tasting - red wine isn't usually something I'd flock to buy but some of these tasted wonderful and are now sitting in the rack at home (arrived at our home by courier a couple of days before we expected them to). Many thanks to our guide, Elisa, who was thoroughly engaging and contributed greatly to our enjoyment of the visit . If you aren't an 'oenophile' and just want to visit one vineyard in this area to find out about what goes on, I couldnt recommend this place more highly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mick_Dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is my first trip advisor review. I must confess that for the last couple of years I have been one of those people who has religiously planned their days out/holidays with the opinions of others, and have never contributed anything back! I think it speaks volumns that this venue above all others has inspired me to try and share my own opinions with the world of trip advisor for the first time!

Drove to this vineyard from Bordeaux after having it recommended to us by the kind lady in the Bordeaux Tourist Information office. We planned the trip by phoning ahead two days before to check that we could have a tour with an English speaking guide; and chose to pop there at a time that would allow us to walk around St Emilion for a couple of hours first. For two people who are not wine experts, it was lovely to walk around the town and immerse ourselves in the culture, over-looking the beautiful vistas from the high points, and strolling through the cobbled streets, popping in-and-out of the little boutiques.

The journey to the Chateau from the town of St Emilion would take a keen walker less than half an hour (and the views would be lovely), but as we had decided that it would be unlikely that we'd be coming away empty-handed, we opted to take the car. Upon arrival, the chateau stands out as being quite a beautiful building, and everything around it seems well manicured. We had opted for the more complete tour which included a guided drive around the vines first. We were told the trip would last approximately an hour and a half in total, including both the outdoors and inside parts of the visit. As there were only two of us, ours was a little more brief, however our guide has been very informative and the duration seemed to be just about right: Nelty was a brilliant host! The wine tasting is very fun, and the wines are delicious. Having just got back to the hotel in Bordeaux now and Googled everything I can on the chateau, it seems their wines are well thought of, and their focus on organic/sustainable farming methods is gaining them much recognition.

Thoroughly glad we went, a real pleasant high-point in our two week honeymoon around France!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Fonplegade also viewed

Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to Chateau Fonplegade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing