We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location and accommodation”
Review of Chateau Valandraud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Valandraud
Ranked #11 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location and accommodation”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights but wish it had been a longer visit. When we arrived, we were knocked out by the wonderful fragrance coming from the big tilleul (linden) trees standing near the house - what a welcome! We'd bypassed the check-in in St Emilion (the town was packed and difficut to get into, as we didn't know the place at all) which didn't seem to cause a problem. The accommodation was splendid - we had room 5 up under the roof which stayed cool despite the heat outside (up in the 30s C). Comfortable big bed and high standard of furnishings, though we could have used a bit more shelf space and more places to hang wet towels after the frequent showers (really good powerful shower, too) that we needed to keep cool. Tall people would need to watch out for the low beams! The extra bed is screened by a partition from the rest of the room, so privacy for the third person. Sadly only a restricted view of the vineyards because the windows are low and small, but that wasn't a problem for us, though we needed to keep the curtains drawn to stop flies coming in. Breakfast was delicious - fresh crusty bread & croissants and butter/jam, cheese/cold meat and fruit/yoghurt, with plentiful coffee and eggs if you wanted them - and the ladies looking after us were all very friendly and helpful, particularly as we had a baby (who loved the hot tub!) in the group. We were able to use the kitchen facilities to prepare food for her and for the night we didn't go out for dinner, but in the area there are plenty of restaurant options for lunch or dinner - also a decent LeClerc supermarket in nearby Castillon with a good range of foods (also an Aldi & local Spar) if you want self-catering. The spacious lounge area was very comfortable and cool during the day, though we didn't spend a lot of time there, we were mostly outside in the sun, enjoying the view over rolling vineyards. To sit on the terrace at sunset and into the late evening was so relaxing, though you might need anti-mozzie cream. We were able to wander round the vineyards and were even given an impromptu tour of the 'caves', where the Valandraud wine is produced, by the very knowledgeable man who looks after the place. The 'Chateau Valandraud' was too expensive for us to buy, sadly, but we had some of the 'Virginie de Valandraud' which was a very acceptable substitute. It wasn't a cheap holiday option, but we wouldn't hesitate to go back - a very special experience that we will always remember.

Room Tip: We had the only triple room, with the quirky beams, but the Deluxe room on the first floor has its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzie_Dripping_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed one night in May, and wish we had booked to stay longer. It was a really charming place, renovated to a really high standard. There was a nice terrace to enjoy the local wines, with a stunning view over the vineyards at sunset. The ladies working there were very helpful and friendly. There is a massive kitchen you can use to make little snacks, and a well stocked fridge from which you can buy local wines. Its only a few minutes drive to beautiful St Emilion town, but if you're thinking of going in the evening, the taxis can be expensive, with the meter wizzing round. The taxi driver said its only the British and Americans who bother about drink driving and use taxis ;o)

I will definitely return and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renothethief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A wonderful stay. The hotel overlooks fantastic vineyards and the rooms are extremely clean and quite modern, however retaining many original features. Breakfast was typically French-beautiful fresh bread and fruits. Large shared lounge area with breathtaking views. We used the hot tub while we were there was a lovely feature. It is in a remote location so a car is needed. We hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillylyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Sadly very disappointed!Drove from the Dordoignne specifically to visit Saint Emilion,one of France's premier wine regions.Enjoyed a wonderful lunch and great Premier Cru wine in the town before driving to this Chateau some seven kilometres away.on arrival met by a lady who showed us to a stark somewhat poorly furnished room with limited views and clinical appearance.We asked if there was an alternative and were shown two more equally disappointing alternatives.The price of 130 euros does not represent good value and on a chilly April day the welcome was frosty.Instead of trying to make up for this the lady could only say that she was an employee and there was nothing she could do.No charm or attempt to rectify the situation.We felt obliged to cancel our stay,turn round and go home!!(Another 3 hour drive).
This is a wonderful area,with great restaurants,wine and scenery but what a pity that this is such a disappointment.We would not recommend it.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

It is very well renovated little property. It is more hotel than typical B&B. Rooms are nice, bathrooms are great with very modern appliances. Breakfast room is downstairs as well as a big family room. Family room has great seating areas with the beautiful views on the winery. It has very Scandinavian feel to it, with the light wood modern furniture and white sofas. It was such a lovely room that we decided to buy food and wine from the grocery and eat there one lunch. When you will check in they will show how you can use the kitchen, etc. It was a low season so it was nice and quiet. You can come and go as you please.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reesepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Beautiful room overlooking the vineyard and stunning guest lougue - we had many coffees here and spent the time looking out at the vines and reading books. Quiet and peaceful yet only a short drive to town. Would stay here again - home away from home. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yovitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
5.4 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
807 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
392 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
375 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
#6 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
137 reviews
3.5 mi away
Les Logis du Roy
Les Logis du Roy
#10 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Valandraud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Valandraud

Property: Chateau Valandraud
Address: Belair, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Valandraud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing