We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chambres d'Ovaline
Ranked #7 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shenfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable visit”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our second visit to Les Chambres d'Ovaline and we were not disappointed. We received a warm welcome by our host on arrival. This was our second stay at Les Chambres and again our room was spotlessly clean, spacious with a kettle and fridge in the room. Breakfast in the walled garden is a must, once again warmly hosted and nicely presented. The location of the hotel is perfect for a short stay in Saint Emilion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Arrived and were met by our host immediately, excellent place to stay in saint-emilion. lovely room, good size bathroom, tea and coffee provided, kettle also a fridge which was a bonus. right outside our door was a fantastic little garden area, beautifully potted up with plants and shrubs, tables and chairs - so, so comfortable just to sit outside in the sun, right outside the room, and enjoy a glass of wine in the early evening, a nice sun trap. to have breakfast outside too was lovely. you are literally surrounded by vineyards everywhere you look, and the mediaval town and cobbled streets is lovely.

there is a car park right across the road, a very good bakery too, the coconut cakes/buns were gorgeous.

a very pleasant two days in saint emilion which is a beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet place, well situated on the edge of town next to a public car park. Spotlessly clean. We had a large interesting themed room & spacious bathroom. Only negatives were bed on the firm side & €12 breakfast not great value. At this price, should have also provided muesli, fruit, yoghurt & had to ask for more bread. Helpful & friendly owner & staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

At the bottom part of the town.
Car park next door, large comfortable room, clean bathroom.
Fridge in room.The lady owner is very helpful and reccommended some nice places to eat.
Ideal place for exploring St Emilion will use it again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The reason why we first selected this hotel was because it was an old house directly in Saint-Émilion and it is literally at the entrance of the small medieval town with direct access to all the restaurants and shops. At first we thought that the dimensions on the room listed as 60 square meters was wrong but it was not: the room is actually this big and includes a very large bathroom, a small kitchen and dining area, a sofa and large comfy chair and of course a very comfortable bed. The owner was really nice and all in all we had a very relaxing and comfortable stay.

Now, I have seen comments from reviewers who commented about missing modern amenities. You should know that this room is in a building that is centuries old so it is, in my humble opinion, normal that there would not be all the amenities. However, rest assured that the place is clean, newly decorated, has all the amenities and, notwithstanding the caveat of no AC, is perfect for a longer period visiting Saint-Emilion and the surrounding wine country.

On the negative side, it should be noted that most of the windows do not open and that there is no air conditioning in the room we were in. The owner told us that this is because it is a historical building protected by patrimonial laws (having lived in France for a long time, I have no trouble believing this). For us, it was not a problem as the temperatures outside were around 13-15C, however, if it were in the summer, we probably would not have been pleased as we like to sleep in the cold - so be advised...

Room Tip: We were staying in room #3 which we were told is the only one that had a small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_Proulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I ended up booking this hotel as my 3rd choice when my first two choices were already booked two months in advance of our trip. Having now been to Saint Emilion was I ever glad I booked it. The location is great for one simple reason, there's a parking lot just outside the hotel and I wouldn't want to have tried to park at any of the other hotels or try to navigate the very narrow streets to get to them. The owner is very conscientious and is very concerned that your stay with her is as good as it can be. You can walk anywhere in the village from this hotel in a very short amount of time so there's not advantage to staying in the centre, in fact from a parking point of view I would say it's a disadvantage to stay in the centre. Room was gigantic!

Our only confusion was parking. We arrived before 4pm (like most other hotels don't try to check in before 4pm) and we had a hard time understanding the paid parking in the lot adjacent. It turns out you pay 6 euros for 4 hours but time doesn't count after a certain time. We bought 4 hours at 4:30 pm and were good until 9:30 am the next day. Be warned though, you may need to wait for a spot to open up and park elsewhere until one becomes available. Saint Emilion is a small village that has lots of visitors with cars during the day with very few places to park. But parking was readily available in the evening so not to worry.

Also, Saint Emilion is a bit more expensive than some other locations so you will be paying a bit more than elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winterpoggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
636 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had 2 night stay here and felt very spoilt by Natasha our host. We enjoyed her company and met her sweet dad as well. The accommodation is excellent. Her attention to detail is very evident. The position is great for lots of lovely walks around the town and there is a nice area outside to drink, chat and enjoy this gorgeous town. The 4 of us will return one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
778 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Logis du Roy
Les Logis du Roy
#8 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres d'Ovaline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres d'Ovaline

Property: Les Chambres d'Ovaline
Address: 2 rue de la Porte Bouqueyre, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovaline's rooms are located at the entrance of the village of saint-emilion, listed as world heritage by unesco and 45 minutes from bordeaux. The restaurants, shops and wineries are within a few meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Chambres d'Ovaline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing