We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge de la Commanderie
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Auberge De La Commanderie is a two star hotel located in Rue Des Cordeliers in Saint Emilion.
It is within easy walking distance of the town centre and many tourist attractions such as the Cordeliers cloister, the market hall, the monolithic church and its bell tower and the steep cobblestone streets of this charming medieval town.

Unusually for a hotel in St Emilion the Commanderie has its own private parking in a site a short walk from the hotel. Parking is free with the 12 parking bays operating on a “first come, first served” basis. However with many one way streets in the town a sat nav system we used had difficulty in directing us to the hotel and car park. We parked in a public car park, walked to the hotel where we were given a map of the town and shown the best way to drive to the hotel and to the hotel car park. It is worth pointing out that the car park is accessed by a narrow road which passes through La Porte de Brunet an entrance to the previously walled town.

The receptionist gave us a warm welcome and checked us in without any fuss. The hotel has rooms in the main building and in a building across the narrow cobblestone road from the main building, formerly we understand, a Templar building. We were given a room in this building. We could not fault it. It seemed to be recently refurbished and had the original sandstone walls in places. The window shutters were painted with scenes from St Emilion. A novel and attractive decoration.

Our room for two had twin beds, an air conditioner, a flat screen wall mounted TV, telephone handsets, a bathroom with a bath tub and separate toilet facilities. The bathroom had sparkling white fluffy towels, two bars of soap and two packets of shower gel and tissues.

There was plenty of storage space for clothes and one cupboard was lockable, perhaps making up for the absence of an in-room safe. There was no mini bar but drinks could be purchased from a vending machine in the reception area.

Breakfast was not included in the room rate but could be purchased for an additional charge of 11 Euros per person. It was a typical continental breakfast served to you on an individual tray in the dining room. The quantity of food was sufficient and its quality was excellent.

Surrounding the hotel are numerous restaurants, however at peak times it might be necessary to book in advance at the more popular restaurants.

To our mind this hotel is worthy of more stars than the two it has. All of the staff we had contact with where friendly and helpful, the room was spotlessly clean and the location of the hotel could not be faulted. We were so impressed with the hotel that we made an unplanned stay at it a week later and again found no fault with the hotel.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as an ideal place to stay in this delightful medieval town.

Room Tip: Ask for room in annex. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 230 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hotel was clean and the bathroom was modern, room overlooked a vineyard. The breakfast was excellent, large pot of coffee and hot milk for each of us, soft boiled egg, croissant, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, jam etc. The staff were extremely responsive and assisted in making dinner reservations for us on both nights we stayed. Everything in the village is walking distance. Free and secure parking While the beds are a little firm, we didn’t have any problem sleeping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Perfect location in the city, excellent service, very friendly staff, middle class hotell but nice and clean. Nice bathroom, clean and volumnous, modern shower. The breakfast was excellent with a great variety, you did not miss anything.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex from no. 21 is a little bigger and only slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just stayed here 2 nights with my husband and loved it for the peace,location,facilities and great value in village that can be expensive.Got a wonderful warm welcome from Gregory as we walked in off the street and he had us settled in kindly and efficiently.Safe parking,great free wifi and able to walk out the door right into the heart of St Emilion.Thanks to all-highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meggie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We arrived here on bicycles and stayed for 3 nights. It was everything we needed. Clean, comfortable, well-located in town and affordable. The staff was very helpful and the 16th Century was right outside our window. I saw a few reviews that were less than favorable, but I don't know why they would be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had booked two rooms for my husband and children and were given rooms that were not together. The beds were as hard as rocks and pillows as flat as can be. Had to ask for several more pillows just to make it feel like one. The a/c was okay but one day all of the sudden the overhead fan came on and could not be turned off by the thermostat in the room or the main control panel at the lobby. Needless to say sleeping was very uncomfortable . Lack of closet space along with very small rooms made it awful . We had just stayed in Paris for 6 days and that hotel had enormous rooms in comparison and Paris is not known for large rooms. I would have run the other way if it wasn't for the fact that we only there for 3days /2nights. Great location , parking but not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinfaValella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived and everything was no bother at all. Great room with a stained glass window, king size bed and bath. Close to everything, free wifi and parking,very helpful and friendly staff. The staff fulfilled every request we had and carried our bags up to the room. Didn't try the breakfast as we cycled through the vineyards and took a picnic for all.

Room Tip: Get the king size room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavahoSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Commanderie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Commanderie

Address: 2 rue de la Porte Brunet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range: $124 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de la Commanderie 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge de la Commanderie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Commanderie Hotel Saint-Emilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing